Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Salmon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Salmon

    Average Rating:

    388 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 388

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2002

      I made this twice. The first time I followed the recipe exactly. It was highly wonderful. The taste and texture were perfect. The lemon and garlic were in perfect balance, neither overpowering. The olive oil did not make it oily in the least. OK I did add a tad more fresh parsley than called for because I like it, and I get it free from my garden. I didn't bother with aluminum foil, just baked it in the same pyrex glass dish in which I marinaded it, tossing a sheet of foil over the top while it baked. A friend who shared it with me said it was the most flavorful salmon ever. I agree. I'm not an intuitive cook. In fact I'm a terrible cook. I can wreck delivered pizza. On the rare occasion I make something edible, good even, it has to be an easy recipe, and a good recipe. This recipe was not only easy, it was REAL easy. And it was not only good, it was REAL good. The second time I made it I was overconfident and careless. I accidentally poured in too much olive oil, guessed at the measurements of other ingredients instead of measuring, used dried parsley in probably the wrong amount (it was raining. I didn't want to go outside to get fresh parsley), forgot the garlic until I was almost ready to cook it. My worst misake probably was marinading it too long - almost 4 hours. Even with these mistakes it wasn't too bad, kind of oily from too much olive oill, and kind of soft from the long marinade. So learn from my mistakes and do it right. It's worth it. Good cooks suggest ways to improve a recipe. I suggested ways to make it worse. Measure once, cut twice. Wait... This is my first review. I'll get the hang of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2004

      This is great for when it's too cold outside to fire up the grill. I make this a bunch and it's evolved slightly. The first time I made it, the only thing I changed was to marinate the salmon in the foil packets to begin with, they came out wonderful and very flavorful. Now, I marinate in the foil, don't use any oil at all except to spritz the foil with to make it non-stick, and use slices of lemon instead of juice set on top. I put the packets together in the morning, let them sit all day and then bake and they taste WONDERFUL. I usually serve with asparagus, yellow squash, and salad for a great and relatively healthy meal! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2002

      this was a very easy recipe to prepare, as all of the ingredients were on hand. i made a single serving and it was moist and very flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2003

      Coming from Seattle Salmon is on the menu at least once a week if not more. This is one of the best Salmon recipes I have every made. I highly recomend this recipe to anyone looking for a wonderful way to cook salmon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2003

      Absolutely Divine!! However, next time we will use only half the quantity of oil as I found it a bit rich and oily. The taste is beautiful and I think cutting back on the oil will probably enhance that. This will be our dinner party specialty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2002

      This dish was easy to make and enjoyed by the entire family. We are trying to add more fish to our diet and this recipe is one I definately make again. The salmon was moist and flavorful. Clean up was a breeze!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      I didn't read the reviews so maybe someone pointed this out already, but 35-45 minutes at 375 is way too long to cook salmon (or probably any fish, unless it is a very thick steak). I ignored my instincts and cooked for 30 minutes (wrapped in foil and then placed in a glass dish) and it was overcooked by a long shot. Salmon should still be pink when cooked, and it should just barely start to pull apart (I wouldn't describe it as flaking in the sense that most white fish flakes). On another site I found that even a 2 inch middle filet (the thickest filet cut on a fish), you can cook it at 400 for 18-20 minutes or, sealed tightly in foil, at a lower temp (350) for about 25-30 minutes. As a rule of thumb, I've seen 10 minutes for each 1 inch of thickness and never bake at 350-375 unless it is wrapped in foil or you'll dry it out (even with some olive oil on it).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      My kids actually LOVE this. They are picky eaters, and to get them to enjoy such a healthy food makes my heart smile. I did not make thee in foil packets, rather just baked them covered in foil in the same glass casserole dish I marinated them in. It is so easy, and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      this salmon is so good i have made it more times than i can count! the only changes i make is to add a bit more garlic and i actually cut the oil in half and replace the other half with water for a healthier just as tasty option....everytime i make it i get complements and have given out this recipe numerous times!!!this fish is simple and tasty and impossible to mess up!!!!thank you so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      This was good! As suggested by the other members, I did scale down the oil to 3 Tbsp. I also added no salt or pepper; instead I did have some Tastefully Simple Garlic Pepper seasoning and also their Garlic Dill Seasoning and added that instead but still adding the crushed garlic as the recipe called for as well as everything else. I added a few pats of margarine to the top of the fish in the last 5 minutes of baking (baked for 45 minutes). Next time, I will marinate it for longer than 1 hour, personal preference. I made this with a 1 lb skinless fillet, with a side of Basmati rice and green beans...great dinner that both my 10 y/o son and I enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2002

