301 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUMMMMMMMM! As you can tell, we really liked them! DH declared them the best home made cookies he's ever tasted (which says alot as he doesn't even like cookies - unimaginable, i know). Used JungleLove's suggestion of using 4 tbsp molasses and 1 cup white sugar as that's what we had, as well as added 1/4 cup of oats and they were very good and are highly reccommended. Thanks Steve_G!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*lil_miss_SBC*~ June 02, 2011

Use butter, not margarine. Also recommend refrigerating dough before putting it on the sheet and baking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djafishfria April 26, 2011

These are amazing cookies!! I have tried a few other Bakery Style Choc Chip cookies on the site but none worked perfectly like these. I would not skip on the refrigerating before baking. Love this wonderful treat! Thank you steve G for sharing a fantastic recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joynewman007 April 02, 2011

It was amazing. My kids love them!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef BBB March 17, 2011

These are very good, but very very sweet. I will be cutting back on the chips next time. I didn't follow the directions as rigidly as specified and they were still thick and chewy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u February 25, 2011

This is the most perfectly incredible chocolate chip cookie recipe EVER! If you love cookies that don't spread in the oven, but instead stay thick, rich, and chewy - this recipe is utter perfection! I love to bake and have used a variety of cookie recipes over the years - now I'll never use another! Have some fun with it and try different additions - you can't go wrong! Whenever I bake these cookies, friends and family always ask how I did it. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe - it's the best!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hallmarkangel June 20, 2010

These cookies are so fantastic that I can't stop making them! They really do reflect all the praise given from the other reviews. They come out thick, dense, rich, & so very yummy! And, the dough is very easy to work with after it's been chilled--very workable after about 20 mins in the freezer. Definitely experiment with different chocolates (they were exceptionally delicious with chopped up candy bars--twix, hershey's miniatures, milky way-- MMMMM!)! Thanks for this gem Steve!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Almond June 18, 2010

I think this is 4.5 stars. It was chewy. Pretty easy to whip together. Turned out quite good. I did not add the optional nuts. Made sure to preheat oven and use cold dough.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel May 05, 2010

Excellent! The trick is to make large cookies - almost palm-sized before baking. They come out soft, chewy, and delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whitneyinnz March 30, 2010

These were GREAT cookies. I made them yesterday for my sons' school. Three dozen cookies only lasted for a half an hour in the teachers lounge and the compliments kept coming all day. I had to make a few changes, I was already in the process of making my usuall cookie recipe and I had 1 cup of butter in the mixer when I remembered I wanted to try this recipe out. So I ended up using 2 1/4 cups of flour and 2 cups of chocolate chips (I always use more chocolate chips then called for). Everything else I kept the same and these cookies were just perfect. I didn't cool the dough, I just dropped them on the cookie sheet with parchment paper. They looked like they were under cooked but after letting them cool on the sheet for 2 minutes the cookies firmed up and couldn't have been better. Crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside. My family also enjoyed these and this will replace my previous cookie dough recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mojo mom January 30, 2010
Bakery Style Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies