Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Rice and Lentils Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Rice and Lentils

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2002

      This is so good. No added fat with a healthy serving of Protein and Carbohydrates. The taste is just sooo delicious; with spice. You have just got to try this recipe!!! I used vegetable stock instead of chicken stock. I am not a keen lover of Vagen food, BUT WOW. My son, who is such a difficult person to please if the meal does not have meat served with it, just raved about this dish. Congratulations Tebo, you have a winner here. Your recipe will be a regular on our monthly family menu. By the way, this was so easy to prepare. Assembled in a matter of minutes. A good recipe to use when you walk in the door from work etc.; prepare the Baked Rice and Lentils, pop it in the oven, bathe and relax, then eat. Serve with steamed vegetables or salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      Lentils and Rice two of my favourite foods and absolutely delicious, nice subtle flavours. Incredibly easy and a feel good, comfort food. Cooked this tonight with Tebo's recipe for Vietnamese Cabbage. Great combination. Baked Lentils and Rice will be a staple in our menu. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      This was nice but it came out a little dry. Next time I will add more water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2011

      Good, copious, cheap, versatile. My husband loved it. It made so much I'm tryig to figure out what to do with the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      Delicious and so easy to prepare! Will definitely prepare it again as EVERYONE in my family loved it and thats a hard thing to do! I'm from the South, so I prepared it with Baked "Fried" Chicken and creamed corn. Soooo yummy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Very easy and delicious. I also served it with steamed veggies. Next time I might spice it up a bit more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      I made this over the weekend for my lunches this week. It was really good. I just added some steamed veggies and it was perfect. I didn't have tumeric so I just left it out and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      This dish was ridiculous good! My husband normally doesn't like ethnic food, but he couldn't keep his fork out of the pan! I grilled some Moroccan style chicken and made a simple salad with Feta...it was a huge hit with my guests! Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      I really enjoyed this...if you like the texture and taste of lentils then you will enjoy this one too! I decreased the amounts of rice and lentils but kept the spice measurements the same and the flavor was nice. I also cooked this completely on the stove by letting the lentils get a 15 min. head start simmering and adding the rice later. Mixed the leftovers with some chopped parsley and minced red peppers, stuffed them into red peppers and baked for 20 minutes for a quick lunch! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Very easy to make, very economical. Used yellow lentils and the dish was a lovely golden color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2006

      I love lentils and rice; this was a nice, simple version. I used chicken stock and the optional chili powder. Pleasant flavor and made a very comforting lunch. Thanks Tebo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2004

      Wow am I glad that I saw the review on this! My turkey stock from Thanksgiving made a nice addition to the flavor of this dish. I couldn't find my turmeric so I substituted a package of Goya seasoning (the one that has turmeric in it). I omitted the salt because I used that packet of Goya. I also halved the recipe and added a chopped jalapeño. To top it off before eating I used some fresh cilantro. Very Good!! Thanks Tebo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2004

      What a great way to eat those healthy lentils! Great with enchiladas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2004

      I thought this was a good basic recipe for lentils and rice (I like to combine them regularly). I omitted the butter and served it as a side. Nice. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Rice and Lentils

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 256.8
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    23%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 16.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 385.1 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites