405 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was looking for a recipe to cook some lovely wild fresh caught salmon and based on the reviews I decided to try this one. All's I can say this is for people who don't like the taste of salmon and just want to know the fish is cooked. What a huge disappointment, it was tasteless, none of the lovely salmon flavor. I followed the recipe exactly. I would not recommend this to anyone who loves delicious fresh fish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamg June 03, 2015

This was just ok. I followed the recipe exactly. I agree with others that said 6 tablespoons of oil is way too much. I felt there just wasn't much flavor to it. I'm thinking of putting the leftover salmon on top of a tossed salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon July 12, 2014

This dish has five star potential. However, it is WAY too salty. Even my husband, who LOVES salty food and adds salt to almost everything I cook, said it was too salty. I didn't even put all the salt it called for in the marinade because it seemed like too much. Even still, it was almost saltier than salt.<br/><br/>Next time I will reduce the salt to a quarter of what it calls for and go from there. I'd rather have too little salt than too much.<br/><br/>Great flavor if you can get past the saltiness.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama bearcat April 08, 2013

I made this recipe exactly as written, with the exception of using dry parsley instead of fresh, and marinating it directly in the foil packet. I whisked up the marinated in a bowl and then poured it over the fish and let it marinate only for about 45 min or so. I used a 3/4 lb sockeye salmon fillet. While the flavor combination was good, I think that it was way over spiced for our taste and 6 TBS of oil are way too much. I think I'd make it again and cut the oil and all the spices (except for the lemon juice) by 1/2. It was much too salty for our taste. On the plus side, it couldn't have been easier and cleanup was a breeze!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eileen0862 March 31, 2013

Good recipe but would recommend about a quarter of the recommended amount of salt - notice it's 50% of your daily serving (!?!?) but otherwise good (if you have any taste buds left after the salt...)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CourtK81 January 09, 2012

Very moist and tasty. I used 4T. of olive oil for 1 lb. of salmon and that was plenty. Used dried parsley also. I also broiled it the last 4-5-minutes. Will make this again. Easy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rjoyce1 December 20, 2011

This was really good. I prepared it as written for 3 six-ounce salmon filets...however, I thought the 35-40 minutes sounded a bit too long for baking fish so I checked it at 20 minutes, gave it another few minutes and took it out of the oven. I let it stand for a couple minutes and it was just right...a little pink in the middle and nice and moist. I'll make this again when I don't feel like messing with the grill, where I usually cook our fish. Thanks for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude July 10, 2011

I am so glad I found this recipe...many years ago on a sailing vacation, I cobbled together something very similar to this as I was trying to bake fish on the boat's mini grill, wrapping the fish in foil so it would steam and stay moist (and not fall through the grill grate!). I used white wine instead of lemon (but I prefer lemon) and I used a white fish. Everyone loved it, as we loved this posted recipe. I agree with the prior reviewer that the balance of ingredients is just right. However, everyone at dinner agreed that salmon doesn't "need" this kind of marinade. Salmon's flavor is very subtle and sort of speaks for itself, and the garlic robs it of that opportunity, but I think this marinade is perfect on any other white fish, especially ocean fish, like snapper or grouper. Next time I use this, it will be on a white fish. Thank you for posting this, it's a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina Farina April 20, 2011

Thanks! we usually grill salmon but this is a nice alternative for the colder months. The marinade is very nice. We had a smaller piece of salmon (9 oz or so) and it didn't need to bake for quite as long as this recipe called for. Next time I would try 25-30 min.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life January 06, 2011

I made this twice. Once exactly as described and once where I subbed oregano for basil (the basil was better). The salmon came out perfect. Moist. Not dry or overcooked. Leftovers were good the next day, too. Would definitely make again and would recommend. Good for special events, too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie's Mom December 29, 2010
Baked Salmon