Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baking Powder Biscuits (Drop type) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baking Powder Biscuits (Drop type)

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2009

      I made these this morning as a quick alternative to my normal method taught to me by my grandmother (flour well, shortening and milk in well, then pull in flour and roll in palm of your hand). As the previous reviewer stated, I can't say they were the best I ever made, but would highly recommend them as a quick-make biscuit. The outside was nicely browned and crispy and the inside light and fluffy. I also used butter in place of the shortening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      While these weren't the best baking powder biscuits I've ever made, they definitely were the easiest and quickest to make, and are an excellent go-to biscuit recipe that lends itself to many add-ins. The outside crust is delicious, and the inside is moist and light. I used butter. I think mine are bigger than they're supposed to be because I made them in standard size muffin tins and only got 6 biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      These were exactly what I was looking for! I make a casserole with a layer of mashed potatoes, cubed cooked chicken with white gravy, then needed the biscuit recipe for the topping, this was perfect! Will definitely keep this recipe and also try them alone as well! Thank you. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      YUM! These were delightful! These will now be my go-to recipe when I need fast biscuits. I used my food processor, so it only took 1 minute to combine all the ingredients. I needed a last minute bread for an Italian meal, so I replaced 1/2 c. of the flour with whole wheat flour and added in 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and 1 tsp. Italian seasoning. I used skim milk and added 1 Tbsp. lemon juice to it to thicken it. I used butter instead of shortening. I tried to shape them into logs so they would be like breadsticks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      I felt like theses had too much of a baking powder taste to them. They were pretty tasty and all, even then, but that taste just kind of lingered. I would recommend adding some sort of herb to it. Nonetheless, it was super simple, and the result is a beautiful biscuit. Thanks for this recipe, it's a good basic for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      Made the recipe quickly while I finished a pot roast meal. The only change I made is I used butter instead of shortening ( just a preference) and we all loved them. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      These biscuits were great! I just finished eating 3 and am so full but want another anyway....lol Great with some butter or gravy (I am eating them with both). I made exact but with half white/half wheat flour for added nutrition. Mmmmm.... thanks for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      These were great and so simple!!! I tossed in a little italian seasoning and some parmesean cheese and there wasn't even a crumb left from the batch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      These were good, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      Nice and light. An excellent, basic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      These are so light and fluffy! This is the first time I've made biscuits from scratch. I made them for company. They acted pretty impressed that I made homemade biscuits and the kids kept asking for more, long after dinner was over. I followed Geema's advice and used a food processor. It made it so quick and easy! You really can't mess these up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      So good and so easy! I used Earth Balance (unhydrogenated margarine) and cream instead of shortening and milk. They turned out perfect! Crunchy layer on the outisde and light and fluffy on the inside!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      These are very nice biscuits that came together quickly and they tasted very good. We had them for breakfast with some chocolate gravy and they were wonderful. Thank you for posting this nice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      I didn't care for them. They were hard and had sharp edges.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      I found this recipes years ago when I used to lurk on Zaar and poach recipes...lol. It served me well when I was pregnant last year and on a baking spree...sooo easy to make and sooo good...they never last long when I make 'em so I always horde a few for myself! A much belated but grateful thanks. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      These are really good biscuits and ridiculously easy to make. I don't know why anyone would bother with Bisquick, there's only 5 ingredients in these biscuits and they taste so good. I was honestly surprised at how well these turned out. Nice and crunchy on the outside but soft on the inside. I used margarine instead of shortening. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      I made these today for my dh & 1. We found that they were nice and crispy on the edges, but the insides were not as fluffy/soft as we expected. I would have never thought to use a muffin tin to cook them in. Think I will stick with my usual recipe from now on though. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      We loved these biscuits! We used 1/4 c. butter instead of shortening and they turned out great! Thanks for posting such an easy biscuit recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      These came out quite nicely. I used 3/4 cup of soy milk and 1/4 cup soy cream instead of the milk. I cooked them for 11 minutes and they came out really nice and flaky. They were crunchy on the outside and really soft on the inside. Will definitely use this again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      I have used this a couple times now and it's so easy. I didn't find them lacking flavor because I'm using them for buiscuits and gravy. I will be using this recipe a lot. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baking Powder Biscuits (Drop type)

    Serving Size: 1 (562 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.1
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    36%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 2.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 198.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites