38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have a similiar recipe on Zaar but mine was made with mayonnaise so I decided to give this one a try. My family loves sour cream. The flavor of the sauce was great. If you don't like to much of a Dijon taste you can cut back to only 1 Tablespoon. Grilled the salmon on my George Forman grill, served it with asparagas, and bake potato. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M May 07, 2003

Super-easy, low-fat, great taste - all I want from a recipe! We did not have time to let the sauce components stand for an hour, but the recipe still worked well. Really enjoyed it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vlada December 22, 2014

Tasty, moist fish. And easy, too. What's not to like?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Great!full December 15, 2014

Forgot the stars ...I had a big bunch of fresh dill to use, and I'm glad I found this recipe. It is so good we had it two nights in a row. I used spicy brown mustard, as that is what I had, and didn't let it sit the full hour, but I don't know how it could be better. I did reduce the onion just a bit, but that was only because I was running low on onion. I chopped the onion very small so there were no big chunks. Fish was moist and flavorful - sauce was delicious. Definitely one to make anytime I have fresh dill.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
galponetta July 23, 2011

This was good, however the dill taste was a little over-powering. Overall, the sauce did a good job of keeping the salmon moist while cooking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue March 27, 2011

What a wonderful and simple dish packing lots of flavour. We really like the sauce, I used 1 tbsp of dried dill). Served with basmati rice. Made for 'Best of 2010' tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini February 02, 2011

I had a bunch of fresh dill from the CSA and some sour cream to use up and this was a delicious way to do it. I also added some lime basil to the sauce. I took somone else's suggestion an added about a tablespoon of honey as well. We liked the flavor of the sauce, but I may cut back on the onions next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonata July 28, 2010

Made this a few weeks ago, but with computer issues, I am late in reviewing. Sorry. Nice dish, a bit over powering for me. Too MUCH sauce. When trying a recipe, I always cut in half and make one as suggested (recipe) and one with my versions. NO low fat sour cream is important, I didn't let set to room temp for 1 hour. I have no idea why you would. I just let slightly warm for about 15-20 minutes which was plenty. Fresh dill and dijon is important and I used fresh garlic as well which really enhanced the flavor. I also used a lemon pepper on the fish as it offered some extra lemon flavor. And, I did add fresh lemon slices over the dill sauce which really added a nice complex flavor to the dish. I made about 1/3 cup less sauce and it was plenty. The recipe to me was too heavy on the sauce and took away the flavor of the great salmon. It was all sauce. But it had a great flavor. I saved the rest of the sauce to go over some grilled asparagus 2 days later. I absolutely hate mayo on fish, but wanted to try this for a friend who really enjoys a sauce over fish and she was pleased. We both agreed that less sauce was the key and some lemon flavor to brighten up the flavor. Thx for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook June 14, 2010

My family wasn't thrilled with the onion, but skipping it alltogether produced an incredible easy to make meal. Served with young boiled potatoes, it made my family gorge themselves in a very unseemly manner :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lighty May 24, 2010

Easy to prepare and really delicious. I also replaced the onions with shallots and got very good results. Sauce has a great, rich consistency without being at all goopy or heavy. Will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daisy D Petals May 18, 2010
Baked Salmon with Mustard-Dill Sauce