8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have never cooked quail and this recipe was quite simple and got rave reviews. I had only 4 quail but I kept the ingredients the same as if I were cooking 8. I put the excess stuffing on and around the quail. I poured the roux stock mixture over the whole thing and cooked it per directions. I did not have to baste the quail because there was stock/stuffing mixture around it. The quail was tender, perfectly salty with an outstanding gravy....perfect for the side of rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lulu Sebastianne October 16, 2013

I used this receipe as a special dinner for my husband's birthday and it turned out wonderful. The quails were all shot during hunting season and they required less time in the oven due to being smaller. I live in Malta and the quails caught here are smaller then those in America. Do moisten them whiled being baked as I forgot and I had small parts that became dry. I did not use breadcrumbs as I didn't have and instead I used one onion and 2 garlic cloves...really good! One last note, it'll be better if one adds a little bit of salt with the filling.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Venetrix January 09, 2013

this was a good recipe I added carrots to the pan

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winwinincome March 21, 2014

Overall, I thought the recipe was great. I will try a different stuffing the next time, though. I disagree with you about quail being just breast meat. The legs and thighs have great flavor and the little bits you can get from the wings are superb. Look for my posting of a photo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bill April 27, 2012

Delicious! This was the first quail I've ever cooked and they came out great. As with some of the other reviewers, I also cut waaay back on the sodium/salt, and I threw chunks of new potatoes into the pan to soften and absorb the sauce. I only cooked two quail but used the quantities listed here for the sauce, so there was plenty to pour over the potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenpigeon February 04, 2009

I love quail -- I wish they were the size of chickens! This recipe is 5 star, although I still prefer quail breaded and fried. I thought the gravy/sauce was especially good. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*****Sandy January 19, 2009

Great recipe. First time I had ever cooked quail and it turned out really well. I took bcave7's advice and cut way down on the salt - it was still plenty salty and had good flavor. I served it with boiled new potatoes which were very tasty with the roue. I look forward to next quail season so I can make it again or I may go ahead and use game hens or plain ole chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Psalm34:8 November 18, 2008

I tried two quail recipes on my family and then again for company. This one was the favorite both times. It was easy to prepare and delicious. One caution: The recipe is way too salty. Cut the salt by at least half, maybe two thirds. (If you notice the nutrition info you'll see the sodium is so high. It doesn't need to be this high to taste delicious!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bcave7 May 04, 2008
Baked Quail