      Wow, this is an incredible recipe. I thought after making the marinade that the flavor would overpower the fish but I was really wrong. It tasted wonderful, I followed the recipe exactly as it is written except I only had time to marinade for 40 minutes. Did I mention that this was my first time ever to cook fish that wasn't in the form of a stick? I am hooked now, this could not have been easier. I served this with sauteed asparagus and wild rice, garnished with lemon slices. It tasted like a top notch restaurant. Thank you ngibsonn for a fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      Delicious and easy. Salmon isn't DH's favorite and he was surprised that he liked it so much. I did add a little dill with everything else. We had the grill going so we just threw the packets on the grill, along with some foil packets of veggies. The fish was flavorful and moist. Served it with the veggies, a salad and garlic bread. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      i doubled the lemon juice. i have already made this twice and each time the fish has come out moist and delicoius. i also happen to have cooked it in advance, and eaten it the next day. I will definitaly make this recipe again. thanks ngibsonn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      This was sooo beautiful!! I used all fresh including fresh basil (from a container of leaves i have frozen). I was in a rush to make this so i only marinaded them for about 20 mins at most. I also took to the terrific advice of placing them straight in the foil, which is a great time saver. The family loved it and we're making salmon again tonight! This is the first time i've cooked salmon, i've only eaten the smoked kind. I've been searching for a recipe that i can use to try fresh salmon fillets for the first time, and this one is perfect and absolutely no complaints. This marinade also works soooooo WELL with Fresh Unpeeled Prawns (shrimp). I just made some more marinade doubling the recipe. I also used regular extra virgin olive oil which was fine. OMG it was FInger-licking Good. I served them with Fried Fish(silver bream), Fried Eggplant (Augberines), Fresh Salad with Italian Dressing, and Fries. We didnt even eat many Fries as the food was great without it. A Fish Feast Fit for Kings! Yumm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      This was fantastic! Very good with so little effort. I read EVERY review and decided to use 1/2 tsp. salt and less oil (I used 2 tbsp.). I put the marinade ingredients in a small bowl and used a whisk to blend. I used a little less parsley because I only had dried. I placed a large sheet of foil in a pyrex and added the pieces of salmon and spooned on the marinade and closed up the foil. I was in a rush to make dinner and didn't have time to let it marinate. It sat with the marinade only until my oven was preheated. After 30 minutes, I opened the foil and broiled it for a little while to brown just a bit. I'm so glad I tried this recipe. Thanks for posting and I will certainly make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2003

      I have now used this recipe about 5 times, and not only on salmon, but on halibut. My husband and I enjoy it so much that we don't cook the fish any other way! It is flavorful, perfectly cooked...just delicious! This last time I used the recipe, I cut down the olive oil from 6T to 3T only because of the fat, and it didn't make any noticeable difference. Each and every time, I have doubled the amount of minced garlic because we love garlic, and I marinate the fish all day rather than just 1 hour. Baking the fish in the foil is great....no mess, and the fish does not overcook. This only takes minutes to prepare and is absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2003

      My secretary made this for her husband and they really enjoyed it...Just wanted to post her comments. I think she plans on making it again! Thanks for posting..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2013

      This dish has five star potential. However, it is WAY too salty. Even my husband, who LOVES salty food and adds salt to almost everything I cook, said it was too salty. I didn't even put all the salt it called for in the marinade because it seemed like too much. Even still, it was almost saltier than salt.<br/><br/>Next time I will reduce the salt to a quarter of what it calls for and go from there. I'd rather have too little salt than too much.<br/><br/>Great flavor if you can get past the saltiness.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      I made this recipe exactly as written, with the exception of using dry parsley instead of fresh, and marinating it directly in the foil packet. I whisked up the marinated in a bowl and then poured it over the fish and let it marinate only for about 45 min or so. I used a 3/4 lb sockeye salmon fillet. While the flavor combination was good, I think that it was way over spiced for our taste and 6 TBS of oil are way too much. I think I'd make it again and cut the oil and all the spices (except for the lemon juice) by 1/2. It was much too salty for our taste. On the plus side, it couldn't have been easier and cleanup was a breeze!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      I am so glad I found this recipe...many years ago on a sailing vacation, I cobbled together something very similar to this as I was trying to bake fish on the boat's mini grill, wrapping the fish in foil so it would steam and stay moist (and not fall through the grill grate!). I used white wine instead of lemon (but I prefer lemon) and I used a white fish. Everyone loved it, as we loved this posted recipe. I agree with the prior reviewer that the balance of ingredients is just right. However, everyone at dinner agreed that salmon doesn't "need" this kind of marinade. Salmon's flavor is very subtle and sort of speaks for itself, and the garlic robs it of that opportunity, but I think this marinade is perfect on any other white fish, especially ocean fish, like snapper or grouper. Next time I use this, it will be on a white fish. Thank you for posting this, it's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 20

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Salmon

    Serving Size: 1 (226 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 582.2
     
    Calories from Fat 432
    74%
    Total Fat 48.0 g
    73%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 77.4 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1291.9 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 34.9 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites