10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OMG! Dorothy, this is so good, it is almost beyond words! Besides being a fantastic sauerkraut side dish, I see the potential for this to be a great topping for cabbage rolls. I will definitely be covering up mine with this the next time I fix those! I said that to my husband and he was nodding his head emphatically, YES! YES! YES! Not only will this be a regular in my collection, I imagine it won't be long before I have this recipe memorized! Thanks, Dorothy!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau September 15, 2002

Well, Dorothy, I thought this was wonderful. But my PITB kids wouldn't eat it. I'm starting to wonder if they'll ever like anything! Keep posting, and I'll keep trying. BTW, I wasn't 100% sure how to "dry" the sauerkraut, so you might want to add that to the directions for us dummies.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch April 13, 2003

I would give this 10 stars if I could! I've tried so many unusual recipes that I hardly ever get accolades from DH, but he raved about this one. I've been adding sauteed kielbasa to it as well for a hearty main dish, we like it so much. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BoxerRebellion December 11, 2009

Great Recipe!! My Family loves it!! I omitted the tomatos and added a few slices of the bacon crumbled to it. It's a keeper thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love my 2Cee's!! July 02, 2009

Awesome sauerkraut! Easy to make. I made half recipe and added a small smoked sausage. This recipe will be part of my special keepers. If you like sauerkraut, this is the recipe to try. Not too sweet, not too sour. Thanks Derf.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy228 December 31, 2007

Really sounds great to me, I'm going to make it for Christmas. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcrosby382 December 07, 2005

Geeeez. I've made this a ton of times and thought I had reviewed it. I adore sauerkraut, so this is right up my alley. I gave it to a few people who detest sauerkraut, and they all asked for the recipe. I've made it with, and without brats, and I prefer without. It's one of my "regulars."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ April 20, 2005

Really, really good! I made just a couple minor additions - no subtractions... I thought dried cranberries would be good in it - and they really were! I'm not sure why I thought of that, but I just pitched them in and really liked it. The other thing I did was pour and bake it on top of chicken breasts that I'd marinated in bbq sauce and a little vinegar and green hot sauce. I used the green hot sauce in the sauerkraut, to match. I really loved it! I served it w/ mashed potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heathman January 29, 2005

Very, very tasty recipe - Loved it. I cut the recipe to half and put 3 bratwurst sausages under the Kraut mixture. Fabulous. Because I was using the sausages I did cut back a bit with the Bacon drippings. This is true comfort food - Thanks Derf - I do love your recipes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy September 26, 2004
Baked Sauerkraut