Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Spicy French Fries (Ww Core) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Spicy French Fries (Ww Core)

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2010

      I must admit, I was a bit disappointed by these. First of all, I made them exactly as the recipe called for (except I used garlic salt instead of table salt). The fries were good and coated when i put them in the oven, but when I took them out almost all the coating was baked to the bottom of the pan and the potatoes were bare. I also found the fries to be rather bland, probably because most of the seasoned coating didn't adhere, and found myself having to re-season them before serving them. I will probably try these again in the future, but maybe i'll toss them in the egg and then sprinkle the dry ingredients over the top, and I'll definitely double the called-for amount of spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      Great flavor and great crispiness! I think I screwed up, though, because my potatoes were pretty thin so they got very stuck and clumpy on the pan. It didn't say in the recipe how thick to cut the potatoes so I guessed and I guessed wrong. So, if you are going to make it, you should because it is quite delicious and healthy but cut the potatoes more like steak fries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2007

      Very good. I loved how they browned so nicely, and had a little bite from the spices. I would double the salt next time, because we like them saltier. I covered my baking sheet with foil which I sprayed with non-stick spray, and had a nice quick clean-up. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      A devotee of the potato, I am always on the lookout for new ways to prepare baked fries. Had 'em with white, sweet or golden potatoes, with spices, and without. Having said that, these are truly exceptional. I just loved the crispy exterior created by the egg whites with the soft puffy potato underneath. The spices here are flavorful but not hot and would be suitable for kids or adults with tender tongues. Even if you are not partial to the spices, the technique here is a must try. A tip: Don't let too much egg white drip offthe dipped potatoes as it makes a bit of a mess on the sheet. No matter the results are well worth it. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      Cut the potatoes into wedges for the perfect crisp tender. Also, refrigerate the left-overs and reheat the next day at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes and they are perfect again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      These were amazing!! Extremely crispy on the outside and such a great texture inside. My husband LOVED them! I mixed my spices (kosher salt, black pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, chili powder and a little cayenne pepper) in a large plastic baggie and shook the potatoes in that after coating them with the egg whites. WONDERFUL flavor and just perfect. I will make this again and again. I even shared some with my neighbor, who asked for the recipe! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      Mmmm Crunchy and Delicious, I Left out cumin and used garlic salt instead, this was very easy and very delicious, I love that you can use whatever spices suit you, and it's just as good as the version i've made with oil, without the addition of the fat in the oil :) Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      I must have tried 20 baked fry recipes and I've finally found a winner!!! These fries were incredible - the outside was crisp, but not over-done and the inside was soft and moist. The seasoning was perfect for us, although I did use seasoned salt in place of table salt. I would highly recommend this recipe to anyone looking for a low-fat alterniatve to my favorite junk food! Thanks for sharing, Chef 468506!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      Thanks for the healthy alternative! Good flavor but my family likes a little more spice. Next time I will double the chili powder & pepper. Also I soaked & rinsed the cut potatoes in water to get out some of the extra starch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      These are incredibly easy and delicious. Just added some ceyenne pepper (I love hot and spicy food). I never thought to use egg whites to brown the potatoes. I didn't use the broil option, just baked a little longer until the potatoes were brown and crispy. I will NEVER buy frozen fries again. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      These are the best baked fries I have ever had. I have tried to make them (different recipes) several times and they are always sorta mushy. The egg white coating... which sounded gross to me, like they might taste like french toast... worked out very well. It made them crunchy and the spices were flavorful. GREAT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      Delicious, easy, and not so bad for you. What more can you ask for? These hit the spot!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      These fries were just crispy enough on the outside and perfectly soft on the inside. It felt so much better than eating greasy fries, and the flavor was delicious! My fries got a tad bit burnt before 10 minutes of broiling, so you might want to take a peek before the time is up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      I think this recipe is worth trying again, but I plan to try some other baked fries first, mostly because my husband wasn't too impressed. They didn't stay crisp very long: Do serve immediately before the texture of the outer coating gets weird. They do look a little funny. And the spice needs to be taken up a level. And I burned about a quarter of them. But I thought the interior texture was good, and ketchup covered up other faults. And it's a good healthy alternative, if I can just get the technique to work for me. So my rating could change, but for now it's a bit low.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

    • on August 28, 2009

      These were really good!! They were nice and crispy...I used another users suggestio and spiced these with salt and garlic powder. I think any spice of choice will do well with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

    • on March 09, 2009

      Ohh my God!! This were great!! I even told my friend and she said their whole family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      I really liked how crispy these fries came out, but I think they could have used a little more flavor. Maybe next time I'll used seasoned salt instead of regular. A great recipe otherwise. I served it with mariposa13's KFC tender roast copycat chicken. Really great WW meal! Thanks =]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Spicy French Fries (Ww Core)

    Serving Size: 1 (202 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 153.4
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    93%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 335.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites