18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The end result of this recipe is a 5 star - I will do it again & again However the instructions are so vague I took away 1 star. I baked them in a 350f oven for 1 hour 15 minutes and they were perfect. The potato fell out of the skin easily. The flavor from the butter that you rub on the skin seems to reach through to the potato itself. Thanks gina for an excellent recipe

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy July 02, 2005

So yummy! I loved these. Don't know if the butter made a big difference, so may omit that next time. Turned out so creamy and delicious! I love sweet potatoes with plain yogurt - makes for a delicious and healthy treat.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F June 22, 2010

I used butter cooking spray to save on fat and it kept the skin from drying out. I baked large potatoes for 1 3/4 hours. This recipe proves simple is best.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea January 09, 2008

I used 3 fairly large sweet potatoes sprayed with Pam and baked at 350 for 1 hour and they were perfect! Will definitely use this technique again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crosbie09 August 06, 2011

I thought this was so easy to make! I baked three medium to large sweet potatoes a couple of nights ago. I also don't know what the butter did, but the skin was so incredibly soft. I baked them at 400 degrees in a convection oven since that's the temperature I was using for other dishes. I left them in for about an hour, but they were probably ready sooner. I much prefer this simple recipe over anything that uses sweeteners with their sweet potatoes. They're sweet enough as is.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wyndechyme April 22, 2011

Sorry I didn't know this recipe was out there! Sweet potatoes are one of my favorite healthy side dishes, especially when they don't have a lot of unnecessary gooey stuff added. I use Brummel & Brown instead of butter, line the sheet pan with foil for easy clean up in case sticky leaks occur, and bake at 400 for about an hour. If cooking just for me, I simply lay a flat foil square folded up around the edges directly on the oven rack and place the sweet potato on top of it. After baking, I wrap the sweet potato with the foil until dinner is ready. Skin and all, it's sheer heaven!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ninja May 28, 2008

Two ingredients! It can't get much easier than this! The potatoes I used were on the small/medium side and i kept them in the oven for about an hour. The finished product was terrific! The flesh of the potatoes was nice and moist and not all dried out (like it usually is when I bake them). I like my sweet potatoes without anything added. This will be the way I make sweet potatoes from nowon! Thank you for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagopm March 18, 2008

These were good and definitely easy. Plain and baked is the only way the I like sweet potatoes. I had never rubbed the butter on the outside, though. This added a nice flavor. I used some smaller medium sized sweet potatoes and I baked them for about an hour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Schellies October 11, 2006

I was in a hurry, so I microwaved the potatoes (2 minutes and 50 seconds and then flipped them over and did another 2 minutes and 50 seconds).

Then I rubbed the potatoes with a little butter, and put them on foil on a cookie sheet. I baked them in my convection oven at 350 for about an hour, but I think they would have been perfectly acceptable at 45 minutes or so.

As it was, they were amazing. The flesh was so creamy, but the skins weren't tough or dried out. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juniperwoman April 05, 2012

Who knew that they could be so easy AND delicious. I have loved them for years at the steak houses, but now I have made my own and will never get them there again. I was afraid my husband would not like them, but he says 93 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
choppie1 September 05, 2011
Baked Sweet Potatoes