10 Reviews

This was amazing! I made some minor changes but I'm sure it would have been great following the original recipe. I halfed the recipe and mixed a homemade red wine marinara sauce with half a pound of ground turkey instead of using the meat sauce this called for. I used a mixture of whole wheat and regular penne, and instead of ricotta I used marscapone cheese and it was super delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alelbryant777 February 01, 2012

My last review should be 5 stars, I didn't mark it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robert M. October 29, 2013

Delicious!! I made this for a party and it fed all of us with plenty of leftovers - which were just a delish as the first time around. I also used whole wheat ziti pasta and the meat sauce recipe recommended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KozMD November 02, 2010

This meal was fantastic! I made my own version of the thick meat sauce. My daughter actually asked to take some left overs for lunch. (she NEVER does that) We all really enjoyed it! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YummyNina March 08, 2010

This was a very good dish. It makes enough to feed an army, so it would be a great dish to serve to a large crowd. The trio of cheeses made it very tasty. It's one of those rare dishes that everyone in my family liked, so I'll be serving again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal September 14, 2008

My son couldnt get enough of it! My daughter actually ate all of her food on her plate (that's a new one!). It was delicious and I will definitely make this again as a family favorite! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SookiesKitchen September 10, 2008

This is really very very good Rita. I did not make your sauce as I had some Prego on hand that I wanted to use. Fried up some italian sausage to add for the carnivore in the fam. and they were good to go along with some garlic toast. Fabulous richness and very creamy. A good ribsticking meal. Made for Market Tag 08'

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB May 07, 2008

It was sinfuuly good!!! It got great reviews from my husband and daughter. I would make this a must at least once a week. Thanks .... graet recipe for me especially since cooking is not one of my favorite things to do

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmg09 May 02, 2008

This tastes delicious. I skipped the ricotta cheese 'coz I couldn't find any.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hmbs March 22, 2008

This was WONDERFUL! its a bitterly cold day here and i really wanted something comforting..the ooey gooey cheesiness with the meat sauce just hit the spot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba November 28, 2007
Baked Ziti With Thick Rich Meat Sauce