Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Scotch Eggs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Scotch Eggs

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on February 27, 2009

      FABULOUS! I could only get these at a Renaissance Faire or British Pub, but homemade are DEFINATELY better! I used a tube of Jimmy Dean's breakfast sausage and omitted the other spices, added 1/4 C chopped white onions and 2 raw eggs (to bind the meat). I also used Progresso Garlic & Herb breadcrumbs to add my own "BAM" and LIGHTLY sprayed the outsides of the sausage balls with Olive Oil for "just fried" crispyness. THANK YOU for submitting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      Excellent Scotch Eggs! I made a double batch (8 total) with ground pork and with the following changes: omitted salt and used dried sweet basil instead of thyme, didn't use the egg wash or flour, and replaced the bread crumbs with almond meal for gluten free. <br/><br/>These enormous Scotch Eggs were super tasty! I baked mine for 30 minutes at 400 degrees, then turned the oven to Broil/500 degrees and kept an eye on it until I was happy with the browning. Served them with a side of Bacon Kale Stir and a spicy Dijon mustard for the eggs. <br/><br/>Hard Boiling Egg Tip: add at least 1/2 tsp of baking soda to the pot of water when setting the eggs in. Then bring the pot up to boil. Doesn't matter if eggs are new or older, the shells peel away easily! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2003

      This is great. I have always deep fried my scotch eggs so this was a great find for me. I love the way the turned out. I used the ground pork and the seasonings are very tasty with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      Loved It..my entire family requests this recipe at Christmas and Thanksgiving. I previously deep fried....not anymore!
      Used Panko Seasoned Breadcrumbs and mild Italian turkey sausage...Perfect!
      Thanks for the recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      These are great. I love the flavour of cloves. I used Gluten free ingredients such as gluten free flour and rice crumbs instead of bread flour. It was so much nicer than fried sotch eggs. Other than the gluten free changes, I stuck to the recipe. It will be a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2012

      These are AWESOME! I used Jimmy Dean Sage sausage (instead of making n seasoning it as the ingredients stated) and followed the cooking method exactly. I will be making these very often! YUM!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      These turned out awesome! I used half sweet italian sausage and half hot italian sausage and everyone loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      My kids thought these were "fun" and have requested them again. I made them to go with our french toast and we all enjoyed them very much. Thank you for sharing this with us, I had never heard of them before.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      Jan-09 These turned out nicely. I didn't use the same spices as listed because I used sausages that were sitting in my freezer (they had their own spices). I think I may have cooked the eggs too long because the yolks were crumbly when I cut the scotch egg in half. They were delicious and I will make them again. Sept 09 - I made these again a few weeks ago. This time I used the gr. pork and used poultry seasoning, chili powder, and s&p for the spices. The eggs were better this time as I didn't boil them for as long so the yolks weren't crumbly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      These were great! I used breakfast sausage with the spices added, and both my boyfriend and I enjoyed them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      These were great and very easy to make. I just used a 1 lb tube of breakfast sausage since that is what I had on hand. These are very filling. I will definitely make them again. Thanks for sharing your recipe!*** Update 5/19/08*** I have made these 3 times now and they are always a hit with the kids. I still have been using breakfast sausage, but will try the seasonings that you have recommended. Thanks, again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      Yummy! I used to eat these in England but now that I live in the U.S they are hard to find. So happy I found this recipe, they taste great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      This was a great idea, but there was not quite enough seasoning in the pork mixture for our tastes. I like the idea of baking these though, a bit healthier than the fried version. We've made these before using bulk pork sausage instead of ground pork. I may try to adjust the seasoning or go back to using sausage, but I think I'll keep the rest of the method "as is". Thanks so much for a healthier version of our annual St. Patty's Day breakie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      These were good. I almost wished there was a way the eggs could be over easy though. Really enjoyed the spice blend in the sausage mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      Can't believe how easy this was to make. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      When my husband and I were first dating, we used to drive through a little coffee stand that served Scotch eggs and we LOVED them. This is a great and easy way to make them while cutting down a bit on the fat. I must admit to using premade sausage, although I'm looking forward to trying your spices with the ground turkey. I am also going to use small or medium sized eggs next time and make smaller portions - these suckers are big (although one egg is perfect for one person). Freezing them is another thing I'd like to try - then I'd pop one in my husband's lunch bag during the week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2006

      This is such a cool recipe, I normally deep fry my scotch eggs. thanks for sharing.. I think my hairdresser will be happy as well... 5 thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      I had always wanted to try this, but the deep frying seemed too fatty an option. So, when I read this recipe, I jumped right on it. We thought they were very good, although I cheated and used a purchased sausage with extra sage, as we like that. We will have this regularly, as the DH scarfed them down in a hurry. The next time, we'll see if he can pull this off by himself. I think he can!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      I used to make these when my family were still living at home, we all loved them, still do but forgot all about this recipe until seeing it here. I took the easier option and used prepared mixed herbs and bought sausage mince but I always baked them and prepared them this way. Thanks for reminding me of an old favourite Jenny.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2006

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Scotch Eggs

    Serving Size: 1 (231 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 602.9
     
    Calories from Fat 296
    49%
    Total Fat 32.9 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 314.2 mg
    104%
    Sodium 838.5 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 34.2 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes