22 Reviews

These are terrific! The only thing I did differently was to wrap each in foil to avoid a mess. I cooked 2 large sweet potatoes and 2 large white potatoes this way and it took 4 hours on low for them to be perfectly "baked". Thanks!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmoochTheCook March 12, 2009

I love making sweet potatoes this way. Like the other reviewer, I wrap them in foil. Two big potatoes cook in about 4 hours on high.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vinca July 22, 2012

I'm not going to rate this with stars because I think I messed up. I only cooked 2 sweet potatoes but I had trouble getting them done. I guess they were bigger than I realized so I had to finish them in the oven. I'll definitely make this again and rate it with stars because I love the no mess cooking for sweet potatoes. 6-2-11: I made these again and cooked them longer and of course, this is a 5 star!! Loved the easy clean up and not turning the oven on. The ONLY way I'll make baked sweet potatoes from now on. Thanks!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty June 20, 2011

Wow! What an easy, no-fail way to make sweet potatoes! My whole family loved it. I've done this several times now since finding this recipe and I will always do my sweet potatoes this way from now on. No wasting foil... and the crockpot barely even gets dirty... what a bonus! Thanks!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Ann D May 11, 2009

Does it get any easier than this? I don't think so. Never even thought about doing it but so glad I found your recipe. Just made 2 potatoes but during the holidays that crock pot will be packed. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SB6 October 05, 2010

This is a seriously awesome way to cook sweet potatoes! It's so much easier than sticking them in the oven!! They came out perfect and were so delicious! This is how I will make them from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly #5 March 09, 2010

This was by far the easiest way to cook sweet potatoes! I had 3 huge ones that I cooked on low for a little over 4 hours and they turned out perfect. Clean up was a breeze compared to the oven!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy in Washington March 02, 2010

Absolutely the best way to prepare sweet potatoes! So easy and delicious! I baked 3 huge ones this morning and it took 4 1/2 hours. They were perfect by lunchtime!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buffettfanz January 26, 2010

so easy and turns out great every time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krisdecam November 26, 2009

Wonderful way to make sweet potatoes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joecountry350 June 24, 2009
Baked Sweet Potatoes from a Crock Pot