Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Sweet Potato Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Sweet Potato

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on April 04, 2003

      One lil' suggestion, Try brown sugar instead of granulated sugar with the sweet potatoes. We enjoy ours this way and would never go back to granulated sugar. *smiles*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      Don't forget to prick the sweet potatoes a few times all over with a fork. I also put a piece of aluminum foil under each sweet potato, so that the sugar (that oozes out as the potatoes cook) doesn't drip on the racks or on the bottom of the oven and burn. (Why make more work for yourself?) Other than those "changes", this recipe is dynamite for baked sweet potatoes! Thanks, Tish, for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2003

      Made these for thanksgiving,they were a great hit,next time I will try brown sugar these are a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      This idea is typical and a good one to use for sweet potatoes.. my complaints here is #1 yams are not sweet potatoes and do have a different taste. #2 1/8 cup of butter per person is ridiculously high. I use no sugar (it's a sweet potato..) I add cinnamon and nutmeg both to the mixture and 1 tbsp whipped butter per person.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2003

      These turned out perfect, to say the least! What an easy recipe to follow and fix...I did use plain ole yams, and not the garnets...(just what I happened to get at the store)...I omitted the cinnamon sugar mix, and used my pecan praline sauce over them instead...YUM! Have never baked yams for Thanksgiving before, but, these were a big hit...Will be making them this way again, thanks to you, Tish... Appreciate you sharing...Laudee

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2003

      Thank you for the perfect instructions on baking the sweet potatoes! They baked up just right. My husband loves the cinnamon sugar and butter, but I was very happy with my perfectly cooked potato and just a little fresh ground pepper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2003

      I too use brown sugar and it is delicious. I have just gotten into the habit of microwaving potatoes. Just wrap in plastic wrap, ( don't pierce) and micro 6 minutes per potato. Delicious. My local supermarket sells them pre-wrapped for .69 each and this is where I got the idea to do it myself.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2013

      Excellent. I made a few changes, used Brown Sugar and 1 teaspoon of butter. Then topped it off with a couple of Marshmellows and put it back in the oven for 5 min. Heaven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      These came out perfect!! Used brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      I agree with "FattyFat's" suggestions, otherwise, great recipe! Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2011

      I had a sweet potato I wanted to bake but did not remember how to cook. You'r recipe instructions were very helpful. I baked mine in a toaster oven for the full 75 minutes at the specified temperature. The potato was the best I ever made. The potato was edible down to the very fiber of the inside of the outter peeling. I never had such edible yield from a sweet potato before. I only added butter to my potato, that was all that was needed to make this truly delicious. Tish, thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      Turned out perfectly! And thanks for the reminder from a previous reviewer about putting down foil under the sweet potatoes... great tip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      Holy moly, this was amazing. The granulated sugar is fine, too; I was out of brown sugar so I made it with granulated, and it was fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      Absolutely loved this one! So simple to make! Never considered baking for 75 mins but it worked! Thanks Tish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      Fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      I used brown sugar and light butter :) Divine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      I guess I never cooked these long enough before. Caramelizing really adds to the sweetness. Great recipe, they are delicious even without the topping!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      This is an easy recipe. Very tasteful. I did used brown sugar instead of granulated, a little numeg and then the cinnamon and of course the butter. I used Smart Choice instead of butter. Great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2010

      I love sweet potatoes and yams (they are different) and tried this recipe with both. The sweet potato turned out much better. Very delicious, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      Simple recipe that yields yummy results. I used honey instead of sugar and added cinnamon to taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Sweet Potato

    Serving Size: 1 (159 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 286.1
     
    Calories from Fat 138
    48%
    Total Fat 15.3 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 41.3 mg
    13%
    Sodium 227.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 14.9 g
    59%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes