Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Stuffed Pasta Shells Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Stuffed Pasta Shells

    Average Rating:

    106 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 106

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2010

      I think this recipe is AWESOME, with just a couple minor modifications (which is why I gave a 4 instead of 5). 1--I used 10 oz of shredded mozz cheese rather than measuring in cups, which seems arbitrary to me. This amount was perfect. 2--4 large eggs was way too much. My husband said it was almost like eating scrambled eggs & I agree. Next time I will use 2 large eggs. 3--8 oz spaghetti sauce was way too little. I used 26 oz of chunky homemade sauce and it was perfect. 4--salt & pepper is a must in every recipe. I used 1 tsp salt. Maybe not needed if using jarred sauce, but the cheese filling is not salted otherwise. 1 tsp of pepper seems excessive; I used maybe 1/2 tsp of fresh ground. I really liked that the amount of cheese mixture filled the shells perfectly, and the filled shells filled the pan perfectly. And the taste was spectacular!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

      This recipe is nearly the same as what we have used for the last 25 years in our restaurant. The minor differences are we use 2 eggs and 2 egg yolks, we add a pinch of nutmeg and we use our own meat based sauce...other than that this is identical. Since it is one of the dishes that is most popular, we make this in 20 lb batches of filling. We also do this same recipe with spinach and with spinach and sausage. We use browned hot Italian sausage and squeezed cooked spinach and add a little of each to the filling but the original Cheese only is still the most popular.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      This was really yummy. I added fresh cooked and chopped spinach to mine, but otherwise cooked it as stated in the recipe. I used a large ziploc bag with the corner cut off to squeeze the filling into each shell. This presented beautifully and was hard to stop eating them. They are even very good as leftovers. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2011

      These were simply amazing, and this is coming from a person who doesn't like ricotta cheese! I only slightly modifed the recipe (2 eggs, 2 tsp garlic powder, 1 Tbsp fresh minced garlic, 1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, 2 bottles spaghetti sauce). The results could not have been better. This recipe is a keeper and I can't wait to make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      Oh my gosh! We loved it! I did mix 1/2 and 1/2 with ricotta and cottage cheese. Next time I will use all ricotta because it was a little wet for my taste...But...that being said. The flavor is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      FANTASTIC!! This is the best pasta dish I have ever had or made. I used 1 lb. cottage cheese to replace one of the lbs. of ricotta the recipe calls for (because that's what I had on hand) and it turned out amazing. I also used leftover shredded cheddar cheese and this again didn't seem to alter the recipe. This definitely serves 10 people generous portions. Thanks Little Bee! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      Delicious recipe. My very picky step-son really likes this recipe. When we were out to eat one night he got stuffed shells and he said "Yours are better." Whoohoo! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      Fantastic recipe. I've made it a dozen times and always get compliments. Definitely a favorite meal at my house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      This was delicious - great recipe! I halved it & it was perfect. I made my own tomato/pasta sauce, but the cheese filling for the shells turned out just how I hoped it would - delicate/light and moist (not iffy at all, as some have commented on this/similar recipes). I will make this again...it looks a little fancier than many pasta recipe; looks like it's more effort than it really is. Thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      Very delicious is an understatement! I just made some minor adjustments like adding spinach and used fresh garlic and parsley. People have asked for me to share the recipe! Love it, thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      I have been searching for a good stuffed shells recipe to try. I like how this recipe doesn't require that the shells rest in a casserole dish full of sauce. This recipe takes just the right amount of ingredients, specifically the sauce and the way the shells are placed in the dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      This was easy to put together.Great pasta dish. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      A very good recipe.
      I did replace 1 lb of the ricotta for 1 lb of browned italian sausage. My girlfriend is a big meat lover and it was just the right amount of meat without over-powering the rest of the stuffing.

      The seasoning for the stuffing is great though and really blended well. Just the right amount of garlic and pepper along with the three cheeses, good porportions. I wouldn't add salt myself, since you get that in the cheeses.
      (Note: I only had extra large eggs so I had to use 3 of them instead of four and it worked fine)
      Nice and simple instructions to follow as well.

      If you want to have big helpings to serve to people as well as make it easier to stuff the noodles, Manicotti instead of shells works great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      WHAT A DELICIOUS BASIC RECIPE! You can alter this recipe basically any way that you'd like, to fit whatever mood you are in. I added spinach and basil to the ricotta stuffing, and made the "sauce" super meaty since we don't really care for too much. 8 oz of sauce is DEFINITELY not enough- I made 28oz and it was just right.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      I made this for supper the other night and it was enjoyed by all. I did have to use manicotti shells as my local grocery didn't carry the large shells. I will look elsewhere for next time but it didn't change the flavor any. I did all a 1/2 lb. of hamburger to the sauce for added flavor, but otherwise followed your recipe. I served this with garlic bread and a salad, delicious meal. Thank you for sharing this with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      Yummy! I made a few changes: added cooked italian sausage added baby spinach + nutmeg omitted parsley (didn't have it) used more sauce otherwise made as written - everyone gobbled it up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      These turned out great. Very simple recipe. I made a pie plate full of these for my husband and I and another for my parents. I even froze another 10 to be used at a later time. My husband had 2nds...and 3rds! (not typical!) I took the suggestion from another review and put the ricotta filling in a pastry bag for easy filling. It made it so easy. Great recipe!! Will make often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      Great pasta dish! I added a package of well-drained chopped spinach to the cheese mixture and my boyfriend and I loved it! I also used fresh, chopped garlic instead of the powder and ended up needing more than double the sauce called for to cover the shells. We like some sauce with our meals to dip bread in. This is easy and yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      LOVE this recipe! I've been making stuffed shells for the past 20 years, and after floating from one recipe to the next, I've "hit a home run" and found a staple, says my husband. The consistency of the cheese filling is really what does it for me. Too many times in the past, shells come out soupy or too heavy/rich/creamy. The only changes I made: adding real garlic (3 tsp. crushed), a pinch of nutmeg, and 2 cups of mozzarella in the mix with another 2 cups on top. Thanks for this fab recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Brought to a Halloween Party and it went over real well! Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Stuffed Pasta Shells

    Serving Size: 1 (182 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 411.7
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    44%
    Total Fat 20.5 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 11.9 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 140.9 mg
    46%
    Sodium 398.9 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 24.5 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites