Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baking Powder Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2007

      Yum! I made a brilliant accidental discovery - I rolled and cut the biscuits to thin. I "mushed" (highly regarded culinary technique) two of them together and baked anyways. I ended up with perfect sandwich biscuits for sausage/egg biscuits. They also worked perfectly with the chicken fried steak and milk gravy that was for dinner. I followed the recipe exactly - down to the "knead 14 times". That was why I didn't reroll the dough and cut thicker biscuits. They were wonderful!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      These were by far and away the BEST biscuits I have EVER had!!! :0) I used coconut oil instead of shortning, I only added half a tablespoon of sugar and I rubbed the dry ingredients and coconut oil together. My husband gobbled them up and said that they were so light and delicious that he wouldn't mind having them every day!!! ;0) To be honest, they are so easy to throw together that if he REALLY wanted them everyday, it wouldn't be any trouble to make them for him!!!! :0) Thank you for a WONDERFUL recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      Fantastic recipe!!! Really quick and easy to make and taste amazing!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      PERFECT! I'm the world's worst baker, and my buiscuits are usually like rocks. This was so easy and they came out perfect. Before cutting I folded shredded sharp cheddar in the center. So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

    • on February 15, 2009

      these sound so yummy I however only have sunflower oil and condensed milk but i promised the kids we'd make biscuits.....let you know how they turn out

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      These biscuits are so easy to make and what's even better is that they taste so darn good! The only exceptions I made to the directions were that I used aluminum free baking powder and vegetable oil, since that was all I had on hand. As for the baking powder I used, I truly think that using aluminum free baking powder is one of the secrets to making great biscuits! I also knew this was a great recipe when the dough felt lighter and was "just right"! Thank you for sharing your awesome recipe, Zusie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      I added about 1/2 cup of parmesian cheese to the dry ingredients...the advice about not adding additional flour to the dough was right on...the biscuits came out lightly browned and so fluffy! Moonsinger

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      These turned out perfect! The batter appears quite moist, but if you can resist not adding more flour, they turn out quite tender and flaky. I got 11 biscuits and the cooking time was about 12 minutes. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      Very easy and quick. I also used Crisco. They turned out fantastic and almost doubled in height. Thanks for the recipe , Zusie-Q!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      Mm, these are wonderful. I used Crisco shortening, and they are so tender and buttery, with a lovely brown crust and a good rise. They're wonderful nice and hot, spread with jam, and the leftovers are great dipped in a mug of hot coffee or cocoa. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baking Powder Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (549 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 123.6
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    50%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 1.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 168.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites