Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baking Powder Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on April 04, 2003

      These were great. Just like my mom used to make. They were quick and easy to make, and light and fluffy. They have a great flavour that would complement a lot of meals. They're great straight from the oven, with a little bit of butter. So good! I will defintetly make these again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2003

      These are great biscuits, just like my grandma makes! She doesn't use measurements, so when trying to explain usually only confused me. This recipe really helps. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2002

      Great!! Went well with my Homemade Chicken Soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2002

      Awesome fool-proof biscuits! I should know, I always find a way to mess them up, but not these ones!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      makes a good biscuit, but not salty enough for me. i used butter instead of shortning, and next time i'll prob use 1tsp of salt. good though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2004

      Glad you saved it!! They were not only simple to prepare but they tasted great! They went very well with my vegetable soup and made a cold day even warmer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      I made 6 huge biscuits which were soft and fluffy. It was very easy to make and it didn't take much time. I followed the recipe exactly as written and it was delicious with butter and jelly. It's a keeper! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      yum! will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      I used unsalted butter (as I do in all recipes that call for shortening / margarine) and I also added grated cheddar. I used 1/2 the batch to wrap hot dogs to make pigs in a blanket (bake same time and temp as called for in the recipe) and they turned out GREAT! This recipe is a keeper :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      This recipe yielded six very large, fluffy, wonderful biscuits. I used low fat butter instead of shortening. Thank you very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      Yummy! Perfectly easy and fast! I added blue cheese and rosemary for a little extra flavor. I also brushed a bit of milk on top to make them pretty on top :) Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      This is one easy recipe and the biscuits taste really great! I followed the directions as written, except one minor "difference" - aluminum free baking powder. It certainly has made a big difference in the quality of my biscuits. So, if you're hungry for biscuits and want a recipe for some that are quick and delicious, this is the biscuit recipe for you! Thank you for sharing, Sharlene!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      Perfection. I followed the recipe to the letter. I never thought I could make biscuits with out a mix LOL. I ate 2 as soon as they were cool enough to handle! I cant wait to use buttermilk next time, yum! ps.I would have given 5 stars but they had an ever so slight aftertaste that I dont remember my (very southern) grandmother's having. Any suggestions?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      very nice. made these with my 3 yr old daughter who wanted to bake. nice short list of on hand ingredients. did have to sub butter for shortening. she wanted to add other things so 2 tsp of ground flax went in there and about 1/3 c of brown sugar. they turned out very nice and will make them again. fluffy on the inside and crispy on the outside. thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      Made these on Christmas morning using a giant tree-shaped cookie cutter. They looked neautiful and were delicious! Thery rolled and cut well, and rose beautifully as long as they weren't rolled too thin. Was even able to reroll scraps to cut more without issue. Thanks very much for this great biscuit recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      I made these this morning and served them with butter and some fresh honey, straight from the hive! They were so light and fluffy, the melted in my mouth. I will be making them again really soon! Thanks for the great recipe Sharlene~W!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2006

      Made these biscuits last night to go with a very nice soup recipe I found here (#12881). Being my first attempt at baking powder biscuits - I was quite pleased with the end results. These were not only easy to make, they were a delight to eat! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      These are impossible to keep in the house for more than a day when I make them. Everyone gobbles them up. I add grated cheddar cheese to mine. I just eyeball the amount. mmmm mmmm good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2005

      I am reviewing this recipe for a friend who uses it all the time but does not have a Recipezaar account. :) She says, "A very nice biscuit! Extremely easy recipe to use, a foolproof one to make. I usually use butter instead of shortening, and then omit the salt."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baking Powder Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 200.2
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    41%
    Total Fat 9.1 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 3.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 338.7 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites