Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bakery Style Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bakery Style Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Average Rating:

    293 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 293

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2011

      I've been making this recipe for over a year now, and I'm definitely known for making the best cookies around! All thanks to Steve_G! I always use half ww pastry flour and omit the extra 2 tablespoons of flour (don't seem to need it)... Often, I make the dough and freeze it to use as I need... too much dough for a house of 2. I pop the frozen dough right into the oven and it usually takes about 20 minutes to bake at 330....... BEST COOKIES EVER!!! Update: I was out of brown sugar, so I made my own using 1 C. white sugar plus 4T molasses. These were the BEST BATCH YET! The homemade brown sugar ended up being very dark, similar to a muscovado brown sugar. It added that mysterious rich, caramel-y, deep flavor! SO GOOD. I also used 1 teaspoon of brewed coffee and 1 teaspoon vanilla (instead of 2 vanilla) didn't notice the flavor, but like I said, they were the best I've ever made!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      I'm not a great chef by any stretch of the imagination. I heavily rely on recipes to help me make edible food... And this recipe is more than simply "edible"! :) I was searching for a cookie recipe that did not require baking soda, and I stumbled upon this one. I had already purchased salted butter sticks... so I used them instead of the unsalted butter. I also reduced the chocolate chips to one cup and I used a combination of white chocolate chips and semi-sweet milk chocolate ones. Oh yeah... I was measuring the vanilla over the butter/sugar mixture and spilled extra in there... so these cookies had an extra blessing of vanilla flavor....

      Since I'm not a baker extraordinaire, I don't have any parchment paper or fancy schmancy baking equipment/tools. I just covered a regular dark pan with some cheap-o Reynolds foil and sprayed it with olive oil. I didn't leave the dough in the fridge long... only about 20 minutes or so... but that was enough time for it to firm up a bit. I rolled the dough into balls, and then pressed them down a bit so they'd be just slightly flat. (I read that tip somewhere. I don't know how effective it is.) Anywho, I baked each batch for about 16 minutes... and whoa! Those cookies were scrumptious! They were slightly slightly crunchy on the outside (I don't mind that so much) and nice and chewy on the inside. I look forward to experimenting with this recipe by adding other super fun ingredients, like toffee bar pieces, butterscotch and peanut butter morsels. Simply put, these cookies rocked my socks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Love, Love, Love ! I picked this recipe because I didn't have any shortening which the other recipes call for. Very good cookie. I know I messed it up because the dough was supposed to be on the dry side and mine wasn't but they still taste great. Thanks for sharing this one ! Update: The cookies came out even better the second time around. Last time I cut the recipe in half and that's when the dough wasn't dry enough. This time I went ahead and did the regular recipe and they came out perfect. I let the dough sit in the fridge for about 20 mins before baking. Great looking cookie as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      I LOVED these! I like that they didn't flatten and they stayed plumped up. The only thing I did differently was I used 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of the amount listed in the recipe. It was the perfect amount. I think a cup would be way too much for how many cookies this makes. I rolled up some put them on parchment covered sheets and put them in the fridge till I was ready to throw the next batch in and 18 minutes in my oven was PERFECT for them. *UPDATE 1/17/12* I used the trick of taking them out 2 minutes early, letting them sit on the cookie sheet for 2 minutes, and then putting them into a sealed container ASAP. Kept them soft for days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      I have tried a tone of the choc chip recipes and this is the one we like the best. I used 1 bag Hershey's Dark Choc Chips and added regular choc chips to equal 2 cups. Make sure to undercook a little for the the ultimate chewy cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2012

      I added almost a whole pack of vanilla pudding after creaming the butter and sugars, the results were soooo good. This is my new go-to chocolate chip recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      Yummy! I let the first sheet cool completely on the sheet...they turned out to be a bit harder than the second sheet which from which I removed the cookies shortly after they set up enough for removal. The second sheet cookies were much chewier! I will make these again! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      Amazing simply amazing! I was looking for a cookie that would not only be thick but chewy! This hit the nail on the head!. It was a sturdy cookie but chewy. I took the advice and used the bread flour. That may have been what made these so thick. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      Oh my goodness, oh my goodness! These are incredible! I am thrilled to the point of giggling, I have NEVER made cookies as good as these! Thank you so very much for sharing this recipe. I followed it to a tee, and they turned out perfectly. Plus, I live at 8,500 ft above sea level. At this altitude it is challenging to get the right mix...seriously, I am throwing all of my other chocolate chip cookie recipes away! THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      I have already reviewed this recipec (and I think it is AWESOME!). Hands down, THE best chocolate chip cookie recipe I have ever tried. They are equal parts fluffy and chewy (how is that even possible??). Anyway, I just wanted to say that we have 2 young children with dairy allergies and I have adapted this recipe using coconut spread and dairy-free chocolate chips. Just subbed the coconut spread for the butter and added about 1/2 cup more flour. You could also decrease the amount of spread and keep the flour the same, but adding more flour is a little easier. You can see and feel the consistency when adding more flour. In my oven, I do top and bottom rack (2 sheets of cookies) for 8 min at 325, turn the pans 180 degrees and switch bottom to top for another 9 minutes. Let cool for 3-5 and transfer to a wire rack. Thanks for this recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      This cookie gets the stars!!!!
      I browned 8 tablespoons of the butter, and cooled it with the remaining 4 tablespoons, per America's Test Kitchen's recipe, and upped the salt to 3/4 teaspoon. Used bread flour for chewiness (another 5 stars!)
      My husband, whose faith in my cooking skills is unshakable, declared these the best ccc he's ever had - WOW.
      Thank you thank you thank you Steve_G!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      It almost seems pointless to review these cookies, since it's clear at this point how delicious they are, but I am one more satisfied baker. The cookies turn out super thick (if you leave them in ball form and don't flatten at all) but I kind of liked that because the dense, moist middle was the best part for me. Like others, I did not refrigerate the dough for too long and the cookies still turned out perfectly. I think my baking time worked out to be a little bit closer to 7 minutes on each rack.

      Phenomenal recipe! Will definitely be making them again (especially since they don't involve some of the more esoteric ingredients that other recipes call for)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Wow! These are truly chocolate chip perfection. I doubled the recipe- the only change that I made was not to double the chocolate chips- I found that there were more than enough with one 300 gram bag. Thank you for this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      This was without a doubt the best chocolate chip cookie I have ever had. I used Skor chips mixed with choc. chips and skipped the nuts. They were soft and chewy on the inside and just a little crispy on the outside. They were the first choc chip cookie that tasted as good cold as warm. This is going in my recipe box!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2012

      This was my first time baking cookies, I have to say I will never have to look for a chocolate chip cookie recipe ever, These were to die for OMG!. Very easy to make and very pleasurable to eat. I had to bake mine a little longer since I didn't flatten the balls a little bit but so did not affect the taste. Great recipe Steve_G :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      I do not like chocolate chip cookies at all and I was really bummed out when my so requested them. That being said, I can't stop eating these. Amazing. Made this exactly as directed except that I omitted one tablespoon of flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      These are very easy and pretty foolproof, too. They always come out great, even if they get left in the oven a couple of minutes extra. I usually use about a cup of chips (instead of 1 1/2), and I haven't had any problems with them over-browning on the bottom without parchment paper so I just use ungreased cookie sheets. Also, I do refrigerate the dough before scooping and baking, you only need about 10-15 mins. My kids sold these at our garage sale last year and actually had a couple of people come back about half an hour later for more... Finally found a choc chip cookie recipe that everyone in my family agrees is the best. Thanks for a family keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2011

      WoW!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2011

      These cookies taste great! Salt and caramel flavors contrast well with the chocolate chips. They are everything I would expect from a chocolate chip cookie, and the cookies I made from this recipe actually looked like perfect cookies. For other recipes, my cookies always spread out too much, become black on the edge and raw in the middle, or they are very thin. I don't know why. I really appreciate the tips in these directions. My dough was not very dry, but I shaped them and refrigerated them on the sheet anyway, following the directions. They were perfect. The pan I didn't refrigerate produced cookies that were thin and kind-of "blah," so I will always refrigerate the pan before baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!

      My normal C.C.C. recipe always falls flat, and while they are perfect warm the second they cool I'm embarrassed by them. Not these! They stay full, soft, and make me so proud! The only thing I would change is the refrigeration time. 2 hours made the dough super hard, and difficult to work with. I found 45 minutes is plenty of time.

      Thank you SO much for posting this recipe! I'll never use a different Chocolate chip cookie again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bakery Style Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (66 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 265.0
     
    Calories from Fat 112
    42%
    Total Fat 12.5 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 40.9 mg
    13%
    Sodium 85.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 25.1 g
    100%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites