29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are very good and I love the no-fried. The doughnuts cooled in no time. They are like a firmer pumpkin cake, but not hard or dry. The batter/dough is very doughy, so I recommend a ziploc bag and just cut off the tip - WAY EASIER than a pastry bag. It was hard still to get them in circles so the last leftover one I made in a stick shape - just a straight line. It tasted the same and was WAY easier so I will make all doughnut sticks next time. Brushing the icing was tough because mine was a bit thick so I just drizzled with a spoon. All came out delicious and a perfect fall treat!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
My Sharona April 12, 2010

They were very good - in fact they're like a doughnut-shaped muffin really. Children loved them - not too sweet but they didn't notice with a bit of glaze on top though. Felt quite special having them for a Saturday breakfast. Thanks for the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Piratemum January 10, 2009

Over a year later and I'm updating my review to give it a full five stars. Pre- doughnut pan I had a lot of issues getting a good rise. Now with the pan at my side I get rave reviews every time I make these. Best doughnuts ever!

I loved the flavor of these. They came out delicious. The only disappointment I had was in the lack of rise of the doughnuts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julieannie August 25, 2011

I had to bake something with the pumpkin puree I just made with some of the early pumpkins in my garden. This was great, but not so much doughnut like, more like a great cookie. Very light and fluffy with a great spice taste! We followed the directions but for the second tray I made were just cookie shaped. We then made cream cheese frosting and spread it between two pumpkin cookies.... heavenly!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neatnickk August 16, 2010

Overall, it's fairly simple to make and doesn't taste too bad. However, it seems like multiple people are having the same issue with the doughnuts not rising when baked. I probably won't make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baker.paul217 December 13, 2013

Enjoyed this recipe but added 1 cup pumpkin (instead of 1/2 cup) and more spice.-1/2 teas more pumpkin spice. Use a popcake machine which makes 7 round balls at a time. Took 5-6 minutes to bake each batch. I then cooled them in the freezer; used a thinned cream frosting to add a little more sweetness. Used a small ice-cream scoop to make the sizes equal. Made 30 little popcakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carberg in ND December 09, 2012

These turned out pretty good. I made half a batch and used a ziploc bag vs. the piping bag/star tip. Added a lil extra pumpkin spice. I think they would have turned out more doughnut shape with the piping bag. However, they were good and I would make them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hs0829 October 29, 2011

Amazing, simple, and pretty! The pumpkin and spice flavors are so perfectly balanced in this dessert. After reading other reviews about the muffin/cookie texture, I opted to use a muffin pan. I also used an additional 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice and substituted self-rising flour for flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda. The muffins turned out so cute esp with the glaze. Can't wait to wow friends and family with this one. They won't believe how easy these were too make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra Gal August 19, 2010

These were so good! I didn't have a good way to pipe them onto the cookie sheet so they were by no means pretty, but they sure tasted good! Thanks for the recipe, I will be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
darbishar November 16, 2008

My DH and I thought it was very tasty. They were more like cookies though and I will be making them again closer to christmas. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittykat strong November 15, 2008
Baked Pumpkin Doughnuts