11 Reviews

I make this all the time and my whole family loves it!! I use fresh spinach, cook it and then chop it up and mix with other ingredients. I also double the recipe every time because it is such a hit and everyone always wants more. Thank you for giving me a way to pack in a lot of spinach in a little serving!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
constantlycooking! February 07, 2010

I substituted light cream cheese, added 2 cloves of crushed garlic, and used garlic herb flavored bread crumbs. The result was a very tasty and not a bit bland! I'll agree with the another comment and say make sure the cream cheese is softened and then well mixed otherwise you end up with globs of cream cheese here and there.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Klivian September 25, 2009

This was good but a little bland. It could of had a little more of some type of spice, maybe a dash of red hot or some garlic. It could wonderful and looked delicious. I will try again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crimper November 10, 2007

I really loved this recipe. It was good cold as well. Make sure your cream cheese is softened so it doesn't leave lumps in the mixture. I suggest microwaving it for 10-20 seconds. Will definitely make this one again! I didn't have any half and half the second time I made this and used 1% milk and it still came out great and that reduces the amount of calories.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
food snob mom August 23, 2007

I'm really just not sure how to rate this. We enjoyed it. I wish I had cut up the cream cheese into MUCH smaller bits (it was softened but stil clumped together and didn't "melt" out). I used matza meal instead of bread crumbs, but other than that followed the recipe perfectly (except for greasing a metal pie pan with pam olive oil cooking spray instead of using glass and butter, though I didn't have any sticking problems). I don't know. I've had other spinach quiches and bakes. They all sort of taste alike. This was a bit special due to the nutmeg, perhaps. Mine did not puff up like the picture at all. It barely rose, to be quite honest. It was rather flat, like the consistancy of a torte. But it was good. This was probably 3.5 stars but not quite a 4. It was good. Really good. I'd make it again and keep everything as is...but it just didn't BLOW me away enought to say that I LOVED it. My husband didn't like it at all. He's not a big fan of spinach, though I have found ways to get it into our collective diets by using fresh spinach. In fact, now that I've said that, I think I would make this again with fresh spinach (TONS of it) and it might warrent the full 4 stars. I'll try it and repost...though it might take sometime before that happens. My other dinner guest didn't care for it much, but I found it very convienent to reheat and reserve for lunch, dinner, or a snack. This was good. It just wasn't WOW.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel June 03, 2007

Hello evelyn/athens, we loved this spinach! We have problems here with the residents not eating anything "green" or vegetables so when we prepared your recipe, a lot of the residents said that they liked it. A winner! We have been trying out a lot of creamed spinach recipes and so far yours is "numero uno". Just added a bit of grated onion and used gruyere cheese instead of cheddar(due to personal preference). Thanks for posting a winner of a recipe that is wonderful, Diane :=)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manami March 19, 2007

I adapted it a tad to reduce the fat and focus on the spinach by omitting the cream cheese, substituting skim milk for the half and half, substituting 1/2 cup of grated gruyere cheese for the cheddar, and greasing the pan with canola spray. Delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kerriso October 20, 2006

This tasted similar to my crustless spinach quiche. Very simple to make, but I think it needs some onion or shallot added. I also think I would prefer parmesan instead of cheddar. Will make again with these changes. Thanks Eve.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelBel October 17, 2006

Very tasty indeed! The only thing I did different was to top the dish with extra cheese the last 10 minutes of baking. Will certainly be making this dish again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sugar³ October 08, 2006

This dish is spinach perfection! Like the other reviewer, DH & I esp liked the hint of nutmeg + the bacon. Every element works here & none of them overpower the others. It was dense & richly flavorful, but not heavy. I did use garlic salt for the sml amt of salt. This is far & away our favorite spinach dish & I doubt it will ever have to step aside for another. Way to go, Ev! Ty, ty, ty :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis September 26, 2006
Baked Spinach