408 Reviews

Unfortunately, for me this just wasn't outstanding. I think baking it so long made it rather dry and the flavors just didn't "pop" for me. Cooking it for a shorter time would probably solve the dryness though. If this didn't have so many rave reviews, I'd be a little easier on it, but after having such high expectations, I felt this was just ok.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kindcook October 01, 2013

Wow, this is an incredible recipe. I thought after making the marinade that the flavor would overpower the fish but I was really wrong. It tasted wonderful, I followed the recipe exactly as it is written except I only had time to marinade for 40 minutes. Did I mention that this was my first time ever to cook fish that wasn't in the form of a stick? I am hooked now, this could not have been easier. I served this with sauteed asparagus and wild rice, garnished with lemon slices. It tasted like a top notch restaurant. Thank you ngibsonn for a fantastic recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrinkDawg December 17, 2002

Delicious and easy. Salmon isn't DH's favorite and he was surprised that he liked it so much. I did add a little dill with everything else. We had the grill going so we just threw the packets on the grill, along with some foil packets of veggies. The fish was flavorful and moist. Served it with the veggies, a salad and garlic bread. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AQueen January 18, 2011

i doubled the lemon juice. i have already made this twice and each time the fish has come out moist and delicoius. i also happen to have cooked it in advance, and eaten it the next day. I will definitaly make this recipe again. thanks ngibsonn!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Java Chip November 09, 2010

Very delicious! Next time I make it I will decrease the salt and pepper to just 1/2 teaspoons because I thought it was pretty salty... but there will be a next time! This was my first attempt at cooking salmon and it was a success!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Courtney :) January 10, 2009

This was sooo beautiful!! I used all fresh including fresh basil (from a container of leaves i have frozen). I was in a rush to make this so i only marinaded them for about 20 mins at most. I also took to the terrific advice of placing them straight in the foil, which is a great time saver. The family loved it and we're making salmon again tonight! This is the first time i've cooked salmon, i've only eaten the smoked kind. I've been searching for a recipe that i can use to try fresh salmon fillets for the first time, and this one is perfect and absolutely no complaints. This marinade also works soooooo WELL with Fresh Unpeeled Prawns (shrimp). I just made some more marinade doubling the recipe. I also used regular extra virgin olive oil which was fine. OMG it was FInger-licking Good. I served them with Fried Fish(silver bream), Fried Eggplant (Augberines), Fresh Salad with Italian Dressing, and Fries. We didnt even eat many Fries as the food was great without it. A Fish Feast Fit for Kings! Yumm!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Latte January 05, 2009

This was fantastic! Very good with so little effort. I read EVERY review and decided to use 1/2 tsp. salt and less oil (I used 2 tbsp.). I put the marinade ingredients in a small bowl and used a whisk to blend. I used a little less parsley because I only had dried. I placed a large sheet of foil in a pyrex and added the pieces of salmon and spooned on the marinade and closed up the foil. I was in a rush to make dinner and didn't have time to let it marinate. It sat with the marinade only until my oven was preheated. After 30 minutes, I opened the foil and broiled it for a little while to brown just a bit. I'm so glad I tried this recipe. Thanks for posting and I will certainly make this again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oolala December 03, 2007

Followed this recipe exactly as written. After 35 minutes in 375 oven it was very, very dry. Almost inedible.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kayc1218 November 21, 2007

I have now used this recipe about 5 times, and not only on salmon, but on halibut. My husband and I enjoy it so much that we don't cook the fish any other way! It is flavorful, perfectly cooked...just delicious! This last time I used the recipe, I cut down the olive oil from 6T to 3T only because of the fat, and it didn't make any noticeable difference. Each and every time, I have doubled the amount of minced garlic because we love garlic, and I marinate the fish all day rather than just 1 hour. Baking the fish in the foil is great....no mess, and the fish does not overcook. This only takes minutes to prepare and is absolutely delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly Welch May 04, 2003

My secretary made this for her husband and they really enjoyed it...Just wanted to post her comments. I think she plans on making it again! Thanks for posting..

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeahMarie April 22, 2003
Baked Salmon