12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My first attempt at preparing fish and it was a pleasant experience. I only made a couple of the slightest variations. A little extra wine in the sauce (oops my hand slipped). Also after baking I added another sprinkle of paprika and a touch of fresh parsley for color. Served as you suggested with white rice and garlic green beans. I am not a big fish person, and I thought it was quite tasty. My BF loves fish and he raved about it! Thanks Lennie!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill77 August 27, 2002

Very easy, very tasty. My 5 year old helped me to prepare it, and gobbled down every last bite !

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HelMo March 28, 2002

This was really, really tasty! In my opinion, the wine is what makes this sauce, It smelled amazing while cooking and tasted even better. Excellent recipe Lennie!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marcy1 September 20, 2002

Fabulous recipe! Even my "eeewwwww ... fish?" kids loved it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeannieBeannie October 02, 2003

I only had bit over 1/2 pound of sole so adjusted the ingredients. Used Emeril's Seasoning instead of paprika. Also only had lime juice so substituted it. We just finished it and both loved it. The topping keeps the thin sole from drying out in the oven. Was very easy to prepare.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Stilson June 29, 2003

Wonderful...found my self with only 3/4 cup of sour cream so made up the difference with a little more wine. Forgot to add the paprika till after I had poured the sauce on my fish...sprinkled it on top. Thought the onions would be too much...but I followed your recipe there. I will repeat... wonderful

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cnansel May 10, 2003

I only used 3/4 cup sour cream (fat free), but still found it to be too much. It was very soupy. Next time, I think I'll only use 1/2 cup, and also maybe cut back a little on the lemon juice (I used 1 1/2 tablespoons - maybe 1 tablespoon next time). I also sprinkled the fish with a little extra paprika before cooking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agileangus June 27, 2003

Very nice recipe! I used non-fat yogurt and it was good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa August 19, 2009

It could be that I was using a new fish that I've never used before ~ turbot... But, although I followed the recipe, and it smelled good while cooking, I ended up with totally liquidy smooshy fish. We mixed it together with the rice and vegetables sidedishes to make it more appealing. I won't be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SueNJ1 June 05, 2007

I made this with butter milk rather than sour cream and apple juice instead of white wine. The sauce turned out too thin. I really did like the taste so next time I will use the sour cream and add a little lemon pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skvanleeuwen January 30, 2007
Baked Sole Fillets