Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baking Powder Biscuits (Drop type) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baking Powder Biscuits (Drop type)

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on March 19, 2003

      I never made drop biscuits before and had a few secret doubts. You made a believer out of me; they turned out great.I used butter instead of shortening and put the flour, baking powder, salt and the butter in my food processor, whirling it all around until it got crumbly. Then I added the milk and just gave it two seconds to barely blend. Had them for lunch with a nice big veggie salad. I'll keep this recipe to make again....thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2003

      Great little recipe-I used butter instead of shortening-came out fine! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2003

      Very good. Easy to make, quick, and most importantly- tastes very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      I remember this recipe from my Mother's copy of that same book which was probably issued in the early 50s. Hadn't seen it in awhile and glad I found it here again. Made per direction except I used a bit of cold butter with the shortening for extra flavor. Since my muffin tin is the x-large variety I only got 6 biscuits which I baked at 350 for 25 minutes then shut off the heat and propped the oven door open and let it coast until the rest of breakfast was ready. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      Easy to prep and I just dropped them on a baking sheet. Taste is pretty bland, but my BF loved them. Would be great with strawberry shortcake. Just to plain for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      This were good. I also used butter instead of shortening and it came out soooo soft.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      I seem to have difficulty with biscuits, but not with these! They were easy to make and turned out great. I loved the crunchy outside and soft and fluffy inside. This recipe made 8 biscuits for us. I used vegan butter and soymilk with success. Yum. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2003

      Wow, good! I made two batches: one savoury one sweet (3/4 c sugar + raisens) Both very delicios. Nice golden crust outside, moist and tender inside. I used shortening and serve them with a slab of butter. Nice bite size. Highly recommended!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2014

      Wow! One of the best drop biscuit recipes EVER! Will be my go-to for biscuits now! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2014

      Just made these biscuits and very easy and quick to make but the next time I make them I will flatten them slightly and use a cutter to make rounds. they are very bland but that is the true nature of baking powder biscuits, Thanks for sharing this and I will make them again with a slight twist of my own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2013

      beautiful, light with soft middles. permanent recipe in my book

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2013

      these biscuits are great with sausage and gravy and with butter and jam. this will be the only biscuit recipe i use from now for sausage gravy thanks for posting very simple to make i ended up with 8 dropped bisquits only reason not an 5 star is because plain dont have alot of taste

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      I used this recipe as a base for dumplings. I cooked the stew and the dumplings under low pressure in my NewWave Multifunction Cooker. I used lard rather than shortening because I don't use shortening. I added onion powder and parsley. They turned out really nice! I put them in after the stew had been cooking a while and just put them on for 10 mins and they were cooked through.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

      Good taste and not sweet so these were great with jelly in the morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      Perfect! Used half shortening and half butter. I will always use this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      Quick and delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      This recipe was easy and the biscuits turned out just like the picture! Tast and quick! Love it! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2011

      This was super easy and super good. Would be good with cheese or herbs, or bacon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      I've made this three times now, and every time I end up with a low-rise biscuit. The flavor is good, but the texture is not. I'll go back to my regular recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      I love, love, love these! I use them for everything including pigs in a blanket...I just cut the hot dogs in 1/3 and stick them in and smother them...also great with country gravy. Butter milk instead of milk is so yummy as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baking Powder Biscuits (Drop type)

    Serving Size: 1 (562 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.1
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    36%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 2.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 198.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes