Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2004

      Derf this is so tasty and so easy to do.. I like it baked extra long so it gets crunchy crisp. Simple easy recipe that adds so much flavor as a side dish. Love your recipes- Thanks Derf for yet another winner — posted Mar 26, 2004,3 members found this helpful Added comments - I made this today as part of a special birthday luncheon everyone LOVED it thanks Derf your recipes are the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2004

      These tomatoes were absolutely delicious. I cut the recipe in half, but wish I hadn't, because I'm sure they would taste just as good leftover. This is a great change of pace side dish that I'll be making often. Thanks Derf

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      The flavor of broiled tomatoes without the fuss of everything fallowing off the top! Cut the recipe in half and it worked out great, 2 slices of bread gave me just the right amount of fresh bread crumbs. Thanks for the easy and tasty post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      This was very good. Had an abundance of tomatoes & this hit the spot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      It was wonderful! I used fresh parsley and basil in the breadcrumb mix. The breadcrumbs were from the can and I used basil infused oil. I added some asparagus next to the tomatoes half way through the baking and shaved some parm. reg. cheese on top and it was great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      I'm not a big fan of bread crumb toppings but DD picked this recipe and she was the cook that night. I didn't have fresh breadcrumbs and we were unsure if we were to make our own so we used regular store bought crumbs which is fairly fine. Next day we used the leftovers with some fried ground hamburger, diced yellow squash, onions, roasted garlic and leftover tomato sauce for a quick lazy stuffed zucchinni dish (we made it up!) and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      DELICIOUS!! I only had Heinz tomatoes so I used them. I put 4 slices fresh bread in food processor to make crumbs.Then I minced the parsley, garlic & a few basil leaves in the processor, added that to the bread crumbs along with the remaining oil,salt & pepper. I added fresh grated parmesan at the end. It smelled and tasted wonderful. Thanks Derf

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      I thought that this dish would be really good - it smelled heavenly throughout the cooking time. However, I felt there were too many bread crumbs and it just didn't taste good to me when it was done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2006

      Really great side dish! You will definetely taste the olive oil, but it is so good! Worth the wait of baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      This was and easy and tasty sidedish to simple broiled fish. I did cut back on the oil and couldn't help but add fresh basil to the breadcrumb mixture. Thank you Derf for sharing the recipe. It is one I am sure to return to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      I used multi-colored heirloom tomatoes, so the finished product was just beautiful. I thought there was too many breadcrumbs, but it worked out to be just right because they soaked up a lot of juices. In a way, it was like having a bit of starch in your vegetable, and I had chosen not to server a starch because we were having a rich steak and mushroom sauce (#126261) entree. This was a perfect accompaniment because the cooked tomato flavor was so bright. I would definitely serve this at a dinner party, because it is unusual and lovely. Looks and tastes spectacular and yet is very easy! Really would be good all year long. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      YUM! I was looking for a side dish and found this recipe, and immediately fell into a despair as I only had 3 tomatoes ... I did let that stop me, and just worked with what I had, didn't have parsley, so used basil, which works wonderfully with tomato. My 6yo son, who hates tomatoes even ate this, because the tomatoes were cooked. I baked the tomatoes in halves about 4 hours before they were needed, so I just had to put the breadcrumbs on top, and pop in the oven til they were golden, omitted the cheese, because I don't like cheese with tomatoes, and a wonderful side dish was had by all! Thanks for sharing :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2005

      This is an absolute gem of a recipe, and so simple. I could have eaten the whole pan by myself, and will double the recipe next time so I can have leftovers.Please do only use garden fresh tomatoes in this as the pink ones at the stores would not do it justice. The tomatoes get a richness from the baking that is scrumptious, I was scraping up the browned bits and juice with a spoon as my daughter was trying to wash the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2004

      Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2004

      These were so delicious I could have made a meal out of them. I halved the recipe for two of us but followed to a T other than that. Garlicky, crunchy topping on top is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2004

      Fabulous! I added a tablespoon of fresh chopped lovage from our herb garden to the bread crumb mix. I did omit the cheese as I was serving this with Mirj's Spinach and Feta Pie. But I am sure that it is equally good with the parmesan. An easy and delicous throw together recipe. Thank you! CG P.S. Ate the leftovers for breakfast ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (173 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 380.6
     
    Calories from Fat 165
    43%
    Total Fat 18.3 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 5.5 mg
    1%
    Sodium 788.8 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 10.6 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites