Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Steak

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2003

      Wow Chia, another great recipe. The steak was so tender and tasty. Love Worcestershire sauce, I added a little dried onion soup mix also, plus onions. Gravy was great over mashed potatoes. Dh loved it. Great recipe for a cheaper cut of steak and so easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2003

      chia....wonderful! Gravy is super and even better over mashed potatoes! The ONLY way to use an old round steak from no on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2003

      Chia this steak was just outstanding! Quite a simple recipe and so easy for something so good. The onions and Worcestershire sauce really make it! The gravey is the best ever. The only problem I had, and it was not really a probelm, was that I had to keep an eye on it because the gravy had a tendency to cook away, so I just kept adding a little more beef stock, I think in the end I used about 31/2 cups total. An outstanding recipe, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2014

      This was good, although I was a little disappointed. I used top round steak just like this stated and it came out more like a cheap pot roast. It was very tender, but didn't have that taste that I expect from a steak. It was nice on a rainy, blustery night, but I probably won't make it again. I could have accomplished the same thing with a cheaper cut of beef in the crock pot. Thanks for something different chia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

      We had extra steaks in the freezer and didn't know what to do with them. This recipe was absolutely fantastic.. I used a large skillet and deglazed with the beef broth but then put everything in the oven to cook the rest of the way. As someone else mentioned. the broth did make it more watery then I wanted. so I removed the meat and added a flour paste to the gravy and put back in the meat for the last half hour.. it turn out really good with lots of flavour and it helped with the mash potatoes. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      Very tender and flavorful. Simple to make, too. Served with mashed potatoes, green beans, and sourdough popovers. Used an all clad covered skillet for browning and baking. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2013

      Maybe the best steak I have ever had... even better than a grilled ribeye (which is saying something coming from me). The only change I made is adding some flour to the beef stock gravy mixture. I wanted to thicken it up a bit. Great recipe Chia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      This was really good and had great flavor. I did add some fresh mushrooms with the onions and some red wine to the beef broth mixture. I found the gravy to be more of a broth, but that could be easily thickened. Overall, a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      These were good steaks. It was kind of greasy for our taste which might have because of the cut of steak I used. Very easy and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      This was good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I added fresh mushrooms. With baking for two hours my steaks did not get tender so I put everything in a dutch oven and cooked it on the stove for another half an hour and then it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      I used two pounds of meat, about 1 lb of onion, 2 cups of broth. I also added about a handful of dried sliced shiitakes that I rehydrated, using the soaking liquid for part of the broth. I wold not have had enough gravy if there had been more than two of us, and will need to add more broth to the remaining for leftovers, but that is easy enough to do. The mushrooms were really nice with the other ingredients. It takes a little time, but not much effort to make this delicious dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      This recipe is so easy and delicious. When I moved to West Virginia from New England, I was introduced to this dish. I had never heard of it previously. The only difference I made was I used Cubed Steak instead of a loin or a roast. That is what is traditional here. It made it perfect and it actually makes it taste like baked steak instead of roast beef or pot roast. Kudos!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      This comes out tasting more like a super tender roast beef then a steak which of course is why it gets 5 stars!! =) Really lovely and flavorful, soooo good with garlic mashed potatoes =))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      EXCELLENT have made this several times with various cuts of beef steak the best was with a chuck Flat Iron steak. I like to use Campbells Beef Broth undiluted

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      I dont think baking for 2 1/2 hours is necessary. I think i would up takin it out of the oven after an hour n 45 min ( i was SO hungry!! lol) Also, my tip for this is to use thicker round steak and dont tenderize it too much. The steak will come out tender from the slow cooking anyhow, and i noticed the smaller, more beaten pieces were slimy and falling apart. This dish is by no means pretty, but its tastey and will sure fill you up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      This was amazing! This was my first time making baked steak or using a round steak for that matter. My round steak was just over 2lbs, otherwise I followed the recipe. I used my cast iron skillet and lid and this came out fork tender and so yummy! Thanks for a keeper! I'm sure we'll make this a regular!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      We have Zaar's Sackville staying with us at the moment and she recommended this recipe, so we were delighted to try it out. We served it with Noo's Cheesy Leek and Potato Bake, and carrots, and followed it with Jen T's My N Z Pavlova for dessert. Sackville said it was more tender when she first made this recipe, but this probably had much more to do with not having a translation of "beef top round" in Dutch to take armed to the supermarket... we WILL be making this again, with a more suitable cut of meat. (you need to know that Dutch butchers don't divide up the beast the same way as outside Europe so some specific cuts simply don't exist here so you need to guess what might be closest) It all tastes very good and the recipe is easy to make. Sackville did thicken up the gravy a little near the end... yum! Please see my rating system: I'm giving this 4 stars for now but am looking forward to upgrading if/when we can find a more suitable cut of meat to use. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      This recipe got all fives from the fam tonight. I was a little worried when I first started making it. I was sure whether I was supposed to add the bits that were forming or not. I did! It turned out great. To taste added a beef bullion cube instead of more seasoning and also added green pepers to the onions. Took a suggestion from one of the other members to mix a little flour in water for thickness. It had a great flavor. Nice and simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      This is a wonderful recipe!! Easy to prepare and the whole family loved it!! I used small eye-of-the round steaks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (458 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 423.9
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    30%
    Total Fat 14.1 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 124.7 mg
    41%
    Sodium 598.3 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 54.8 g
    109%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites