225 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is great except it's WAY TOO SALTY!!!!! I'm still going to give it four stars, because I will try making it again with less than half the amount of salt the recipe calls for. I really hope people come across my comment or others before the make this for dinner, because it's VERY SALTY!!! Other than that, the spice blend creates a great flavor for the tilapia :) YUM!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilovefooood November 28, 2010

This could have been a really good seasoning blend, however it turned out WAY too salty for my taste (and I love salt)... so much so that the tilapia went straight into the trash. Next time I will try with a lot less salt...

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GetU4ThatCoconut May 26, 2010

AWESOME recipe! Because of all the comments, I reduced the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. I also did as someone suggested to dip the fish in egg (after seasoning with 4 tsp. seasoning) and then covering with bread crumbs. We loved the chopped green onions in this! This recipe is keeper for sure!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swankypup January 15, 2012

This is a great tilapia recipe and very easy to make. The only issue I had was that the bread crumb mixture didn't stick to the fish very well, especially when turning in the oven. I wonder if skipping the olive oil step and dipping the fish in a beaten egg first would've been easier. We'll try that next time. But, the flavor was delicious - great for a low fat dinner.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommyToTwo April 25, 2010

Delicious! I have to admit, I made this recipe my own. I used cod fillets and I didn't use any bread crumbs. I also halved the amount of cumin according to what others had said about it being over powering. The amount of each spice was perfect! So I also just used half of the recipe for 4 cod fillets because I didn't want the spices to over power the fish. With that amount they didn't over power it at all, it was just perfect! Thank you for this great seasoning mixture!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannah234 October 01, 2008

I made this the first time with the breadcrumbs and then again last night without the breadcrumbs - both were amazing, I actually liked it without the bread crumbs a little better. I just brushed some olive oil on the fillets and then sprinkled very generously with the spices - Amazing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DawnCafaro June 10, 2008

This was terrific! I halved the recipe. Since my filets were thin, it only took 10 minutes to bake. I loved the flavor. Definitely a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reddyrat April 21, 2008

Delicious! I can't believe how flavorfull this was...and healthy. I am so pleased to have a "go-to" recipe for a quick week night dinner. I used cod instead of tilapia and I served it with steamed broccoli and wild rice. Absolutely yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweetslover May 11, 2010

I love this recipe. The flavor is great and the fish very easy to prepare. I sprayed the fish with butter flavored non-stick spray before applying the breadcrumbs. It helped it stick (thanks, Barb Gertz, for the tip). My 5 year old ate an entire piece. I will try this with cod or another white fish. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michael Wodnicki March 17, 2010

This was quite tasty; however, I had a hard time getting the seasoning to adhere and had to coat the fish in some beaten egg first, otherwise it would have been too dry. The seasonings were quite good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! February 09, 2010
Baked Tilapia With Lots of Spice