Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baker's Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baker's Frosting

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2002

      I thought the frosting had good taste....Just not a good decorating frosting. I thought it was very time consuming. May use again on a cake that I won't be decorating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2002

      Wonderful icing just did 3 gradulation cakes and it holds shape wonderfully. This is a keeper!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2002

      This is a great frosting. But I had to make two batches to have enough- but I had a three layer cake. Also it would help if you told people to mix the sugar and flour well before adding the milk. Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2002

      This is a great frosting. It's easy to make and easy to work with. Took a while to cool, but it was worth every minute!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2002

      I topped the white cake with this frosting. Tastes just like Bakery Frosting. This was so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      This frosting is excellent!! I was looking for a bakery type frosting and this one "takes the cake". It is not so super sweet like butter creme. I subbed butter for the shortening becuase I only had butter flavored shortening which is very yellow in color and wanted a more white frosting. I used this on your strawberry cake #22984 that I had made into cupcakes for my sons class at school. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2004

      This was exactly what I needed.I made this to frost my son' birthday cake and it turned out great,we loved the taste and it does taste just like bakery frosting.The recipe is right on time and I did not change a thing!!!Will use this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2002

      Very good recipe! It was exactly what I was looking for! It made really bright and uniform icing when I coloured it! Thank you!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Yum ~ This frosting has a great taste that was approved by the whole family! The only negative is it was a bit time consuming, especially when you have five little ones asking, "Is it done yet?". Also, I made a double tiered cake (2 9" rounds) and this was not really enough frosting for that purpose. Next time, I would double the recipe for 2 rounds. Changes: the only change I made was I used 1/4 c. solid shortening AND 1/4 c. butter. I also used evaporated milk (it was all I had on hand). Tips: I whisked the flour, sugar & milk constantly as it was thickening - then I kept whisking most of the time it was cooling - just to be extra cautious about lumps. A bit labor intensive, but the results were quite tasty!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      I ran out of butter so I tried something this recipe tasted like grease and was runny I tried to fix it but to no avail. Rick

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      It was pretty good. I decided to add cocoa to it to frost my yellow cake. Boy was it yummy, and so rich!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      I'm not a fan of shortening frostings. I probably won't make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2006

      I liked the flavor very much, it was just a bit thin though. Next time I would add more powdered sugar to thicken it up I think.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      I am sorry to say I didn't like the flavor of this frosting .. It is also not a good frosting for decorating .. Thank you for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2005

      This turned out great! I did add a little extra powdered sugar to thicken it up and about 1/4 tsp of cream of tarter. This is definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2005

      Love this frosting - have made some variations also - have substituted lemon juice for the vanilla (and added some lemon rind, finely ground). Also, for an angel food cake I substituted blended strawberries for the vanilla (3 good sized ones) and butter for the shortening. Was very rich and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2004

      This frosting had good flavor, but it did not work well for decorating. I had to add extra shortening and pwdr. sugar to make it workable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2004

      This was a nice frosting. I made it and put it on a devils food cake and had a lot of compliments on it. I did use Maple flavoring instead of vanilla. The only thing I didn't care for was that it had a grainy texture even though it was cooked for so long. Maybe I should have cooked it longer or over higher heat. I also think that sweetened condensed milk could be used instead of the milk, sugar, and flour mixture to make it smoother and quicker. But over all, this was a great frosting. Thanks for sharing MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2004

      Pretty good! I added extra powdered sugar for thickness. I loved the taste. It went well with my white cake. I dusted the top of it with cocoa powder and a little powdered sugar in addition to a few decorations. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baker's Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (457 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 936.8
     
    Calories from Fat 482
    51%
    Total Fat 53.5 g
    82%
    Saturated Fat 14.2 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 8.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 321.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 115.3 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 108.9 g
    435%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites