70 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So I have been making another baked ziti recipe that I wasn't the biggest fan of until tonight. While at the grocery store I found this recipe on my cell phone through an app for a different website and decided to try it. So glad I did. This was delicious. Made it almost exactly the same except added minced garlic to the mean and onion while it browned and increased the cheese a lot since we LOVE cheese. Great flavor and so tasty.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PtldGrl October 25, 2010

Simple and delicious! I used two 8x8 pans rather than a 9x13 -- one to eat and one to freeze/give away. I did use turkey sausage rather than ground beef but otherwise made it exactly as directed. Thanks, Connie, for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paramela December 24, 2009

Delicious! I had a roll of Jimmy Dean hot sausage and used that instead of ground beef. I took the advice from another review and froze half. It will be coming out of the freezer soon :-D. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appetizerqueen November 03, 2012

I have tried this recipe twice... once as written, and once with the addition of more seasonings. As written, I have to rate it as 4 stars. It is a good base, but the lack of seasonings leaves the meat sauce extremely bland, in my humble opinion. When I tweaked the recipe, I added minced garlic, Lawry's seasoning salt, garlic & onion powder, Italian seasonings, sage, & a dash of cayenne pepper. Much more flavorful the second go-round! Still a great go-to recipe though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tissan.howard July 08, 2012

We thought this was a great recipe. I liked the addition of sour cream in place of the ricotta. We like the ricotta but don't always have it on hand so this is a nice replacement when in need. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us, we we make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 17, 2011

We really enjoyed this. I added two cans of mushrooms and used leftover homemade sauce. I loved the creaminess that the sourcream provided. Thanks for a great supper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WinnipegWoman February 08, 2010

I will give this casserole bonus points.....it was very easy to make. But reading the ingredients, I knew this would be on the bland side, so I did make some changes! I am trying to use up "odds and sods" from my cupboard and fridge, so I used hat shaped pasta, sliced mushrooms, added 5 garlic, Italian seasoning, sugar, salt and pepper. I shredded the cheese and blended them together. I used 2 - 8 x 8 casserole dishes, so we had one tonight and one for the freezer. The casserole is great for family nights...using up ingredients..and probably good for those fussy eaters we all seem to have. But...I think it would be more flavourful if you were using your own homemade spaghetti sauce (I just don't get that excited about jar spaghetti sauce!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl April 16, 2009

Really good! I made it without the meat and used less sauce but I think I will up the sauce next time as the recipe calls for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Doozer November 27, 2013

Great recipe! My family loved it, even my son who says he hates sour cream! The kids told me they wanted the leftovers for lunch. You know its good when they look forward to eating it the next day. I did substitute cheddar instead of provolone because that's what I had. Will add green peppers next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baileesmom May 28, 2013
Baked Ziti