Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Spaghetti by Paula Deen Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Spaghetti by Paula Deen

    Average Rating:

    88 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 88

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2010

      I've made this baked spaghetti at least ten times now, and it's a SMASH HIT every single time! This is the way spaghetti should taste, in my humble opinion.

      Okay, first things first, I have two babies under the age of 2 years old, so I refuse to take the precious time to make that lovely-sounding sauce. (It really does sound lovely, but honestly! Too time-consuming! I digress....) I simply bought two 24oz containers of Ragu onion & garlic spaghetti sauce, and use about 1 1/2 jars of it.

      Also, I used turkey instead of ground beef. When browning it, I seasoned it in the pan with Lawry's seasoning salt, garlic powder, onion powder, sage, Italian seasoning, & black pepper. Then I add the sauce to it, and voila! It smells so delightful, I must say. Additionally, I use a little more cheese than required, since the family and I are cheese lovers. But overall, even with my little tweaks, this dish is oh-so-tasty! Even my 20 month old who hates pasta will eat this! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      Wonderful! Have been making this for awhile and forgot to review it. I also used a whole pound of pasta as some other reviewers did. I just don't think it would have been a full pan with 8 ozs. I added extra tomatoes and sauce to up the sauce quantity also. Just personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      Wonderful! I've been looking for a baked spaghetti recipe like moms (because she never wrote hers down) and this is it! The first time I used 8oz. of angelhair pasta but ever since I use regular spaghetti as I prefer it, and 14oz. box instead of 8oz. Absolutely love this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      Delicious- whole family loved! Decreased salt & increased amount of pasta per other reviews. Personal preference- also rinsed & drained meat to get rid of as much grease as possible! Cooked sauce on low in crockpot all day & whole house smelled wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Very good family meal. All of my kids enjoyed it. The cheese in the layers is very yummy! I don't know why, but I needed more than 8 ounces of noodles. I ended up using the 14.5 oz. box. My 9x13 dish would not have been full without it. I am adding this to our meal rotation and list of meals to share with others. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      You can always count on a Paula Deen recipe to be great and this was no exception. My sauce turned out a bit too salty, and I'm a salt addict, so I would cut back a bit next time. It may just be the brand of seasoning salt I use. Also I would use a bit more noodles and cheese the next time I make this. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2012

      I admit to taking the easy way out, and using store bought sauce, but we enjoyed this anyway. I also used more spaghetti (6 ounces for a half batch). I'm sure we'll try this again, and maybe I'll even have time to make the sauce from scratch. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      We really enjoyed this comforting meal on snowy day! I did have sauce in the freezer made previously...so it was a 'quicker' version. I also used pepper jack cheese (we like a touch of spicy) Delicious!
      Thank you Barenaked and Paula!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

      This is a great recipe! My picky 3 and 6 year olds are still working on it right now... I followed the recipe exactly. Doesn't specify whether or not to drain the diced tomatoes, so I didn't after reading reviews that this was too dry. I just cooked a good handful of spaghetti, rather than angel hair. I had the perfect amount of sauce, even tho it looked too wet when I got it all down in the pan. Didn't really measure the cheese, but sprinkled the layers until it looked good. Saving this one and will definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      I would give this 10 stars if I could...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      1st time making this.. Never really ever heard of it. Followed other *chef''s* reviews and upped pasta amount. I should have upped the sauce as well. But the recipe is delicious! DH and I really loved it. Kids were so-so about it, but liked it better the next day. I will make this BETTER next time with a tad more sauce. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      I made quite a few changes to this, but this is a great *versatile* recipe.
      I had every intention of making the from-scratch sauce, but as a mom to a toddler, time gets away from me. I sauteed the onions & bell peppers (and added mushroms) with garlic and added them to a pot with 2 jars of Newman's Own "Sockarooni" sauce.
      I substituted ground turkey for the ground beef, whole-wheat thin spaghetti (and doubled the noodles based on others' reviews), and omitted all added salt.
      We loved this. I served with a green salad and yeasty (frozen) rolls. Makes a ton of leftovers, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Excellent baked spaghetti! My whole family loved it. This is the recipe I will use from now on,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      This recipe is from Paula's first cook book and is divine. I have made it dozens of times and it never fails. I have dozens of cookbooks and always write the date I make or re-make a recipe and whatI thought - 5 stars, etc. and any changes I made. My cook book page is covered with all the dates I have made this over the years. It is one of our absolute favorites and I like to cook it on the weekend and have it throughout the week, or it freezes beautifully in individual portions. It's the best and my DH gets excited whenever he knows I am going to make it. It is a MAN PLEASER and he wouldn't mind eating it every night for a week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      We loved this! My husband said it was very good! I like that it is very filling and there is some leftover for lunch or dinner tomorrow. I made the sauce and had a small bowl leftover. Used an 8 by 8 pan and it was perfect size for 2 people. Goes perfectly with garlic bread and a salad. Thanks for a nice keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2013

      Awesome! Doubled the pasta and was even better leftover. Reci-peating this one!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2013

      Made this just as written, except, I am vegetarian and so I made 1/2 with real met and 1/2 with the fake met and I loved it ( I am the vegetarian). It was a hit with my boyfriend. This freezes well and makes a great leftover. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      I made this exactly as written, even my daughter who is very picky loved it! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      Can't go wrong with Paula's recipes. I loved this and will make it again. I made the sauce the day before, also doubled and thought too much pasta.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      My family loves it... Paula Deen is right on with this one. It does make a lot of left overs, which we are not big on..see that we are a small family. However my boyfriend, and myself usually go back for big helpings of seconds and sometimes thirds, believe it would be great the next day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Spaghetti by Paula Deen

    Serving Size: 1 (345 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 456.4
     
    Calories from Fat 202
    44%
    Total Fat 22.5 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 10.8 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 85.2 mg
    28%
    Sodium 14697.5 mg
    612%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    25%
    Protein 29.1 g
    58%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites