Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Salsa Chicken Breast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Salsa Chicken Breast

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on December 01, 2002

      Made this tonight for DH's birthday dinner, along with black beans, and he loved it! I used hot Arriba! roasted salsa with chipotle peppers, and boy, was it nice and zingy! I had two boneless skinless chicken breasts and two legs with skin and bones, so I browned the legs and cooked them separately for about 20 minutes, then browned the chicken breasts, then baked them as directed. Delicious! Loved how the vinegar, brown sugar, and dijon mustard really added a depth of flavor to the sauce. Thanks, Denise, for a lovely birthday dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      Made this tonight using the fresh salsa you buy at the the grocery store deli or refrigerated section, the salsa in a plastic container. I used three breasts which I butterflied. I followed directions exactly. I loved it! Initially after mixing the sauce and tasting before cooking, I was a little unsure. I put it in the oven and hoped for the best and was pleasantly surprised. My 8 year old liked it, my 11 year old ate it which is all I can hope for, and my 5 year old loved it and asked for seconds. The ease of preparation and the finished result are amazing. My husband hasn't tried it yet but he's usually no better than the 11 year old with new recipes so I guess we'll see. If he likes it, it will be a weekly dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      I may as well toss all of my other recipes for this dish because this isn't your Mama's plain old salsa chicken! The flavors combined well, but each element shined on it's own in the dish. The balsamic gave it a sweetness, the salsa added the spicy and the brown sugar helped the sauce to thicken nicely and cling to the chicken. It took about 5 minutes to prep and I cooked 5 small/medium B/S breasts for 40 minutes and they were cooked perfectly. My kids loved it and my husband all but licked his plate! I served it with Black Bean and Couscous Salad and it made for a very satisfying dinner. Thank you for posting! We have a winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      This was very good, a quick last minute recipe. I put on a pot of yellow rice and threw some sweet corn in it. Yummy. They went together perfectly. I can't wait to make this again. Thank you so much for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2003

      Juicy, tender, and a great flavor is how these turned out. I put 3 whole skinless chicken breast in the pan and there was plenty of salsa mix for all three. I did have to bake for about 1 hour 10 minutes total. You really need to try this recipe because it is so FAST to put together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2014

      I REALLY enjoyed this. Was just looking for a salsa chicken recipe since its generally easy and tasty without much work, and though I was a bit skeptical about the vinegar, this recipe really elevated salsa chicken. A really complex sauce for 5 minute preparation! I've made it twice in the last 2 weeks and it was just as good the second time around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2013

      Very good and quick! The family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      Outstanding!! I used home made salsa in this - upped the quantities to serve a dinner party of 7 and everyone adored this dish. My son wants the recipe to take back to college, and with four ingredients it's a sure bet it'll succeed for him, too! Great, great, great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2012

      Good, easy recipe. My sauce didn't thicken at all, I think I would have liked it a bit better if it had. I butterflied 3 breasts and they cooked perfectly in 30 minutes. Served it with spiced couscous. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2011

      Made it tonight, loved the mixture of salsa and brown sugar, just really well, everyone said they loved it. I have a bigger family than the serving size so I made more chicken, I would cook the chicken for an hour and it was moist and very good. Totally recommend the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

    • on July 08, 2011

      This was a great, easy recipe! We didn't have enough salsa, so I substituted half salsa, half Chili Sauce plus all the other ingredients. My 3 kids cleared their plates, and three out of five of us had seconds! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Yum, yum, yum yum!!!! Wonderful! The best mexican chicken ever! Super moist and the flavor was outstanding! Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      This was sooo good, I halved the recipe, used tostitos salsa, and left out the brown sugar, and it was delicious. I had to end up putting water on the bottom of the pan because the sauce on the bottom was burning, but my chicken was so moist, next time I will put aluminum foil underneath it. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      Simply amazing. Easy and Delicious. A must for busy nights!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      This was great! Quick and easy...I may add this one to our weekly rotation. I served it atop a bed of rice with black beans on the side. Also sprinkled mexican cheese on the top. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      We really liked this recipe. I used a jar of raspberry salsa and it was delicious. I will use regular salsa the next time. The chicken was very moist and tender. I used thick pieces of chicken so had to cook it a little longer. I used a meat thermometer to 180°. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      SASSY! The balsamic and salsa combo is so YUMMY! I made extra sauce and added brown rice to the dish before cooking so it would be ready when we got home from t-ball. I also put a bit of low- fat mozz on the top. Next time I am going to add green olives - hubby's fav.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      My husband has to eat a lot of chicken for health reasons and he really liked this one! I didn't have Dijon, so I just used a sprinkle of ground mustard. The pieces of meat I used were pretty thick and took about 45 minutes. Next time, I'm going to butterfly them so they get done faster. I made plain brown rice to go with it. Denise, thanks for a great recipe--it's a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      What a quick and easy recipe to make. The chicken was flavorful and juicy. Delicious and healthy at the same time! We will be eating this more often! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Salsa Chicken Breast

    Serving Size: 1 (253 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 214.0
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    14%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 864.5 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 14.7 g
    58%
    Protein 27.0 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes