Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Vegetarian Chimichangas (Warm or Cold) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Vegetarian Chimichangas (Warm or Cold)

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2009

      Yum! We used one can of black beans and one can of refried beans and that was plenty. If you can't find the black soybeans, don't worry about it because it will be good anyway. We left out the avocado and sour cream and cut back on the cheese. We had a lot of extra filling that we plan to eat as nachos!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      I've made this recipe a couple of times now, and I just love it! The first time I made these, I used the mushrooms but realized while eating them that I couldn't really taste them, so I don't use them anymore. I think they do make a great low-calorie filler if people want to use them though. I follow everything else as directed except I use pinto beans in place of the black soybeans, because my grocery store doesn't sell those. I especially love these, because I make them for dinner for my husband and I, and I still have enough left over to eat for lunch for a week! Thank you for a great, healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2004

      Just terrific. I didn't have time to look around for black soy beans so I used 2 cans regular black beans. Well seasoned and it does make a lot but my family was happy to eat the left-overs the next day. Very nice recipe. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2004

      Really nice recipe. I made it as stated except I couldn't find any black soybeans so I just used two cans of black beans, which I rinsed before using. Next time i make this I will either freeze half the mixture or just halve the recipe as it makes a lot! But other than it making a lot it was a good recipe. Thanks, I'll definately be making this again as it was easy and tasty!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2003

      Excellent! My family comments on these chimichangas was these were the best we ever had. A winning recipe as far as we are concerned and no one missed the meat! I did have a real lot of mixture left over -- no problem we are refrigerating the mixture and having them again later this week. Leftovers that no one is complaining about -- a keeper recipe for us. Thanks Julesong for posting this recipe that we will be having often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      My husband who is an avid meat eater just confessed that this recipe is by far the best chimichanga he has EVER had anywhere!!! That's quite the compliment!! I halved the recipe thinking to make 4 for our 2 person household, however the filling easily made 6 very large chimichanga's. I also used fat free refried beans, fat free sour cream and part skim cheddar cheese. Be sure to rinse your black and soybeans, this is not stated in the recipe but is a must, even if you use unsalted beans(which I also did).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

      Delicious! I cut the recipe roughly in half and made 6 chimichangas. I used 1 15 oz can black beans and 1 15 oz can refried beans and no rice. Very easy, which makes it even more tasty

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      I hosted a luncheon this weekend, and served baked ham with a cranberry glaze, lemon dill chicken over rice, baked ziti, ect. and this recipe for the chimichangas. Much to my surprise this was the biggest hit! I had so many rave reviews and had to print up copies of the recipe for several of my guests. To be honest I'm a meat kinda guy and I was blown away by them too. As with other reviews I couldn't find the soybeans so I doubled up on drained and rinsed black beans I didn't use the mushrooms or the avocado. I used 8" torts to make them more buffet friendly with about 1/4 cup of filling in each. The recipe made about 18 chimichangas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Good stuff! They freeze really well too, which is great for a one-person chef like me. Will be making again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      These really were great. Quick to make, tasted wonderful, PLUS they freeze very well. After baking all 10, my family only ate 6 of them, so I froze the other 4. I defrosted later and re-heated in the microwave for 2 minutes and they were delish! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      I made these for the Freezer Tag game in the Budget/OAMC forum. They are excellent!! I made one pan to eat immediately, and froze the rest. For some, I wrapped the filling into the tortilla. For others, I froze just the filling, in "logs" about the shape and size I needed for one tortilla. In both cases, I put them on a baking sheet and into the freezer until they were solid. Then I wrapped each one in waxed paper and stored in a freezer bag. To use, I thawed individual portions for a few minutes in the microwave, then toasted them in the toaster oven till crispy. I used fresh tortillas for the "logs" and thawed the filling before wrapping. I used whole wheat tortillas, and topped with sour cream, and if you like, a healthy bit of chopped cilantro. Yum!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2004

      Fabulous. We are having these for the 3rd night in a row. I put ground beef in half of the mixture for my DH. This makes and ton. I froze the filling into individual servings and it thaws great. Thanks for a recipe that will be made often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2003

      This was absolutely terrific!! Everyone should try this! I'm freezing the rest--between us, we only ate 3 chimichangas, so there are 8 left. I didn't use the black soy beans--I kind of did this at the last minute and didn't have time to go to lots of different grocery stores. Terrific recipe, served with homemade salsa and guac. Also used fat free sour cream. Thanks for a keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      Loved these! I omitted the soy beans and used a vegan cheese sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      These were really good. I used a pack of veggie ground round to replace the refried beans and black soybeans. Also left out the avocado. My 9 year old loved it too. Served with salsa and yogurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      I almost hate to review this recipe because I had to work with what I had, since I'm the sole vegetarian in the family & couldn't have a huge amt of leftovers! I used leftover black beans from Basic Black Beans, brown rice & mushrooms; added more cumin & chili powder for spice. I didn't use the refried beans; black beans were enough for me. I thought the recipe was amazing! However, the filling was too hot (temperature-wise) so made it hard to bite through; next time I may try 350 degrees! I loved the cheese on top. Served with fat free sour cream. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      These were great! I made half with leftover pork and half as written. Great for a party b/c they did make a ton!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Fabulous! We make these regularly now. My husband loves them & will very happily eat the filling from a bowl if we run out of tortillas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      This is very good and so easy to make. It makes a lot, but the leftovers are great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      These were very good. I used medium size tortillas and got 32. I fixed six for lunch and froze the rest after I made them up. I'm sure they will be just as good thawed and baked later, if not even better. My DH liked them also - don't think he even noticed there was no meat. Thanks for a great receipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Vegetarian Chimichangas (Warm or Cold)

    Serving Size: 1 (243 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 250.0
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    35%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 24.5 mg
    8%
    Sodium 582.1 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
    24%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetarian refried beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites