298 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have already reviewed this recipec (and I think it is AWESOME!). Hands down, THE best chocolate chip cookie recipe I have ever tried. They are equal parts fluffy and chewy (how is that even possible??). Anyway, I just wanted to say that we have 2 young children with dairy allergies and I have adapted this recipe using coconut spread and dairy-free chocolate chips. Just subbed the coconut spread for the butter and added about 1/2 cup more flour. You could also decrease the amount of spread and keep the flour the same, but adding more flour is a little easier. You can see and feel the consistency when adding more flour. In my oven, I do top and bottom rack (2 sheets of cookies) for 8 min at 325, turn the pans 180 degrees and switch bottom to top for another 9 minutes. Let cool for 3-5 and transfer to a wire rack. Thanks for this recipe!!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Ali L September 30, 2012

It almost seems pointless to review these cookies, since it's clear at this point how delicious they are, but I am one more satisfied baker. The cookies turn out super thick (if you leave them in ball form and don't flatten at all) but I kind of liked that because the dense, moist middle was the best part for me. Like others, I did not refrigerate the dough for too long and the cookies still turned out perfectly. I think my baking time worked out to be a little bit closer to 7 minutes on each rack.

Phenomenal recipe! Will definitely be making them again (especially since they don't involve some of the more esoteric ingredients that other recipes call for)!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmccart November 07, 2010

Wow! These are truly chocolate chip perfection. I doubled the recipe- the only change that I made was not to double the chocolate chips- I found that there were more than enough with one 300 gram bag. Thank you for this delicious recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hannahbirdie July 11, 2010

This was without a doubt the best chocolate chip cookie I have ever had. I used Skor chips mixed with choc. chips and skipped the nuts. They were soft and chewy on the inside and just a little crispy on the outside. They were the first choc chip cookie that tasted as good cold as warm. This is going in my recipe box!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizmack June 20, 2010

This was my first time baking cookies, I have to say I will never have to look for a chocolate chip cookie recipe ever, These were to die for OMG!. Very easy to make and very pleasurable to eat. I had to bake mine a little longer since I didn't flatten the balls a little bit but so did not affect the taste. Great recipe Steve_G :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ami17 October 16, 2012

I do not like chocolate chip cookies at all and I was really bummed out when my so requested them. That being said, I can't stop eating these. Amazing. Made this exactly as directed except that I omitted one tablespoon of flour.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missbobbielynn October 07, 2012

These are very easy and pretty foolproof, too. They always come out great, even if they get left in the oven a couple of minutes extra. I usually use about a cup of chips (instead of 1 1/2), and I haven't had any problems with them over-browning on the bottom without parchment paper so I just use ungreased cookie sheets. Also, I do refrigerate the dough before scooping and baking, you only need about 10-15 mins. My kids sold these at our garage sale last year and actually had a couple of people come back about half an hour later for more... Finally found a choc chip cookie recipe that everyone in my family agrees is the best. Thanks for a family keeper!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjayling1 March 13, 2012

WoW!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ulsh72 December 16, 2011

These cookies taste great! Salt and caramel flavors contrast well with the chocolate chips. They are everything I would expect from a chocolate chip cookie, and the cookies I made from this recipe actually looked like perfect cookies. For other recipes, my cookies always spread out too much, become black on the edge and raw in the middle, or they are very thin. I don't know why. I really appreciate the tips in these directions. My dough was not very dry, but I shaped them and refrigerated them on the sheet anyway, following the directions. They were perfect. The pan I didn't refrigerate produced cookies that were thin and kind-of "blah," so I will always refrigerate the pan before baking.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissLinguist November 30, 2011

I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!

My normal C.C.C. recipe always falls flat, and while they are perfect warm the second they cool I'm embarrassed by them. Not these! They stay full, soft, and make me so proud! The only thing I would change is the refrigeration time. 2 hours made the dough super hard, and difficult to work with. I found 45 minutes is plenty of time.

Thank you SO much for posting this recipe! I'll never use a different Chocolate chip cookie again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Singing Diva August 24, 2010
Bakery Style Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies