301 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Flavor was not too bad, with the exception of the vanilla was too overwhelming.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
terri.lopez December 24, 2009

These cookies were beautiful! BUT the flavor was not what I hoped. Too sweet for me. They were not soft and chewy but I did not cool them on the baking sheet so that might be the reason. I have no problem with crunchy cookies if the flavor is good. Like one reviewer said the flavor of the dough was not so great. I love cookie dough but this was not flavorful at all. I wish I had been advised that after baking they would not be golden brown because I probably over baked them looking for a golden color. If these had Toll House/Mrs. Field's flavor to go with the look they would have been a keeper. But unfortunately I can't say I will try again. 3 stars for the look and an ok flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BahaMama December 24, 2009

I made them just like the recipe, and I too found them chalky. I think I will try to make it as another person suggested: an entire 2 sticks of butter and 2 entire eggs. The color seemed a bit pale and the vanilla extract a bit strong too. Perhaps that can be remedied by upping the eggs and butter a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjg December 23, 2009

It is alright. I thought that they were kind of bland, but I did not put walnuts in it. The pics looked very good, but i think that you have to put choco chips on top. After eating these. They have chalky taste to them and I threw them out. That picture is fake..Stay away!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fatty mcgee December 23, 2009

I followed the recipe precisely and made no changes or subs, but this dough was more like a batter. The cookies were subsequently discs rather than big, bakery style cookies. I had high hopes for this one, but ended up very disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SwedishExpat December 23, 2009

I am thoroughly convinced that is one of best chocolate chip cookie recipes on the internet. I added some extra chocolate chips on the top of mine and a small sprinkling of gray sea salt on top. Makes picture-perfect cookies! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KH27 December 23, 2009

My boys like softer thicker chocolate chip cookies, and these are the best I have ever tried. This recipe is a keeper

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lsmiddy December 22, 2009

WOW! This is truly worth every bit of the 5 stars! I've been loyal to the nestle tollhouse recipe for years, but I was tired of the fact that they always seemed spread too much and go flat, even though they still tasted good, it bugged me that they didn't look pretty. Well, these not only taste AMAZING but they are beautiful! And perfectly chewy! Absolutely delicious! I used a smaller cookie scoop, and it is still taking every bit of the 18 minutes to cook my cookies. but they are turning out fabulously! Can't wait to share them with friends and family on Christmas day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
griffiths_melissa December 22, 2009

Very, very delicious! I made smaller size cookies and got 3 1/2 dozen out of the batch, which made it perfect for giving out. I did notice that the first batch I rotated backward(bottom rack first, then top rack) instead of the other way around, as recommended. The second and third batches I followed instructions properly and they came out perfect! Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VoodooMagnolia December 21, 2009
Bakery Style Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies