19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I thought the frosting had good taste....Just not a good decorating frosting. I thought it was very time consuming. May use again on a cake that I won't be decorating.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KarlaOregon June 10, 2002

Wonderful icing just did 3 gradulation cakes and it holds shape wonderfully. This is a keeper!!!!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kym in Ohio June 08, 2002

This is a great frosting. But I had to make two batches to have enough- but I had a three layer cake. Also it would help if you told people to mix the sugar and flour well before adding the milk. Thank You!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia April 09, 2002

This is a great frosting. It's easy to make and easy to work with. Took a while to cool, but it was worth every minute!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sommers June 13, 2002

I topped the white cake with this frosting. Tastes just like Bakery Frosting. This was so good.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharmin Abbott May 14, 2002

This frosting is excellent!! I was looking for a bakery type frosting and this one "takes the cake". It is not so super sweet like butter creme. I subbed butter for the shortening becuase I only had butter flavored shortening which is very yellow in color and wanted a more white frosting. I used this on your strawberry cake #22984 that I had made into cupcakes for my sons class at school. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dk.nieman January 23, 2008

This was exactly what I needed.I made this to frost my son' birthday cake and it turned out great,we loved the taste and it does taste just like bakery frosting.The recipe is right on time and I did not change a thing!!!Will use this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
@ngdarlen January 18, 2004

Very good recipe! It was exactly what I was looking for! It made really bright and uniform icing when I coloured it! Thank you!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nixon14 September 10, 2002

Yum ~ This frosting has a great taste that was approved by the whole family! The only negative is it was a bit time consuming, especially when you have five little ones asking, "Is it done yet?". Also, I made a double tiered cake (2 9" rounds) and this was not really enough frosting for that purpose. Next time, I would double the recipe for 2 rounds. Changes: the only change I made was I used 1/4 c. solid shortening AND 1/4 c. butter. I also used evaporated milk (it was all I had on hand). Tips: I whisked the flour, sugar & milk constantly as it was thickening - then I kept whisking most of the time it was cooling - just to be extra cautious about lumps. A bit labor intensive, but the results were quite tasty!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Michigan Momma* May 27, 2010

I ran out of butter so I tried something this recipe tasted like grease and was runny I tried to fix it but to no avail. Rick

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wehrmach July 11, 2009
Baker's Frosting