Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Ziti With Spinach, Sausage, and Mozzarella Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Ziti With Spinach, Sausage, and Mozzarella

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2010

      This recipe was FABULOUS! My VERY skeptical husband took one look at the fact that it was lacking ricotta type cheese (which I HATE and is why I chose this type of recipe!) and thought this was going to be awful. Boy did he eat his words (literally!) and LOVED every stinking bite of this. I used hot chicken italian sausage and I doubled the garlic and increased the spinach. I also used shredded mozzarella rather than cubed. The flavors are incredible. It almost tastes like a super rich tomatoe sauce but it's actually just the mixture of the pesto and the tomatoes blending beautifully together. It's truly unbelievable! I can't thank you enough for this one. It makes a ton and isn't ever finished by my 4 person family but the leftovers are great too! This is a 10 star recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      This is a wonderful recipe! My fiance requests this one often. We love hot italian turkey sausage and the pesto adds a wonderful flavor to this dish! I follow this recipe exactly (though sometimes I don't add the full 8 ounces of spinach, whatever I have on hand is usually closer to 5 or 6 ounces). Homemade pesto and fresh parm really add to the flavor. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      This was wonderful! My picky 8-year-old kept repeating, "This is so good! This is really good! You have to make this again!" I used sweet turkey Italian sausage instead of the hot, since my kids complain when anything is remotely spicy. I also used a whole bag of fresh spinach, since we really like spinach and it's a good way to get the kids to eat veggies. Yum! Thanks for the new recipe, Kathy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      5+++++ I am eating this for breakfast as we speak. This was great! I did increase the garlic and added extra spinach. I added a little bit of shredded mozzarella instead of cubed b/c I did not have it. I added the rest of the mozzarella on the top. One more thing, don't be afraid of the pesto. It blends into the sauce. Super Yummy:) EDIT: I have one thing to say about this recipe....MAKE IT! My DH said this has got to be one of the top 3 recipes on RZ:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      This was really good! I halved the recipe and it still completely filled my 8x8 glass pan. I used 1/4 cup of prepared knorr pesto sauce (all I had) and only baked it for 20 minutes. It was perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      Yum, Yum Yum! Made this for my kids (6, 8 & 10) and they LOVED it. I loved it too. Only change I made was to use Sweet Italian chicken sausage - my daughter can't take the heat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      This is what my family calls a "platelicker". It is my favorite go-to casserole and it is easy to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      I made this for our dinner the other night and it was a BIG hit! I used baby spinach leaves, so I didn't bother chopping them up. I may have used a little too much pasta, as some of the ones around the edges were a little "crispy" but covering the pan with foil for the first 20 minutes or so would have prevented this. Leftovers were mixed with a little marinera sauce and extra mozerella cheese cubes and were yummy as well! Thanks for posting this, KathyP- it fills the bill when we're craving Italian!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2014

      This was very good, i made this first with beef sausage and then with turkey, both turned out wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      I read this recipe and immediately thought that we wouldn't care for the pesto and the spinach in it, but I decided to give it a shot! We thought this was wonderful! I followed the directions but did make a few adjustments, based on what I had and other reviews: I used 16oz of mostaccioli pasta, a 6oz - all my supermarket had - bag of fresh baby spinach that I didn't chop up, I added one 15oz can of diced tomatoes, and I used about half a cup of pesto. I also had a 1lb package of hot Italian pork sausage, so I used all of it. I probably used a little more mozzarella than called for too, but I usually do with cheese! I combined the spinach, pasta, and cheeses in the cooled-down pot that I used to boil the pasta in, that way, I had one less dirty dish. I only had to bake it for 15 minutes, and my boyfriend, his roommate, and I all really liked it! The three of us ate it for dinner, and there is still leftovers for them to both take lunch to work. It's very filling and makes a ton! Thanks for this recipe, it's definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      Wonderful! I will definitely be making this again. Personal preference, I used half-pound Italian sausage and half-pound lean ground beef. I used one pound penne pasta. I made this for company and got wonderful reviews. This will go into my regular routine for home, too. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      Very good - the pesto really adds flavour to the sauce. I didn't have quite enough cheese (and I used part strong emmenthal!) but this was still delish! Thank you Kathy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

    • on June 30, 2011

      Brilliant! Only used 1/2 the tomatoes (but added some tomato sauce I was wanting to use up), and used the full 1 lb bag of spinach.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      My family and I enjoyed this alot! I only had 14 oz of tomatoes so I subbed in 2 cups of leftover marinara sauce. My kids usu complain about Italian sausage but not tonight. Both the picky eaters loved it! This will def go into our rotation. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      This is a great recipe. I have seen this one before on Epicurious.com and made it many times, I think it was originally from BonAppetite or Gourmet magazine. Anyhow, this is a tasty recipe. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      YUMMY! my boyfriend had one bite and said he was glad there was enough for leftovers tomorrow. very tasty. i think next time i will add black olives. very yummy and easy to keep an eye on. thank you so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      This was sooooo good. I used wheat rigatoni pasta in place of the penne and had my two year old helped me chop the spinach ( she tore them apart and was having a blast!) Everyone loved it including the picky two year old eater. Good way to include vegetables in the diet of young children. A KEEPER!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      Made this just as the recipe stated except added about 1/2 cup of red marinara sauce. Absolutely delicious - even the picky eaters in my family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      Yum yum says the hubby! Kids liked it as well... My husband wrote the first line, which prompted me to add a little more. I made this dish for a family with a newborn. It makes a perfect size for dinner and left overs. We like to use sausage pieces instead of ground. Like Liza said, we went heavy on the pesto and cheese. love it, love it, love it. I think we ate if for 3 meals in a row!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Ziti With Spinach, Sausage, and Mozzarella

    Serving Size: 1 (254 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 349.0
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    33%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 50.3 mg
    16%
    Sodium 749.9 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 22.5 g
    45%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pesto sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes