Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Tilapia With Lots of Spice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Tilapia With Lots of Spice

    Average Rating:

    224 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 224

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2010

      This recipe is great except it's WAY TOO SALTY!!!!! I'm still going to give it four stars, because I will try making it again with less than half the amount of salt the recipe calls for. I really hope people come across my comment or others before the make this for dinner, because it's VERY SALTY!!! Other than that, the spice blend creates a great flavor for the tilapia :) YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      This could have been a really good seasoning blend, however it turned out WAY too salty for my taste (and I love salt)... so much so that the tilapia went straight into the trash. Next time I will try with a lot less salt...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      AWESOME recipe! Because of all the comments, I reduced the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. I also did as someone suggested to dip the fish in egg (after seasoning with 4 tsp. seasoning) and then covering with bread crumbs. We loved the chopped green onions in this! This recipe is keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      This is a great tilapia recipe and very easy to make. The only issue I had was that the bread crumb mixture didn't stick to the fish very well, especially when turning in the oven. I wonder if skipping the olive oil step and dipping the fish in a beaten egg first would've been easier. We'll try that next time. But, the flavor was delicious - great for a low fat dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      Delicious! I have to admit, I made this recipe my own. I used cod fillets and I didn't use any bread crumbs. I also halved the amount of cumin according to what others had said about it being over powering. The amount of each spice was perfect! So I also just used half of the recipe for 4 cod fillets because I didn't want the spices to over power the fish. With that amount they didn't over power it at all, it was just perfect! Thank you for this great seasoning mixture!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      I made this the first time with the breadcrumbs and then again last night without the breadcrumbs - both were amazing, I actually liked it without the bread crumbs a little better. I just brushed some olive oil on the fillets and then sprinkled very generously with the spices - Amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      This was terrific! I halved the recipe. Since my filets were thin, it only took 10 minutes to bake. I loved the flavor. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      Delicious! I can't believe how flavorfull this was...and healthy. I am so pleased to have a "go-to" recipe for a quick week night dinner. I used cod instead of tilapia and I served it with steamed broccoli and wild rice. Absolutely yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      I love this recipe. The flavor is great and the fish very easy to prepare. I sprayed the fish with butter flavored non-stick spray before applying the breadcrumbs. It helped it stick (thanks, Barb Gertz, for the tip). My 5 year old ate an entire piece. I will try this with cod or another white fish. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      This was quite tasty; however, I had a hard time getting the seasoning to adhere and had to coat the fish in some beaten egg first, otherwise it would have been too dry. The seasonings were quite good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Great flavor. It does remind me a little of shake and bake. I only put the spice and bread crumbs on one side of the fish and baked on parchment paper for 12 mins. Thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2004

      Great recipe, We love Tilapia I have a couple of recipes that I use and will add this one to make often. Dh really liked it. It doesn't mention what to do with the olive oil,So I didn't use it. I used release foil I did spray it with non-stick spray, I also sprayed the coating on the fish with pam this makes it stick really good therefore you can use more of the coating mix. The baking time is about right. We really enjoyed this fish and I will be making it again, Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2014

      I didn't use the salt, or the bread crumbs. I basically used the spice mix as a dry rub, and let the filets sit in the fridge for several hours. Then sprayed baking dish, added filets, drizzled with olive oil, and proceeded. Fantastic spice blend that will find it's way into other recipes. Thanks for the keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      Delicious, and flexible! I used a little less salt, and instead of italian seasoning (which I didn't have) I added a bit of jamaican jerk seasoning. Everyone LOVED it. Be careful about cooking times as they depend on the thickness of your fish. Mine took only 9 minutes total.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      This is my new favorite tilapia recipe. I didn't use the breadcrumbs - just rubbed a little olive oil on the fish and sprinkled on the spice mix. For my taste, the spices were perfect - not too salty, not too much cumin or anything else. Just perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      Very healthy but I also reduced the amount of salt for this recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      4 stars because it itoo salty. definitely reduce salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      This was really easy and tasty! I made exactly as is and the fish came out perfect. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2012

      Thanks for a great recipe. Don't let the number of ingredients scare you off from this tasty dish. It is so easy. My only change was to lower the salt and next time I would probably use a salt alternative to lower the sodium even further but the taste was perfect other than I would also probably add some Cajun Seasoning to it to kick it up a bit. I was out of Green Onions so I used dried Chives and it worked fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      Excellent recipe and wonderful spice mix. The whole family marveled at the explosion of flavors. I added some fresh herbs from the garden, as well, but stuck to the recipe otherwise. Like some others here, we also found it a bit too salty, so won't be adding more than half of that next time. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Tilapia With Lots of Spice

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 202.3
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    28%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 56.7 mg
    18%
    Sodium 743.1 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 25.1 g
    50%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes