38 Reviews

I had only pulled a pound of hamburger so used that. I added the onion and garlic in with the hamburger. I did use two jars of spaghetti sauce as one didn't seem to be enough. I also used two cups of mozzarella cheese on top. We enjoyed this but hubby said he would have liked it more if I would have put hot sausage in with the hamburger. I will try that next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol March 29, 2011

This is super delicious! I've made it a couple times now and the first time I made it exactly as directed and although it tasted really good I thought there was a little too much pasta. So, the next time I only used about 3/4 of the box of pasta and to me it was a perfect balance. I also put the onions and garlic in the beef while browning just because it was easier for me. :) Great recipe with easy to follow directions that I will be making again and again! Thanks Laurie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SkyGlitter May 18, 2010

After reading the reviews I made a few changes since we like our pasta saucy....I used 8 oz of whole wheat thin spaghetti and therefore only half of the butter, cheese, eggs, and milk but I used the full amount of veggies and sauce. I also used 1 lb of spicy italian turkey sausage instead of ground beef. I got the thumbs up from my husband so I will be making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pickles McGee April 21, 2010

Wow, Laurie! This is a fabulous recipe! I did try to lighten it up a bit using egg beaters, skim milk, ground turkey, 2% cheese and half the butter called for in the recipe. Sorry to make changes, but it's the only way we could stick to our diet and still get to try this wonderful recipe! This is truly a "comfort food" recipe and we will be making this again soon! Thanks again, Laurie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnieLynne February 27, 2009

I stuck to the recipe for the most part. I used Prego chunky veggie sauce so I left out the peppers and onions. It was really delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happygirl2u2 May 21, 2014

Exactly what I was looking for--I needed a recipe that had the eggs factored in as a binder to help the pasta hold up when cut for serving. Saw several that didn't and the photos pretty much looked like a normal plate of spaghetti and meat sauce.

I read several of the reviews and decided to make this layered--pasta/egg binder, smear of ricotta, meat sauce--repeat then top with mozzerella and parmesan for final bake. Held beautifully and looked great too.

I salt and pepper as I go so all parts got hit with s & p, cooked onion w/ ground beef so the onion would be soft.

Really happy to have found this and I'm sure the coworkers who are sharing with me tomorrow will enjoy it too! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmac085 December 26, 2012

A favorite at my house!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamon1025 July 12, 2011

Made this for dinner tonight and everyone loved it! The only issue I had was when I added the cheese to the melted margarine it clumped up. Though it could have been because I used a shredded parm/asiago mix, which was still yummy. I did not include the green pepper since the family doesn't care for it, but next time I think I will try to add in some other veggies. Definitely a make again dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tinkmommy April 08, 2011

Left out beef. Sauted onions, garlic and mushrooms. Added steamed broccoli.
Changed pasta to penne.
Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simpleandeasy December 24, 2010

Made this tonight. changed a few things but only minor. fried up onion, garlic, celery and carrot. Addded quorn mince and a stock cube. Threw in a jar of spag sauce, sundried tomato and ricotta, and mixed. Made the spaghetti the same as recipe and after that, i spread on a tub of cottage cheese.( I used some of the tub of cottage cheese with the 2 eggs).
My husband didnt like the sound of it but REALLY enjoyed it and had seconds. I also have enough left over for dinner tomorrow night!!! This is such a great recipe and will be making it again and also sending it to friends to try! 5/5 stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THANK YOU!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Batlady August 29, 2010
Baked Spaghetti Casserole