13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My whole family (including kids!) really liked this. I was very doubtful as it went together though. I thought I had sherry but didn't, and used vermouth instead. It worked really well as a substitute. Will try it with sherry next time though. I used sliced baby bellas rather than dicing a large portabella. Other than that, I followed the recipe eactly. I used the full amount of tarragon, and it really only added a mild flavor. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bzsoccermom June 22, 2010

Sorry to say this recipe didn't do it for us. Was very bland IMHO. Followed directions exactly except didn't use tarragon cuz I don't like it, but subbed italian seasoning. Maybe the tarragon is the secret ingredient that makes the difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janni402 January 11, 2009

Extremely easy, different and delicious. Making it again this week!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryMama December 01, 2008

To be perfectly honest, this doesn't sound that interesting on paper. However, after reading the other positive reviews here, I took the plunge and made this dish. The tilapia definitely has a very mild flavor, which leads to a somewhat bland flavor, but the peppers more than make up for it. I didn't have any tarragon or sherry on hand (expensive ingredients for a college student), so I made it with just the vegetables and tilapia. Highly recommended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baba Ganoush September 10, 2008

This was wonderful! I used 1/2 lb. of regular mushrooms, since my grocer didn't have any portobellos, and a whole orange pepper cut into strips. The mild fish and the sweet pepper compliment each other beautifully. I served it with evelyn/athens' Spicy Oven Fries. I will definitely make this dish again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irmgard May 23, 2006

My hubby and I are not big fish eaters but are trying to change that for health reasons. I tried this recipe because I have been interested in trying Tilapia and the picture made it look very appetizing. It was fairly easy to prepare and my hubby enjoyed cutting and sauteing the veggies. As the picture shows, this dish is very colorful and pleasing to the eye but I thought the taste was a bit bland. I know this is a very mild fish though and therefore supposed to be light in flavor. I enjoyed the texture of the fish and the taste of the veggies as well as the health benefits of both. Thanks for taking the time to share your recipe with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j-beena May 08, 2006

This is a great recipe for fish and chicken too. My sister cannot eat seafood so I made fish in one dish and chicken in another. The chicken was wonderful too. I did have to use regular mushrooms because I didn't have portabello on hand. Thanks for posting a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Millie L. April 27, 2006

I used a Basa filet and subbed red & Green peppers for the yellow with ordinary mushrooms. Very nice flavor, moist and very eye appealing Thanks Papergoddess for posting this enjoyable fish recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy March 20, 2006

Very enjoyable and easy. I used regular mushrooms and omitted the salt, dietary resons. DH first question was "is this lobster?". Definately a keeper. Thanks Papergoddess.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in NH March 12, 2006

This is by far the best tilapia recipe I've found in terms of taste. Thank you for posting it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elove5683 February 01, 2006
Baked Tilapia With Veggies, Herbs, and Wine