Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Rice Pudding (Unni Riisipuuro) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Rice Pudding (Unni Riisipuuro)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2012

      I made this for our Finnish Christmas celebration. I used basmati rice, and it was pronounced AMAZING by all. Yum. Thank you for sharin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2012

      I wanted to use our puuro riisi, but it was too old, so I ended up using arborio rice, which I think is a comparable substitute. I made this lower in fat by using only a tablespoon of the butter. DH wanted to try half without the almonds/cinnamon, but it really is much better with them (I added them in the last 15 minutes of baking so they wouldn't sink). I tried seconds with a tiny bit of almond extract stirred in, and that was really yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      I substituted jasmine rice and and whole cinnamon stick for ground. This was made two weeks ago and I forgot to review it so all from memory. I preferred the rice pudding chilled. It firmed up
      better too after chilling. Made for Best of 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      10 STARS! This is REAL comfort food. This is the type of rice pudding I grew up on, made by my grandmother. I remember when she was making rice for dinner, she always made extra, so she could make rice pudding for grandpa the next day. (He was from Norway-close to Finland :) ) She didn't use almonds, but I like the addition of them. And it isn't too sweet, which I like. Thanks for this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      Love it . . . just came out of the oven, but I couldn't wait to taste it! Seems to be setting up nicely, plan to serve it cold, well maybe only cool, since dinner's less than an hour away. When cooking the rice I added the peel of a lemon, then removed before adding to the milk mixture. After it was in the oven about 20 minutes I found the melted butter in the microwave, but doesn't seem to have affected the taste. :YUMMY: Made for ZWT #6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      I really enjoyed this pudding!! Instead of sliced almonds I used almond extract - for DH's taste. I also used Splenda in place of sugar. Very good! Thank you for posting! Made for 1.2.3 Hits

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      This was eveything I was looking for in a baked rice pudding and I loved the almond and the cinamon in this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      This is very good indeed. I made it this morning and had some for breakfast while still warm. To meet my needs I skipped the butter, used non fat milk, Splenda for the sugar and only egg whites. It was less rich but still delicious. My cinnamon and almond slices were mixed into the pudding to spread the flavors around. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      YAY! Dh has been on a quest to replicate his mother's baked custard rice pudding. This is it! I skipped the almonds & added almond extract so THE PICKY ONE would eat it. We finished it in 1 sitting (the 4 of us). YUMM!!! And easy enough to make anytime. Made for the 12 Days of Christmas Aussie Swap 12/08. HO HO HO!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Rice Pudding (Unni Riisipuuro)

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 324.4
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    43%
    Total Fat 15.5 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 97.8 mg
    32%
    Sodium 297.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 12.9 g
    51%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes