304 Reviews

Oh my goodness, oh my goodness! These are incredible! I am thrilled to the point of giggling, I have NEVER made cookies as good as these! Thank you so very much for sharing this recipe. I followed it to a tee, and they turned out perfectly. Plus, I live at 8,500 ft above sea level. At this altitude it is challenging to get the right mix...seriously, I am throwing all of my other chocolate chip cookie recipes away! THANK YOU!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliMali5417 November 14, 2012

I have already reviewed this recipec (and I think it is AWESOME!). Hands down, THE best chocolate chip cookie recipe I have ever tried. They are equal parts fluffy and chewy (how is that even possible??). Anyway, I just wanted to say that we have 2 young children with dairy allergies and I have adapted this recipe using coconut spread and dairy-free chocolate chips. Just subbed the coconut spread for the butter and added about 1/2 cup more flour. You could also decrease the amount of spread and keep the flour the same, but adding more flour is a little easier. You can see and feel the consistency when adding more flour. In my oven, I do top and bottom rack (2 sheets of cookies) for 8 min at 325, turn the pans 180 degrees and switch bottom to top for another 9 minutes. Let cool for 3-5 and transfer to a wire rack. Thanks for this recipe!!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Ali L September 30, 2012

It almost seems pointless to review these cookies, since it's clear at this point how delicious they are, but I am one more satisfied baker. The cookies turn out super thick (if you leave them in ball form and don't flatten at all) but I kind of liked that because the dense, moist middle was the best part for me. Like others, I did not refrigerate the dough for too long and the cookies still turned out perfectly. I think my baking time worked out to be a little bit closer to 7 minutes on each rack.

Phenomenal recipe! Will definitely be making them again (especially since they don't involve some of the more esoteric ingredients that other recipes call for)!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmccart November 07, 2010

Wow! These are truly chocolate chip perfection. I doubled the recipe- the only change that I made was not to double the chocolate chips- I found that there were more than enough with one 300 gram bag. Thank you for this delicious recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hannahbirdie July 11, 2010

This was without a doubt the best chocolate chip cookie I have ever had. I used Skor chips mixed with choc. chips and skipped the nuts. They were soft and chewy on the inside and just a little crispy on the outside. They were the first choc chip cookie that tasted as good cold as warm. This is going in my recipe box!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizmack June 20, 2010

These cookies are absolutely amazing! I love the soft and chewy center, and the awesome flavor! I made some adjustments to the recipe because my daughter and I are lactose intolerant. I used vegan butter (earth balance) and non dairy chocolate chips.
These copokies are truly amazing, even with my non dairy substitutions. My husband also enjoyed them, and he is not lactose intolerant. He told me that they are comparable if not better than chocolate chip cookies with dairy.
Bravo Steve_G! Thanks for the amazing cookies! This is now my go to chocolate chip cookies!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
volinger February 09, 2013

This was my first time baking cookies, I have to say I will never have to look for a chocolate chip cookie recipe ever, These were to die for OMG!. Very easy to make and very pleasurable to eat. I had to bake mine a little longer since I didn't flatten the balls a little bit but so did not affect the taste. Great recipe Steve_G :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ami17 October 16, 2012

I do not like chocolate chip cookies at all and I was really bummed out when my so requested them. That being said, I can't stop eating these. Amazing. Made this exactly as directed except that I omitted one tablespoon of flour.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missbobbielynn October 07, 2012

These are very easy and pretty foolproof, too. They always come out great, even if they get left in the oven a couple of minutes extra. I usually use about a cup of chips (instead of 1 1/2), and I haven't had any problems with them over-browning on the bottom without parchment paper so I just use ungreased cookie sheets. Also, I do refrigerate the dough before scooping and baking, you only need about 10-15 mins. My kids sold these at our garage sale last year and actually had a couple of people come back about half an hour later for more... Finally found a choc chip cookie recipe that everyone in my family agrees is the best. Thanks for a family keeper!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjayling1 March 13, 2012

WoW!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ulsh72 December 16, 2011
Bakery Style Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies