149 Reviews

This received my DH's approval as a keeper recipe (I let him think he has a choice ;0) I added about 1 1/2 cloves of minced garlic to ricotta and used 4 1/2 c of Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti sauce, it already has sausage in it and the amount of sauce/sausage was perfect. I make big batches of the sauce and freeze it in 4 1/2 c portions for lasagna or meatball subs and now ziti, it works great! I reserved 1 c sauce for topping and added an extra 1/2 c cheese to fully cover. The dish I used was 2 1/2 qts and it was filled to the brim! Baked about 20 minutes uncovered, covered it for 17 minutes and then took out and let sit for 5 minutes uncovered. Thanks for the recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rollin in the Dough! March 09, 2010

This stuff is incredible!!! I tried it out on my room mate since I had an entire day to exparament. He took one bite and said "I could almost kiss you". He went back for two more helpings, not to mention the awesome garlic bread I made to go with it. I followed the recipe exactly as written, except I added a good pinch of dried oregano as I love it. This one is definitely going under the "tried and true" file and will be made often in the future. The only thing I'd do different is invite several more people to enjoy it with us. Thanks for a great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Two Socks February 09, 2004

This was easy to make and tasted good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
embutterfly75 July 23, 2010

This was yummy! I added 1 lg. garlic clove crushed, italian seasoning, and crushed red pepper to the sausage just for some extra kick. Both my husband and I loved it :-) Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eleni G. April 17, 2010

This recipe is AMAZING!! I have used recipes on this site for years and this one is by far my favorite. Thanks for the recipe. I made it as written and it was perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tsmperkins May 05, 2011

I halved the recipe and did exactly what the recipe says. Amazing! So easy to make as well. My family inhaled the whole thing at dinner time. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen February 05, 2016

Ok, so I wasn't impressed by this but my family really enjoyed it. So they beat me out for a 4 star rating. I guess I am just used to my mom's recipe for baked ziti.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom September 05, 2015

This is good and it is easy. I did add things like other reviewers did like italian seasoning, garlic, and red pepper flakes to the meat. That being said, I didn't have enough italian sausage (hot) so I used some ground beef but since I like spicy the additions added some umph. I will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephanie s. January 11, 2015

This was a good basic ziti recipe. It was cheesy and creamy and easy! I left out the meat and added sauteed mushrooms and cauliflower. Turned out great except next time I'll season the parts a little more. Thanks for the great recipe S in PA...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender August 10, 2014
Baked Ziti