Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baking Powder Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2013

      These are absolutely fabulous!! The recipe makes a large batch of delectable, sky-high biscuits! Thanks so much! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2012

      Awesome! Thank you so much, they came out perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      This is my first time ever reviewing on this site, but I had to. This biscuits are so good. The only thing I changed was I used butter flavor Crisco. But I love the flavor of the egg. These are fluffy as others have stated. I didn't grow up eating too many biscuits but my husband had them on a regular basis. After cutting out the first batch, I took a chance by using the remainder batter. I gently worked the batter because I didn't want to overwork them. They came out like the first batch. With the rest of the batter after cutting the second batch, I gently hand patted it in a rectangle shape, spread soft butter on it, sprinkled sugar on after the butter, then sprinkled on Hershey%u2019s special dark chocolate chips. I rolled the batter, then cut like cinnamon buns. Baked at the same temperature and they turned out so good. You'd think they would be too sweet after putting on the chocolate chips, but they weren't. I didn't put any icing on them because that may have made them too sweet. I apologize for writing such a long post, but these biscuits are really good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2014

      Best Biscuits, I've ever had! My family loved them. They came out so fluffy and light. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2012

      These are the best baking powder biscuits I have ever made. So light and fluffy. I added some grated cheddar to these. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      I used 1/2 recipe, made 9 biscuits. Made in food processor, first pulsing wet ingredients-milk, egg & shortening, Scrape edges, add flour, salt and baking powder and pulse a few times. Came out fast and great tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      Good Recipe. I will be adding more sugar next time for my likes and use the butter flavor Crisco as one of the reviewers suggested. I liked the texture and how crumbly they were.Easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      My whole family loves these! Had them with butter, then had them with sausage gravy. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Tasty and easy - the first biscuit recipe I've ever been able to get to hold together without over-kneading it! Enjoyed these as plain biscuits, and in strawberry shortcake - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      I have made these biscuits twice now. Great recipe. My family are so used to hockey puck biscuits they couldn't believe I made these. Soft and scrumptious. They were gone very quickly! The second time I had scraps left over and turned these into cinnamon rolls. Yummy! Thanks for the awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Great Biscuit Recipe. I halved the recipe, and used 1/2 unbleached white flour, 1/2 white whole wheat flour. I thought I would need a little more liquid but nope-biscuits came out perfect. Nice and high and still light with the flour exchange. The recipe came together fast and I will be making these again (and again.....)! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      My brothers and I love them! I was looking for a different recipe (our old one was getting old to us) and randomly selected a recipe. Usually, that doesn't work out for me, but it did this time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

    • on December 12, 2009

      Wonderful! Tender, flaky, with the perfect stick-in-your-gums texture that all good baking powder biscuits should have. I couldn't, for the life of me, locate my round cutter so I used the top edge of a wine glass to make perfectly shaped biscuits. I served these wth home-made beef stew on a cold, winter night with snow up to our knees. Thanks for sharing this with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      Great biscuits. I cooked them in my cast iron frying pans and they were light and fluffy. My kids ate two eat with supper and then had another one each with Rogers Golden syrup on it. I am taking this recipe to the lake to have with supper one night. Thanks a bunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      I want to thank your for this recipe. High fives to you girl. I just took a half a batch out of the oven and overate of course with strawberry preserves. (hint) I baked them in my cast iron skillets that were preheated with the oven. Makes for a great crusty bottom if your into that. MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM holds a lot of jam...lol Thanks againl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      I have been searching for a recipe like this for ages. Im a professional chef and I am so impressed with this recipe. The recipe is a true gift in my life. Loved,loved it. They just melt in your mouth. They were so good I ate them plain, till I remembered the butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I like this recipe, and I love bisquits. My grandpa told me (in private) that I should give this recipe to my grandma.( and she makes good bisquit.) LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      Exceptional biscuits, so fluffy and light you might think they are little clouds floating away! I followed this exactly, not changing one thing. Next time I might try to half the recipe, but why? Surely 36 of these beauties will be so light, you feel like you could eat quite a few. I wanted to add chives, jalapeno, and shredded cheese, but wanted to make sure I made it right the first time. I followed previous reviews and put them close together and they just happily bumped up against each other. I might add a bit of brushed melted butter, although none of my additions do not distract from this original that brings joy and goodness to your life.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      This is by far the best biscuits I have ever made. They are light and fluffy. Thanks so muchg for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baking Powder Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (1239 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 114.6
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    50%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 11.7 mg
    3%
    Sodium 154.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes