Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baking Stone Fries Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baking Stone Fries

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2002

      These were so fantastic- the baking pans seemed to add the proper touch of crisp to the potato skin (which, actually, I left on). I used sea salt, pepper, and a splash of vinegar. Who needs ketchup??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      This cooking method makes the most awesome fries. I followed your directions exactly. I used salt, pepper, and Tony Chachere's creole seasoning. The fries had just the right amount of crispness. This is a much healthier way to satisfy my french fry craving. Bergy, you are a peach for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2002

      These are GREAT! I used sea salt too, with a little garlic powder. I made chipotle mayo for BF to use as dip but I ate them plain. They are wonderful, and if you let them cook long enough they get nice and crispy, but not greasy like normal fries. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2003

      These were super easy and very tasty. This is the first thing I prepared on my new stone and my husband thought they were really good. I didn't let them get cripsy because we like them softer and I used the pepper, salt, and garlic since I didn't have Mrs. Dash. Will make again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      Very good! I baked mine directly on my large bar pan baking stone. I have such good luck using my stones that I rarely use paper. I did spray both the bottom of the pan and the potatoes themselves with spray oil. I also sprinkled with salt only before the baked. Some might say that I left them a little too long since they were quite crunchy. I forgot that the stone would help them stay hot. Actually I prefer them crunchy to soft, because then they still taste good even cold. Thanks Bergy! This is the first time I have baked homemade fries on the stone...big success and so much better than the frozen ones!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2004

      I got a baking stone for Christmas and I made potatoes on it last night. They were just great! They browned and got crisper than they do on a cookie sheet and with only a tiny bit of oil! I sprinkled them with Herbes de Provence and they were delicious! Thank you Bergy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      These were addictive. Mine ended up with a different texture than I expected but that could either be because and not fried or because my wonderful oven was set at 375 but was cooking at 475. (*sigh*) either way they were very good and I'll definitely make them again. My kids gobbled them up too. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      These fries turned out amazing!! They look beautiful and they taste great! Baby sister loves them!! :P Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      Great! DH wished all the restaurants made fries this way, it would be much healthier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      Awesome! I have my nephews for the weekend, so I grilled hamburgers, made baked beans, for a special treat, I wanted some fries for them...but not deep fried. I dug out my Pampered Chef stones as soon as I saw this recipe and decided to go for it. I used Tony Chachera (or something like that!) Creole Seasoning and a salt substitute. They took a little over an hour in my oven, but were worth everything that went into them to see those boys devour them. They thought for sure they were store-bought. Hehe! Thanks so much and I'll be using this recipe many times over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      This recipe is great. I did lightly spray it with oil (I was paranoid the seasonings wouldn't stick. (we all have our phobias). I was wondering what to do with the Adobo seasoning I bought recently. This is the perfect use for it. I will be recommending this to friends and family. Leanne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      These fries were amazing. I did everything as written except they took 5 minutes longer to cook and I added rosemary as well as salt. It made for a wonderful side dish. Also, I served them with mayonnaise in true quebecois style- a little something I picked up going to college in Montreal that I wish I'd never learned about :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      These were terrific I had to bake them at 450 because I was making oven fried chicken too and only have one oven. This is what I did I put the pizza stone in the oven without the potatoes to heat up then I prepared the potatoes (4)and just added about a couple tablespoons of olive oil and some spicy seasoned salt put them on the heat stone and baked for about 30 min. They were crispy and delicious. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      I am giving this recipe five stars because it is a wonderful way to have oven fries with no fat added! I cooked mine the stated anount of time. They were a bit crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. I used garlic salt and paprika on mine. Thanks for sharing your yummy recipe with us Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2005

      Great recipe. Oven baked fries typically aren't crispy enough for me, and these crisped and browned nicely during the last few minutes (it took just a few minutes longer in my oven) I seasoned them with Mrs Dash original blend, salt, and rubbed some olive oil on them before placing them on the baking stone. I can't wait to try other seasonings on them, too. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      Love this recipe. The thiner you cut the potato, the better. Will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2005

      This is similar to how I have made oven fries in the past, except I didn't use a baking stone, and I also used a higher oven temperature. I do think the stone makes a difference since the inside of the fries seemed to stay fluffier this way while the outside was crisp. I cut the potatoes using a french fry cutter (so they weren't very thick) but I did have to cook mine longer than stated to get the outside crisp. I used Emeril's Bayou Blast Essence and the cooking spray. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2005

      This is the second time I used this baking method. Forgot to review the first time. Sorry. I did toss the spuds with a wee bit of oil so the italian spice mix would stick. They turn out so very nice and crisp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2004

      To add to the other reviews, this is a 5* recipe!! I just got my baking stone and this is the first use of it. I didn't peel the potatoes, just cut them into frys and sprinkled with garlic and onion powder, cayenne pepper and salt. Didn't use any oil at all, we were quite surprized that they turned out wonderful, nice and crisp on the outside and soft inside and soo tasty; soo much better for us too!! We will be using this one again and again, thanks Bergy for another really good one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2004

      We loved these! I made a large amount for 4 people and used two stones....one was the flat, rectangular, fully seasoned stone, the other was a 'jelly sheet' stone that had only been used once. The potatoes on the seasoned stone were done before the other - could have been because of the sides on the other stone, I don't know. I took out the flat stone potatoes, let them cool and then added them to the jelly stone potatoes when they were almost done, just to reheat. Probably more info than you want to know! I seasoned with sea salt only and sprayed them lightly with cooking oil. They were excellent and we'll be making these again. Thanks for posting this excellent recipe Bergy....Ore-Ida is now banished from my household :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baking Stone Fries

    Serving Size: 1 (369 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    45%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 22.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes