Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baking Powder Biscuits (Drop type) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baking Powder Biscuits (Drop type)

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-69 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2005

      Always wanted to make biscuits just like mom, who doesn't measure! Used buttermilk instead of regular milk. Used Crisco, and might try butter flavored crisco too. Floured my hands and patted dough lightly into shape and baked with sides touching in a greased cake pan instead of dropping. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2005

      These were excellent! So easy and they turned out great! I will be making these again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2004

      I was looking for a 'hurry up' biscuit recipe, and this was it! I didn't want the fuss of rolling and cutting out dough, and these biscuits were quick and easy! I used butter instead of shortening, and I skipped the step of sifting the flour. (but the biscuits were fine!) I was very careful not to overmix the dough in step 3, to ensure they would be tender, not hard. When they were cool, I placed them in a small wicker basket before serving. These complimented our turkey dinner beautifully, and I'll be baking these again! Thanks, CookbookCarrie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2004

      Wow, what a easy and great recipe. I also used butter instead of shortening. My family loved the biscuits with my beef stew recipe. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2004

      Fabulous drop biscuits! They were very quick and very easy. I will try them with butter next time for that added flavor. They are very fluffy, moist and scrumtious. Thanks for the recipe. Its in my perm. file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2004

      I ran out of my biscuit mix and it was soon time for the kids to get home for their cheddar biscuits. Thanks for this recipe, as all my cookbooks are in a different state! I also used margarine instead of shortening, and the biscuits had a nicer texture and flavor than the biscuit mix. The boys didn't even miss the biscuit mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2003

      The first time I made these, I discovered (the hard way) that this recipe was indeed baking POWDER bicuits rather than baking SODA biscuits. Once I threw away the first batch and followed the recipe they turned out fabulous. They went well with potato soup. These are super easy and fast. I love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2003

      This is a simple and easy recipe - just what I was looking for! I used margarine instead of shortening and I got 9 biscuits instead of 12 (I think I have a larger muffin pan). Kids loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2003

      This is a recipe I could not do without. I make this at least a couple of times each week! It is so easy to prepare and reminds me of when I was growing up. My daughters love them because they look like little mountains.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baking Powder Biscuits (Drop type)

    Serving Size: 1 (562 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.1
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    36%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 2.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 198.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes