304 Reviews

Absolutely delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MDJTL December 31, 2014

These turned out really nice. I baked them on a silpat on cookie sheets. Took a little longer to brown up, but were crisp on the edges and chewy in the center. I just realized the butter was to have been melted & I used 2 whole eggs which yielded 31 nice sized cookies. I have been making cookie dough in the food processor since I discovered how easy it is & how quickly it comes together (try it, you won't regret it). I omitted the nuts since the kids prefer them without nuts. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau November 03, 2014

Made as part of cookie tins for Christmas. Very well recieved and enjoyed. Thanks Steve!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 December 25, 2013

Sorry, I guess I should have known when it said baking powder and melted butter. I never melt butter for any baking and I usually use baking soda. They puffed up like a cake. They are just not my kind of chocolate chip cookie. I like flat chewy cookies. These are not it. The taste is fine and my hubby loves them. It's just me, I guess.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda V. July 23, 2013

I tried making chocolate chip cookies from scratch before and failed... Today I tried this recipe with a few modifications: <br/>1. I cut the recipe in half. <br/>2. I didn't use salt at all <br/>3. I used I can't believe it's not butter instead<br/>4. I only had light brown sugar so I used that<br/>5. I also didn't add extra tablespoons of flour. <br/>6. I used 1 cup of semi sweet chocolate chips and 1 cup of crushed walnuts<br/>The content was not dry at all but after cooling it in the fridge for 30 minutes, the texture of the dough came out as it should. I baked it for about 13 minutes, left it out for too long because I got distracted.. probably about an hour or so.. a tad crunch on the outside but still soft in the inside!! SUCCESS!! I can't say these are the best cookies I've had but still delicious! I will keep this recipe. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eunjc79 June 19, 2013

Sorry, I really wanted to love these cookies but the dough is impossible to work with. It is very dry and required me to handle with way too much. I'm not sure why, but the cooking time is way longer than most other chocolate chip cookies I've ever made - I actually lost count of how long the first batch was in because I kept having to restart the timer because they never looked done. The cookies don't spread out the way cookies should when they cook, they just remained small and puck-like. Sorry to give such a lousy review, but I certainly won't be using this recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cappyahaz September 17, 2012

Wonderful recipe! I took half the dough and added a pack of VIA (stbux) instant coffee and nuts, then the other half was left as is for our boring boys to eat. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BWally July 27, 2012

I baked several batches of these cookies recently. I made the cookies about half the size and baked them for around 12 minutes. For me these are quite standard chocolate chip cookies- perhaps not especially unique but a reliable recipe and everyone who tried one was very happy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Swiss Chocolate February 25, 2012

I thought with all the great reviews these would be the perfect cc cookie. I followed the recipe, and instructions, exactly, resulting in a bland cookie that is as hard as a rock (throughout, not just outside) less than 24 hours later in an airtight container. I used good (real) vanilla and chocolate chips (Ghirardelli) as well. What a waste of good ingredients.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jadeblackhawk February 20, 2012

These cookies were just OK. No need to add the extra tablspoon of FLOUR Steve G. I asked my hubby what he thought of them (he works construction) and he said "same old same old" I could't agree more. They left me unsatisfied and craving some sort of pie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PieFreak December 23, 2011
Bakery Style Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies