Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Ziti With Tomato, Mozzarella and Sausage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Ziti With Tomato, Mozzarella and Sausage

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2010

      A quick and delicious recipe that I made for my son's 17th birthday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      A keeper for sure! I made this to take to a friend who is out of commission at the moment. I found this recipe on the Fine Cooking Site and it doesn't say anything about 4 medium tomatoes so I am not sure if this is something you have added or a typo. I used Pecorino Romano cheese and added a little more than ¾ cup to the topping. You could substitute fresh Parmesan, Asiago, or Grana Padano cheese for the Pecorino. The smell of this cooking was heavenly. I had to make another dish the next day just to try it. DD and I have been eating the left overs cold because it taste so good. The second batch I added a little tomato sauce to the tomato and sausage mixture just to thicken it up a bit. I used fresh oregano and parsley which I think helps with the flavour. I may add some red pepper flakes next time or use 1/2 hot and 1/2 mild Italian sausage to give it a little kick. This was a hit in our house and my friends. I just wished I had found this recipe sooner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      I am clearly the minority with this recipe but I just wanted to warn anyone who hasn't used pecorino cheese before (like me prior to this recipe)....this was NOT a good recipe for me - completely due to the cheese. I don't know if my pecorino wasn't "mild" or what - but I basically spent $25 buying ingredients and had to throw it all away because the cheese was NOT good for me or my family. I would just recommend using a different cheese than the pecorino unless you KNOW you like it. I am sure the recipe would have been fine if I had used different cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      I love it! Made some mior adjustments due to availability - but all in all the "recipe" is fantastic! To readers with kids - try with rotelle/rotini it is easy to get on a fork for them and the rings hold all of the sauce..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      DH and I had this dish for dinner last night. We really enjoyed it. I loved the hot, spicy flavor of the Italian sausage and all of the decadent cheese. I only had 1 pound of sausage, so that's what I used and I think I used a 28 oz (versus 35 oz) can of plum tomatoes because that is also what I had on hand. Otherwise, we did not change a thing. We served this with baked Italian bread, sprinkled with Pecorino cheese. Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      Fabulous!!!! I made some small changes, just based on what my family likes. Used half hot, and half mild italian sausage. Used a bit over a cup of wine. Didn't have any fresh tomatoes, so used one can diced. Didn't have fresh herbs, used a LOT of dried basil, and about a tblspn thyme and a teaspoon or so oregano. Accidentally used more pecorino (is there such a thing as too much cheese?) Anyway, it's the 2nd time I've tried to make baked ziti, the first time was a total disaster, but this was a big hit! DH already requested it go into my "rotation" of dishes. Thanks so much for the recipe, sorry I didn't follow it exactly, but your method of cooking is the key, I think, really made the flavors "pop". I'm now off to see if you have other recipes posted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      Most excellent. Just starting to get into the cook ahead thing -this is perfect..Enough to eat and freeze. Very yummy - DH and picky child loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      Fantastic! And surprisingly easy to cook up. Even my picky eaters loved this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2006

      Great recipe for OAMC. I made this with the intention of freezing it. The only thing I did differently was substitute hot turkey sausage. I divided it into 2 disposable casserole pan and sealed it with heavy duty foil. The day before I took the frozen casserole and thawed it in my refrig. I then baked it a little longer because it was cold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      This is fantastic!! We'll definitely make this again. Used a pecarino/romano blend because that's what was available - it worked great. I increased all ingrediants by half, and it filled to overflowing a large and medium size casserole dish! If you love Italian food, you'll love this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2005

      Excellent!! Made this last night and the whole family went crazy for it! I had to put it away just so I'd have some for leftovers! I used Turkey Italian sausage and cottage cheese instead of ricotta, came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2005

      I played with this recipe and think I might have overdone the tomatoes ~ will try exact next time but OMG this makes enough to feed DH for the week....very high reviews from him too, which is a rarity!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2005

      Very good, I made this at a friends house and it was a hit, I had to sub parmesan for the pecorino because I could not find any. I also used 4 medium tomatoes instead of 40, this has to be a typo, and threw in 8 oz of sliced mushrooms, other than that I followed the recipe exactly - delicious! I served this with a salad and Mean Chef's Buttermilk Honey Bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2005

      Good stuff! We are pretty darn picky and this is a keeper recipe for us. The fresh mozarella makes it. I used diced tomatoes as well. It actually tastes much lighter than you'd expect given the ingredients. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2004

      Absolutely slap you down great! Thanks. Margie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2003

      YUM! YUM! YUMMY IN MY TUMMY! The only thing I changed was using 2 cans of already diced tomatoes just because I'm lazy. Thanks for the great recipe! I will be making this for my New Year's Eve buffet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Ziti With Tomato, Mozzarella and Sausage

    Serving Size: 1 (562 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1449.4
     
    Calories from Fat 688
    47%
    Total Fat 76.4 g
    117%
    Saturated Fat 30.2 g
    151%
    Cholesterol 173.2 mg
    57%
    Sodium 2491.8 mg
    103%
    Total Carbohydrate 116.1 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 9.0 g
    36%
    Sugars 15.8 g
    63%
    Protein 70.9 g
    141%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh marjoram

    pecorino cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes