Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Quail Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Quail

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2013

      I have never cooked quail and this recipe was quite simple and got rave reviews. I had only 4 quail but I kept the ingredients the same as if I were cooking 8. I put the excess stuffing on and around the quail. I poured the roux stock mixture over the whole thing and cooked it per directions. I did not have to baste the quail because there was stock/stuffing mixture around it. The quail was tender, perfectly salty with an outstanding gravy....perfect for the side of rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2013

      I used this receipe as a special dinner for my husband's birthday and it turned out wonderful. The quails were all shot during hunting season and they required less time in the oven due to being smaller. I live in Malta and the quails caught here are smaller then those in America. Do moisten them whiled being baked as I forgot and I had small parts that became dry. I did not use breadcrumbs as I didn't have and instead I used one onion and 2 garlic cloves...really good! One last note, it'll be better if one adds a little bit of salt with the filling.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2014

      this was a good recipe I added carrots to the pan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2012

      Overall, I thought the recipe was great. I will try a different stuffing the next time, though. I disagree with you about quail being just breast meat. The legs and thighs have great flavor and the little bits you can get from the wings are superb. Look for my posting of a photo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      Delicious! This was the first quail I've ever cooked and they came out great. As with some of the other reviewers, I also cut waaay back on the sodium/salt, and I threw chunks of new potatoes into the pan to soften and absorb the sauce. I only cooked two quail but used the quantities listed here for the sauce, so there was plenty to pour over the potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      I love quail -- I wish they were the size of chickens! This recipe is 5 star, although I still prefer quail breaded and fried. I thought the gravy/sauce was especially good. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      Great recipe. First time I had ever cooked quail and it turned out really well. I took bcave7's advice and cut way down on the salt - it was still plenty salty and had good flavor. I served it with boiled new potatoes which were very tasty with the roue. I look forward to next quail season so I can make it again or I may go ahead and use game hens or plain ole chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      I tried two quail recipes on my family and then again for company. This one was the favorite both times. It was easy to prepare and delicious. One caution: The recipe is way too salty. Cut the salt by at least half, maybe two thirds. (If you notice the nutrition info you'll see the sodium is so high. It doesn't need to be this high to taste delicious!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Quail

    Serving Size: 1 (465 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 740.2
     
    Calories from Fat 384
    51%
    Total Fat 42.7 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 12.9 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 186.6 mg
    62%
    Sodium 1534.3 mg
    63%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 52.8 g
    105%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    orange slices

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes