Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2013

    • on October 03, 2009

      This is a wonderful, easy and delicious side. I followed the advice of some and put some minced garlic and onion to the top of the tomatoe before adding the bread crumbs and parmesan cheese which I mixed a little melted butter. Yummo! Fixed this along with stuffed bell peppers and broccoli. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      I've been serving these for years because me family just loves them. This time I added a bit of melted butter (could also use EVOO) some salt and pepper and substituted dill for the thyme because we served them with fresh cod - YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      I added some finely chopped onion and minced garlic. I just sprinkled it on before the bread crumbs. Super easy and super tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      This was so yummy! I left out the breadcrumbs & added a bit of garlic salt & basil & I followed the other posters ideas about the olive oil. I'll definitely be making these delicious tomatoes again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      This was sooo good! I followed other posters ideas and put on olive oil, garlic salt, a tiny bit of sugar and salt and pepper. This was excellent! And so easy to make and quick cooking! Thanks for posting Pixie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      You definitely should at least like tomatoes if you try this recipe...and I LOVE tomatoes! I drizzle with olive oil first, then add the rest. A dash of garlic powder and a bit of pepper doesn't hurt, either. SO delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      we fond this to be a very good side dish..very different from the norm and enjoyed it a lot..Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      im not a fan of tamotoes.so it wasnt very appealing to me.i also added a bit of sweetener with the breadcrumbs. and i think it didnt taste very nice cause i use those plastic tasting ones you get frm supermarkets

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      This really helped me use up all the tomatoes this year. I did add some salt and pepper, out of habit. I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      These made an excellent side dish for dinner tonight. It's always nice to have something a little different! Very simple to prepare...we used dried basil instead of thyme and italian style breadcrumbs. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      Awesome with those big home-grown tomatoes!! I used thyme and oregano. Terrific side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2005

      We liked this a lot. I added a touch of salt and drizzled with a high quality olive oil before baking and at the end of the cooking time, I put the oven on broil to just brown the tops. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2005

      This was so great for a really healthy dish. I have to admit that I missed the fat (like mixing the bread crumbs with butter, or drizzling with olive oil), but if you're a tomato lover, you'll love this! Thanks for the recipe Fluffy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2004

      Wonderful and quick side dish! I traded the thyme for a bit of oregano and it was a big success for company coming to dinner. Thanks Fluffy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2004

      Wonderful, easy recipe. Definitely use fully ripe tomatoes. These would be great too topped with mozzarella cheese as Renegade's husband suggested and maybe omit the thyme and use Italian breadcrumbs. But these are delicious as is. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2004

      Very refreshing morning breakfast starter. The thyme flavour went right through the tomatoes. Easy to make and a family keeper for us. Thanks for posting Fluffy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2003

      I made these tonight to go with Merlot's Breakfast casserole and they were excellent! Wow.. so easy and so tasty too! I didn't change a thing and can tell you I will be making this again! Thanks Fluffy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2003

      Hey, this gets 5 stars from me simply by ease in preparing a tomato recipe.... (I have a bumper crop of extra tomatoes this year!) Let me first say that I am not a tomato-eating sort of person. But I love growing them, and my husband loves tomatoes. I served this dish tonight. My husband loved it, but his input was: Next time, add more cheese (perhaps mozarella or swiss?). He also said that crumbled bacon bits would be a super boost...His last word: the very best tasting of these baked tomatoes were the ones that were the ripest. Thanks, fluffy, for a great tomato recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (64 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 11.1
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    67%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites