14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

After reading all the great reviews I tried it..I followed the recipe veggies and all, and it did have a nice taste but it never got golden brown ..way to mushy for me

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
859346 March 28, 2012

This recepie is easy to make and ended up tasting delicious! I cut the receipe in half as I only was using 2 tilapia fillets. I did not have any of the "Tony Creole seasoning" so I looked up a receipe online for creole seasoning and made the mix of several spices. I used 2 tsp of the seasoning mix for half- recipie, but next time I think I would use more, something like 2 tbsp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amymcdonald December 02, 2009

Excellent! Tasted like it came from a restaurant. I chopped up some sun dried tomatoes and shallots and put over the fish which gave it even more flavor. It would be great with some sauteed vegetables.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bellaonelove August 19, 2008

This was amazing!! I loved the jalapeño flavor!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fiera6 April 09, 2008

This is a great recipe everyone loved! Of course because my husband and kids are very particular about what they eat, we left out the vegetables and the creole seasoning. But they weren't required to make great fish. Thanks for the recipe! We plan on making this one of our faves!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wyzor2872 March 23, 2008

This was absolutely amazing. I'm getting ready to make it a second time now, and I had forgot to add it to my favorites! It was so good I spent 45 minutes going through my IE history looking for it. I confess, I used the canned kind of parm, but shredded instead of grated...it was still delicious. We did leave all of the veggies off the top, as I don't like mushrooms, some of the kids don't like jalapenos, and it would just look funny with only onions. Was still the best baked tilapia I'd ever had. Thank you so much Tmisen! PS...Printing this time!!! *update* I am now on a low-cal diet, and this recipe is wonderfully adaptable. Sprinkle the creole seasoning directly on the filet, followed by grated parm then a few breadcrumbs (leave the butter off). In ten minutes you have a delicious and healthy lunch with less than 150 calories (per 4oz filet). Just another reason for five stars tmisen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy October 13, 2007

I fixed this last night and had rave reviews of DH. I substituted light butter and used only 1/4 cup, cutting the fat grams in half. I omitted the onions, and used 2 jalapenos seeded and chopped. Since I only cooked two filets, I reduced the breadcrumbs to 1/2 a cup, the parmesan cheese to 2 Tbsp. and 4 mushrooms. This was a perfect balance of everything. Thanks for a great flavorful and delicious recipe. I will definitely make again and again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SnoBunny August 17, 2007

The fish was good. It cooked in less than half the time of what the recipe states. I used reduced fat buttermilk instead of the butter and twice as many mushrooms. But the jalapeno is what makes this recipe! I also recommend extra lemon at the table.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito June 26, 2007

This was the best tilapia we've ever had. I had 7 fillets and this was just right. I used plain breadcrumbs and seasoned them w/Old Bay, salt and pepper, and some Montreal Chicken seasoning. I did use canned parmesan cheese and it was still fantastic. The jalapeno is the secret ingredient - so glad I didn't leave it out. All the flavors permeated the fish and made it taste fantastic! I did omit the mushrooms due to personal preference, and after uncovering it in the oven, turned the oven up to 375 since the fish wasn't getting done as quickly as I wanted it to. Thanks very much for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Musical Joy September 07, 2006
Baked Tilapia