34 Reviews

Yum! We used one can of black beans and one can of refried beans and that was plenty. If you can't find the black soybeans, don't worry about it because it will be good anyway. We left out the avocado and sour cream and cut back on the cheese. We had a lot of extra filling that we plan to eat as nachos!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dominick & Amanda October 06, 2009

I've made this recipe a couple of times now, and I just love it! The first time I made these, I used the mushrooms but realized while eating them that I couldn't really taste them, so I don't use them anymore. I think they do make a great low-calorie filler if people want to use them though. I follow everything else as directed except I use pinto beans in place of the black soybeans, because my grocery store doesn't sell those. I especially love these, because I make them for dinner for my husband and I, and I still have enough left over to eat for lunch for a week! Thank you for a great, healthy recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarah40460 December 10, 2009

Just terrific. I didn't have time to look around for black soy beans so I used 2 cans regular black beans. Well seasoned and it does make a lot but my family was happy to eat the left-overs the next day. Very nice recipe. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lark woods April 02, 2004

Really nice recipe. I made it as stated except I couldn't find any black soybeans so I just used two cans of black beans, which I rinsed before using. Next time i make this I will either freeze half the mixture or just halve the recipe as it makes a lot! But other than it making a lot it was a good recipe. Thanks, I'll definately be making this again as it was easy and tasty!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iluvmythomas January 06, 2004

Excellent! My family comments on these chimichangas was these were the best we ever had. A winning recipe as far as we are concerned and no one missed the meat! I did have a real lot of mixture left over -- no problem we are refrigerating the mixture and having them again later this week. Leftovers that no one is complaining about -- a keeper recipe for us. Thanks Julesong for posting this recipe that we will be having often.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ July 12, 2003

My husband who is an avid meat eater just confessed that this recipe is by far the best chimichanga he has EVER had anywhere!!! That's quite the compliment!! I halved the recipe thinking to make 4 for our 2 person household, however the filling easily made 6 very large chimichanga's. I also used fat free refried beans, fat free sour cream and part skim cheddar cheese. Be sure to rinse your black and soybeans, this is not stated in the recipe but is a must, even if you use unsalted beans(which I also did).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boo&bear June 25, 2011

Delicious! I cut the recipe roughly in half and made 6 chimichangas. I used 1 15 oz can black beans and 1 15 oz can refried beans and no rice. Very easy, which makes it even more tasty

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ABQ Kat August 17, 2010

I hosted a luncheon this weekend, and served baked ham with a cranberry glaze, lemon dill chicken over rice, baked ziti, ect. and this recipe for the chimichangas. Much to my surprise this was the biggest hit! I had so many rave reviews and had to print up copies of the recipe for several of my guests. To be honest I'm a meat kinda guy and I was blown away by them too. As with other reviews I couldn't find the soybeans so I doubled up on drained and rinsed black beans I didn't use the mushrooms or the avocado. I used 8" torts to make them more buffet friendly with about 1/4 cup of filling in each. The recipe made about 18 chimichangas.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madriley61 July 02, 2010

Good stuff! They freeze really well too, which is great for a one-person chef like me. Will be making again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS May 24, 2010

These really were great. Quick to make, tasted wonderful, PLUS they freeze very well. After baking all 10, my family only ate 6 of them, so I froze the other 4. I defrosted later and re-heated in the microwave for 2 minutes and they were delish! Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
St. Louie Suzie December 06, 2009
Baked Vegetarian Chimichangas (Warm or Cold)