Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Ziti With Hot Italian Sausage & Fresh Mozzarella Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Ziti With Hot Italian Sausage & Fresh Mozzarella

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2014

      Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2013

      WOW!!! I just had this for dinner with a salad. I made at 3pm put in fridge then cooked at 545pm. Really fresh tasting. If I would add anything it would be add garlic. Thank you, Only 2 of us so we have lunch for work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2012

      Very tasty! I made a few changes to suit the ingredients I had. Used mild Italian sausage, 6 of them, which I saut?ed, then sliced, then saut?ed some more. Added crushed red pepper, seasoning, and a little fennel to compensate for the mild sausage. Used a 28 oz can of Whole Foods organic crushed tomatoes, then made up the difference in tomatoes with about a cup of homemade pasta sauce. Used 2 7-oz containers of fresh mozzarella medallions (no cutting!), and could have used 3. Used a 13x9 baking dish. Served with homemade French bread and steamed broccoli for a delicious meal with lots of leftovers. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2012

      Great recipe, and one I'll try again. This is a good one to double if you need to bring someone dinner... it was reasonably fast and dirtied a lot of dishes, but there's not a lot of hands on time.

      I made a few small changes that probably made my dish inferior to the original recipe... but it was still great. I used Costco shredded mozarella cheese. I also used canned whole tomatoes (not san marzano). I used penne pasta instead of ziti, since that was what I had on hand. I used mild italian sausage instead of hot to make it more kid friendly, and they all ate it. I was afraid the sauce wouldn't be flavorful enough, so I added 1/2 T italian seasoning. It was great, so I'll do that again.

      Thanks for a great recipe to go to in a pinch that doesn't require a lot of ingredients.

      I agree with another reviewer that it needs a little more sauce (I'd say about 50% more, my husband says 25% more).

      I only baked it for about 20 minutes because I was in a hurry, and I bumped the heat up to 375 so the cheese would brown in the shorter cooking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      Excellent! I increased the wine and kept the tomato amount as stated. We're not a "saucy" family, so it was perfect. If you are a sauce family, you would want to increase the tomatoes and wine. This was spicy....which I loved but my kids weren't as fond of it. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      This was really good. I followed the recipe, except for using a 28 oz can of italian style diced tomatoes instead of the san marzano tomatoes. The san marzano tomatoes were twice the price, so I got the cheaper option. I loved the taste of the wine sauce. I think there was barely enough sauce because I like extra sauce, so next time I may use the 28 oz can, plus a 14 oz can of tomatoes and increase the wine to 3/4 cup. This was my first time using fresh mozzarella instead of shredded and I thought it was excellent in this recipe. I baked it in a 9 x 11 pan and it was done in 30 mins. Also, I used a immersion blender instead of a regular blender and it worked fine. Thanks for a delicious recipe. I will definitely make this again sometime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      This was like an upscale ziti - it tasted like the sauce had been simmered all day. Coupled with the fresh mozzarella it was a sophisticated meal. My DH and I gorged ourselves on it. I used mild sausage and the dish was plenty spicy for us. I think using spicy sausage would've overpowered the flavor of the sauce. I added 6 oz. sliced mushrooms after removing the sausage from the skillet. I sauteed them for 2 minutes, then deglazed with the wine. They were a great addition.This will go into my permanent recipe collection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      This was sooooooooooooo good!!!!! It was super easy to make, and smelled wonderful, and when we finally sat down to eat it we couldn't stop! One that will go on my favorites list.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      This was really really good and easy! I used Trader Joes spicy chicken italian sausage and added 4 oz fresh mushrooms that I sauteed. I also added more wine, and will add even MORE next time as the pasta definitely soaked up lots of moisture. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      Delicious, especially considering how few ingredients were used. It was very easy to put together. I used turkey italian sausage, and it made for a light but excellent meal. Thanks for sharing this gem, Emily Elizabeth! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Ziti With Hot Italian Sausage & Fresh Mozzarella

    Serving Size: 1 (255 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 469.8
     
    Calories from Fat 167
    35%
    Total Fat 18.6 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 45.7 mg
    15%
    Sodium 1133.5 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 22.4 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes