70 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love, love, love these! I use them for everything including pigs in a blanket...I just cut the hot dogs in 1/3 and stick them in and smother them...also great with country gravy. Butter milk instead of milk is so yummy as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissFit13 April 28, 2010

These came out delicious! I used butter instead of shortening and after reading another review I whirred the dry ingredients and the butter around in my food processor until crummy....They were fluffy and light with a crunchy crust. These are the best drop biscuits I've ever made (so much better than the boxed stuff!) I made 12 in a muffin tin. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Violinistame April 03, 2010

So quick and fantastic!!!!!! I have been looking for a recipe like this for years. Thank you!!! Just as good as cut-out biscuits but without the work!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms Vi January 20, 2010

I made these this morning as a quick alternative to my normal method taught to me by my grandmother (flour well, shortening and milk in well, then pull in flour and roll in palm of your hand). As the previous reviewer stated, I can't say they were the best I ever made, but would highly recommend them as a quick-make biscuit. The outside was nicely browned and crispy and the inside light and fluffy. I also used butter in place of the shortening.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
libragay42 November 29, 2009

While these weren't the best baking powder biscuits I've ever made, they definitely were the easiest and quickest to make, and are an excellent go-to biscuit recipe that lends itself to many add-ins. The outside crust is delicious, and the inside is moist and light. I used butter. I think mine are bigger than they're supposed to be because I made them in standard size muffin tins and only got 6 biscuits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sadielady November 15, 2009

These were exactly what I was looking for! I make a casserole with a layer of mashed potatoes, cubed cooked chicken with white gravy, then needed the biscuit recipe for the topping, this was perfect! Will definitely keep this recipe and also try them alone as well! Thank you. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer_cda_id November 14, 2009

YUM! These were delightful! These will now be my go-to recipe when I need fast biscuits. I used my food processor, so it only took 1 minute to combine all the ingredients. I needed a last minute bread for an Italian meal, so I replaced 1/2 c. of the flour with whole wheat flour and added in 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and 1 tsp. Italian seasoning. I used skim milk and added 1 Tbsp. lemon juice to it to thicken it. I used butter instead of shortening. I tried to shape them into logs so they would be like breadsticks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaGun April 21, 2009

I felt like theses had too much of a baking powder taste to them. They were pretty tasty and all, even then, but that taste just kind of lingered. I would recommend adding some sort of herb to it. Nonetheless, it was super simple, and the result is a beautiful biscuit. Thanks for this recipe, it's a good basic for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
omJane March 01, 2009

Made the recipe quickly while I finished a pot roast meal. The only change I made is I used butter instead of shortening ( just a preference) and we all loved them. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
biszeemom February 26, 2009

These biscuits were great! I just finished eating 3 and am so full but want another anyway....lol Great with some butter or gravy (I am eating them with both). I made exact but with half white/half wheat flour for added nutrition. Mmmmm.... thanks for posting! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
esmyandy February 13, 2009
Baking Powder Biscuits (Drop type)