9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for our Finnish Christmas celebration. I used basmati rice, and it was pronounced AMAZING by all. Yum. Thank you for sharin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Niesgirl December 27, 2012

I wanted to use our puuro riisi, but it was too old, so I ended up using arborio rice, which I think is a comparable substitute. I made this lower in fat by using only a tablespoon of the butter. DH wanted to try half without the almonds/cinnamon, but it really is much better with them (I added them in the last 15 minutes of baking so they wouldn't sink). I tried seconds with a tiny bit of almond extract stirred in, and that was really yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito March 21, 2012

I substituted jasmine rice and and whole cinnamon stick for ground. This was made two weeks ago and I forgot to review it so all from memory. I preferred the rice pudding chilled. It firmed up
better too after chilling. Made for Best of 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl March 08, 2012

10 STARS! This is REAL comfort food. This is the type of rice pudding I grew up on, made by my grandmother. I remember when she was making rice for dinner, she always made extra, so she could make rice pudding for grandpa the next day. (He was from Norway-close to Finland :) ) She didn't use almonds, but I like the addition of them. And it isn't too sweet, which I like. Thanks for this keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey May 01, 2011

Love it . . . just came out of the oven, but I couldn't wait to taste it! Seems to be setting up nicely, plan to serve it cold, well maybe only cool, since dinner's less than an hour away. When cooking the rice I added the peel of a lemon, then removed before adding to the milk mixture. After it was in the oven about 20 minutes I found the melted butter in the microwave, but doesn't seem to have affected the taste. :YUMMY: Made for ZWT #6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench June 05, 2010

I really enjoyed this pudding!! Instead of sliced almonds I used almond extract - for DH's taste. I also used Splenda in place of sugar. Very good! Thank you for posting! Made for 1.2.3 Hits

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom March 17, 2009

This was eveything I was looking for in a baked rice pudding and I loved the almond and the cinamon in this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djmastermum March 06, 2009

This is very good indeed. I made it this morning and had some for breakfast while still warm. To meet my needs I skipped the butter, used non fat milk, Splenda for the sugar and only egg whites. It was less rich but still delicious. My cinnamon and almond slices were mixed into the pudding to spread the flavors around. :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia December 23, 2008

YAY! Dh has been on a quest to replicate his mother's baked custard rice pudding. This is it! I skipped the almonds & added almond extract so THE PICKY ONE would eat it. We finished it in 1 sitting (the 4 of us). YUMM!!! And easy enough to make anytime. Made for the 12 Days of Christmas Aussie Swap 12/08. HO HO HO!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo December 22, 2008
Baked Rice Pudding (Unni Riisipuuro)