21 Reviews

VERY GOOD! But unfortunately, I forgot the salt, pepper, and paprika. So don't do that and you will probably end up with a 5 star dish. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
freakingdork November 23, 2008

We really enjoyed this. You do taste the nutmeg. So if you don't care for it I would leave it out. Next time I think I would use fresh crab meat over the can. That way you would get more chunks and better flavor. This is a must try. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas July 05, 2008

This was a very good dish. Love that crab! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn January 06, 2015

I thought this was absolutely delish. Better yet, so did the BF! Although I was missing a couple of the ingredients (sherry, as we don't cook with wine, and crab), I could see that the basic cream/cheese sauce would be amenable to practically anything. I didn't have crab meat of any sort in the house, so I skipped that addition entirely (however, I've now decided to make a point of keeping some canned fish in the pantry).The BF doesn't care much for nutmeg, so I substituted red curry powder, and I was very pleased to find that the spices do not overpower the fish flavor. I will definitely be making this one again. The recipe is manageable. The preparations are simple, and it makes for a quick but tasty main dish. Thank you, poo 235!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThenasMommy May 11, 2014

This one is a keeper! I omitted the nutmeg as some of the other reviewers did and added a little extra milk to thin out the sauce. I will make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mermaid1957 March 27, 2013

Delicious ! I made the recipe as directed using fresh cod. The sherry is the star of the dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac January 10, 2013

This was absolutely delicious. The only thing that I did differently was added extra crab meat and opted out of using the sherry after seeing some of the other reviewers comments. The fondue sauce was nice and creamy without being overwhelming. I also think that since we used extra crab is was awesome to take a bit of the tilapia and the sauce and be able to taste the crab and still be able to taste the fish. We had this with a side of rice and a salad. Again... so very very delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
niecey1015 January 07, 2013

Poo, this was so good! Tasted decadent but no guilt eating it. I didn't have crab so I doubled the sauce and reserved some and added it with shrimp halfway through. Left out the nutmeg and added a minced jalapeno to the sauce which added a nice heat and also roasted some broccoli to have with it. I made it Sunday night and had leftovers to bring to work the next day...just so delicious, I'm already craving it again! Thanks for such a good recipe, can't wait to try it with crab!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingin7 July 16, 2010

My bf and I thought that this was superb. We just loved the fondue sauce. This is definately gonna be my fav tilapia recipe. It definately has the presentation from going to a quality restaurant. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
8-BALL GIRL October 21, 2009

Very good & easy to make. My whole family really enjoyed it. The only thing that I would do next time is add some freshly squeezed lemon on top. Thank you for posting such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frugal chef March 15, 2009
Baked Tilapia W/ Fondue Sauce and Crab