301 Reviews

These cookies taste great! Salt and caramel flavors contrast well with the chocolate chips. They are everything I would expect from a chocolate chip cookie, and the cookies I made from this recipe actually looked like perfect cookies. For other recipes, my cookies always spread out too much, become black on the edge and raw in the middle, or they are very thin. I don't know why. I really appreciate the tips in these directions. My dough was not very dry, but I shaped them and refrigerated them on the sheet anyway, following the directions. They were perfect. The pan I didn't refrigerate produced cookies that were thin and kind-of "blah," so I will always refrigerate the pan before baking.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissLinguist November 30, 2011

I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!

My normal C.C.C. recipe always falls flat, and while they are perfect warm the second they cool I'm embarrassed by them. Not these! They stay full, soft, and make me so proud! The only thing I would change is the refrigeration time. 2 hours made the dough super hard, and difficult to work with. I found 45 minutes is plenty of time.

Thank you SO much for posting this recipe! I'll never use a different Chocolate chip cookie again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Singing Diva August 24, 2010

So moist and fluffy! I had found that too many recipes fall flat... LITERALLY! not this one though, it is perfect & the vanilla flavor is wonderful.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking for Pleasure June 20, 2010

I usually don't review but these cookies need to show up for best rating when others search. Great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DonnaSue28 June 20, 2014

I absolutely love this recipe! Years ago, I tried to make chocolate chip cookies and it was a major fail and I hadn't tried making them since. I made these last month and everyone loves them. The first time I made them exactly as the recipe states and they were very good but I changed it since then to our personal liking. I never really need the extra 2 tbs of flour. Also, I use 1 cup of cake flour and 1 cup of all-purpose. I still use semisweet but I want to change to milk chocolate. Sometimes, I have pecans so I use those instead of running to the store for walnuts (although I do prefer walnuts). I never put 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips because personally, I think that's too many. I do about a cup but never more. The actual dough itself has great flavor, almost to the point that I'm considering using it as a base for any type of personalized cookie. I made them again yesterday and I used the SALTED butter and just left the salt out of the recipe and they were AMAZING! <br/><br/>*Just a quick tip: When I first made the cookies, I overcooked them. They didn't burn but they were "well done". They look light, especially if you use light brown sugar, but trust me, they don't need a lot of time. At 15 minutes mine are perfect!<br/><br/>Thank you for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roxyms06 April 27, 2014

I've been using Canadian Living's Best Chocolate Chip Cookies as my go-to chocolate chip cookie recipe for several years now but wanted to get back to a taller more classic style choc. chip cookie. Mine turned out just like the picture and I REALLY liked the consistency. The 'house critics' gave them a rave review so I think this recipe will stay around the kitchen for awhile ;)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
equine75 January 25, 2014

My kids really liked it this one!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marina No Ar October 04, 2013

For a newlywed, this is a game changer! My husband doesn't have to go to subway to get the chocolate cookies he loves. THANK YOU! for this recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babymk June 24, 2012

5 stars for the texture...4 1/2 for the taste. I think I like the flavor a little more of "World's Best Chocolate Chip cookies" On here. In my opinion these taste better once they are cool rather than warm. It really gives the flavors time to meld. The texture is a lot different than other cookies. Really like that in these.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingerly88 April 21, 2012

These chocolate chip cookies are THE BEST! They didnt last long everyone loved them,my brother thought they were betty crocker.This is a recipe that I will definately keep :D

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanii April 09, 2012
Bakery Style Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies