89 Reviews

I've made this baked spaghetti at least ten times now, and it's a SMASH HIT every single time! This is the way spaghetti should taste, in my humble opinion.

Okay, first things first, I have two babies under the age of 2 years old, so I refuse to take the precious time to make that lovely-sounding sauce. (It really does sound lovely, but honestly! Too time-consuming! I digress....) I simply bought two 24oz containers of Ragu onion & garlic spaghetti sauce, and use about 1 1/2 jars of it.

Also, I used turkey instead of ground beef. When browning it, I seasoned it in the pan with Lawry's seasoning salt, garlic powder, onion powder, sage, Italian seasoning, & black pepper. Then I add the sauce to it, and voila! It smells so delightful, I must say. Additionally, I use a little more cheese than required, since the family and I are cheese lovers. But overall, even with my little tweaks, this dish is oh-so-tasty! Even my 20 month old who hates pasta will eat this! :)

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tissan.howard September 17, 2010

Wonderful! Have been making this for awhile and forgot to review it. I also used a whole pound of pasta as some other reviewers did. I just don't think it would have been a full pan with 8 ozs. I added extra tomatoes and sauce to up the sauce quantity also. Just personal preference.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RepoGuysWife July 21, 2010

Wonderful! I've been looking for a baked spaghetti recipe like moms (because she never wrote hers down) and this is it! The first time I used 8oz. of angelhair pasta but ever since I use regular spaghetti as I prefer it, and 14oz. box instead of 8oz. Absolutely love this!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linguinelisa October 25, 2010

Delicious- whole family loved! Decreased salt & increased amount of pasta per other reviews. Personal preference- also rinsed & drained meat to get rid of as much grease as possible! Cooked sauce on low in crockpot all day & whole house smelled wonderful.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2gatorgrads December 29, 2010

Very good family meal. All of my kids enjoyed it. The cheese in the layers is very yummy! I don't know why, but I needed more than 8 ounces of noodles. I ended up using the 14.5 oz. box. My 9x13 dish would not have been full without it. I am adding this to our meal rotation and list of meals to share with others. Thanks.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamajama January 06, 2010

You can always count on a Paula Deen recipe to be great and this was no exception. My sauce turned out a bit too salty, and I'm a salt addict, so I would cut back a bit next time. It may just be the brand of seasoning salt I use. Also I would use a bit more noodles and cheese the next time I make this. Thanks for a great recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brookelynne26 November 04, 2009

I admit to taking the easy way out, and using store bought sauce, but we enjoyed this anyway. I also used more spaghetti (6 ounces for a half batch). I'm sure we'll try this again, and maybe I'll even have time to make the sauce from scratch. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori in NC February 03, 2012

We really enjoyed this comforting meal on snowy day! I did have sauce in the freezer made previously...so it was a 'quicker' version. I also used pepper jack cheese (we like a touch of spicy) Delicious!
Thank you Barenaked and Paula!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP January 07, 2012

This is a great recipe! My picky 3 and 6 year olds are still working on it right now... I followed the recipe exactly. Doesn't specify whether or not to drain the diced tomatoes, so I didn't after reading reviews that this was too dry. I just cooked a good handful of spaghetti, rather than angel hair. I had the perfect amount of sauce, even tho it looked too wet when I got it all down in the pan. Didn't really measure the cheese, but sprinkled the layers until it looked good. Saving this one and will definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie June 15, 2011

I would give this 10 stars if I could...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Polley May 09, 2011
Baked Spaghetti by Paula Deen