10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy! This was nice and simple and tasty. I'll have to try it with meatballs next time. My hubby loves his meat so I just used a pound of ground beef that I seasoned with season all, garlic salt, minced onions and black pepper. My son of course wanted 3rds.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimemeki December 03, 2009

EVERYONE loved this! The kids...the in-laws...it was a hit! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dave A. April 20, 2014

My family flipped out over this meal! *even my super picky 9 year old said it was perfect!* I used 1 lb of ground beef for the meat and added a cup of diced fresh red onion. Will definitely be making it again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Everlasting_Grey February 20, 2012

SO easy to make - and with minimal ingredients as well! In basically 25 minutes, a delicious meal is ready to eat!! Very yummy. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andrea.bidlack September 18, 2009

This was nice and easy for a beginner cook. I didnt use any butter (or oil like other chefs) but stuck to the recipe otherwise. It was delicious and looked good. Better than the usual spaghetti and meatballs I usually make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NotAChefYet June 11, 2007

Good recipe! Made a lot of changes, though. Since it's just the two of us, I had to downsize on the ingredients big time! I used 2 oz whole wheat penne pasta (originally made 3 oz but it made too much), 1 cup sugar free spag sauce (seasoned with some italian seas & oregano) & made my own turkey meatballs. I only used 2 tbsp parm cheese & about 3/4 cup mozz cheese. I simmered the sauce & meatballs (chopped up) for a few min on the stovetop just to blend the flavors. I layered the casserole with meat sauce, noodles, 1/4 cup low fat cottage cheese, mozz cheese & parm cheese, then repeated. I covered it, baked it for 20 min, then uncovered & baked a few more min. Oh, I also tossed the pasta with a little olive oil instead of butter. I know I changed things up a lot but this recipe gave me a great base start, so thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS February 17, 2007

Very good recipe. I've made this several times already. I sometimes make my own meatballs or use pre-made ones. The homemade ones definitely make it better, in my opinion. Instead of dicing the meatballs, I like them a little bigger so I slice them in half (for 1-inch meatballs).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 January 21, 2006

This was very good. The next time I make it I'm going to make my own meatballs and then I feel it will be over the top. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn October 06, 2005

Great Recipe! This can be used with different variations easily. I used already prepared frozen meatballs, a pound of grated mozzarella, added a little garlic powder, a jar of Ragu and voila, instant dinner! This was great because my husband was supposed to work late, ended up not working late and i had no time to lay out anything to cook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa Van December 05, 2002

Easy and terrific. I used a jar of home made sauce with sausage, used olive oil in lieu of butter, shreaded the mozzarella and added a lb of ricotta cheese. I made it ahead of time, so when I put it in the oven it was cold, I Baked for 45 minutes covered, removed covering added a layer of mozzarella then cooked it uncovered for 15 minutes. I browned the cheese under the broiler.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steve_G April 22, 2002
Baked Rigatoni